We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a great hotel, the best part was that our flight was late in the evening and we had to check out in the morning. They kept our luggage in the storage room while we wnet for a stroll. We could also use their pool area or go to the beach, come back and use their facilities to freshen up before our flight. Everything is in the vicinity, there are over a million ABC stores and food pantry is prolly only a 10 minute walk. Lots of food options and the bus stops are everywhere, incase you did not want to rent a car and pay high parking rates. The bus is really convinient and it will tell you the sightseeing spots at every stopover. $2.5 per person per ride. Love the hotel, would definitely be back ...

Room Tip: book a room on top floor, make sure you open the lanai door while cooking, to avoid the fire alarm g...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebbb_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily T, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Aloha....

Thank you very much for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Luana Waikiki. It is our goal to be a home away from home for our guests who travel great distances to our island. Mahalo Nui Loa. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,603)
There are newer reviews for Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here in a double room with an ocean view. The "partial ocean view" had a very brief view of the water but it was very nice nonetheless. The hotel itself was very clean and the staff helpful. The pool was also very nice. We spent a lot of time there. We also enjoyed the restaurant attached for brunch - they had an excellent happy hour. This hotel is located very close to waikiki beach and the lagoon. We really enjoyed the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was perfect for what we needed. We thought the staff was exceptional, the concierge Matt was helpful (always willing to draw out a map) and housekeeping amazing (that's where the real work is). Our room was clean all the time. Everything looked new (just like in the pictures you see) and the beds were very comfortable. The shampoo, conditioner and lotion smelled so good. It was a short distance from all the action but after a while we started to enjoy the walk. We loved Fort DeRussy beach the most (spent a lot of time there living it up), it was a pleasant five minute walk through a beautiful park and we actually quit going to the busy Waikiki beach section after we started going to this beach basically because it was so close. We did get the hotel room that was right over the busy gas station and the first night there we thought it was so loud. After that, it didn't really bother us and we enjoyed the people watching aspect of it after a long day. We never did try the room service, spa, pool or the gym because we just walked over to the beach or left for the most part. I'd definitely stay here again and I've been recommending it to everyone back home. It's simple and clean but also good quality. No resort fees which is great (we did not have a car to park, there is a fee for that). I don't have one bad thing to say about this place as we were 100% happy with our experience here. Checking in and checking out was a breeze.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cora7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I loved this hotel. It was a few steps from Waikiki and shopping and a few blocks from the beach. The room had plenty of room and easy access to WiFi. There was a nice balcony to view the city. The clerks were very helpful and courteous. And there was easy parking with all night attendents. This is my fourth stay at this hotel and the great service is always the same high value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveVPowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We began our first Hawaiian vacation at this hotel. I chose it because of the price, good reviews and location. We were only in Waikiki for 2 nights before moving up to the North Shore for the remainder of our stay. We live in a large urban area and like to get away from the crowds on vacation. So while we wanted to experience Waikiki we didn't want to be in the middle of all that chaos. The Luana was a good choice. I booked our room - a partial ocean view- through American Express when it was on sale. The day before we flew out I called and requested to be as high as possible while still with an ocean view. Upon arrival they gave us a small upgrade to a kitchenette, partial ocean view - #914. The room was nice, but not especially large. Probably about 250 -300 sq ft. It had a 2 burner stove top, microwave/convection oven, small refrigerator/freezer and a sink. There were also a couple of plates, glassware, mugs, and silverware - along with a 2 cup coffee pot. There was a Queen bed and a small futon type sofa, round table and tv. The bathroom was small, but did supply a hair dryer. We had a small step-out balcony with 2 chairs and a small round table. We had a nice view of Waikiki, Fort DeRussey Park, the ocean and a roof down below. :)
It was fine with us and we loved not having a high rise building next to us! We had a pleasant stroll through the park one morning and the beach down at that end is great - very wide, things to eat/drink are available along with chairs and umbrellas. The center of Waikiki is only 10 minutes or less away and gave us a chance to burn off some of those calories we ate! We had a great time and felt very safe the entire time regardless of the time of night or day.
On Friday night we were able to see from our balcony the fireworks the Hilton Hawaiian Village sets off at dark - about 7:45 pm. Another great feature because we were high up, was to hear the fireworks echoing off the skyscrapers in the area. Very cool!
The staff at the Luana were very friendly and courteous. Our car was available within minutes of asking for it. And I loved the flavored fruit water that was available in the lobby when we returned from our walks. We never had any problems with noise.
I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: #914 is a partial ocean view room with a view of Waikiki, the ocean and Fort DeRussey. It also does...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdatex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our family ( 2 adults 2 teens) stayed here in mid-April for 8 nights and would recommend this hotel to everyone. The staff were very helpful and friendly no matter what time of the day, the housemaids did a great job and our room was always spotless. We had a park view room so very little road noise and loved how central to everything we were. Would have liked somewhere to hang our swimwear to dry though. Will stay here again if we were to return to Hawaii.
Mahalo.

Room Tip: Ask for room 206, has a huge deck with a garden, looks out over Fort DeRusy and has a pool view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily T, Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Aloha! We are delighted to hear that you & your family were happy with your accomodations with us. Thank you for your kind words.
We look forward to having you with us again in the future.
Mahalo Nui Loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel for six nights in April 2013. We disembarked our cruise in the morning and were able to check in immediately upon arrival which was a bonus. Our room was large overlooking the park, whilst not having an ocean view, didn't matter because we didn't spend much time in the room preferring to take in the sights of Wakaai.
The staff were friendly and very helpful, especially the guys out the front, the concierge was very informative when it came to booking tours.
The cafe at the front door served a lovely breakfast, with friendly staff.
Free WiFi was a pleasant surprise after being charged on the cruise.
I would have no hesitation staying in this Hotel again,and recommending it to my friends.

Room Tip: If given the choice I would request a higher floor as possible.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinR413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Oasis
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
601 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach
0.6 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
1,656 reviews
1.1 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $151 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes & spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many amenities without having to incur misc. charges. These services include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, & live Hawaiian entertainment. Try our on-site restaurant, Fish Hook cafe for some local favorite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing