We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Location and Lanai, Road Noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent Location and Lanai, Road Noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 night after flying in from the east coast. Check in was easy, and our room was spacious with a kitchenette and a decent sized lanai with a partial view of the ocean in the distance. We were overlooking the park, but were in a room close to the main road, so there was considerable road noise. We were able to sleep through it pretty well, though. Waikiki beach is a short walk. There is a cafe that serves breakfast right outside of the front lobby which opens at 6:30 despite the sign on the door which says they open at 7.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kupula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    557
    150
    42
    20
See reviews for
414
537
82
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is my second stay at The Outrigger Luana in six months and I now consider it to be my hale (home) in Waikiki. First let me state that I consider the "Outrigger" brand to be the best in Hawai'i. Every Outrigger, I have stayed at, has exemplified Hawaiian sense of place and aloha spirit. The Luana is a boutique cond/hotel located about five minutes from what I consider to be the best beach along the Waikiki strip To get to the beach you simply walk through beautiful Fort DuRusy park to beach access between the Outrigger Reef and the Waikiki Shore hotels. The beach itself is wider and less crowded then the iconic section that fronts the Moana andRoyal Hawaiian, There are concession stands that rent every conceivable kind of water equipment; surf and paddle boards, buggie boards, kayaks, and paddle wheelers. The waves break far out so this spot lends itself to swimming.

But what about the hotel itself? The standard rooms are about 300 sq feet, not including their generous balconies. Renovated about 2004, the furniture is beginning to show its age, but the style is Tropical Retro and the weathered appearance just ads to the vibe. Each single has either a small kitchen or kitchenette with microwave. There is flat screen televion and Internet access In every room. The rooms themselves are immaculately clean and the mattresses are very comfortable with douvet style bedding. At the Luana it's all about room location. The best rooms are on the Diamond Head side closest to the park. These rooms afford excellent views of the park and ocean and rival those of the much more expensive Trump Towers.

the pool is small but maintained at a comfortable temperature. it looks out over the green belt and I have never had to wait for a deck lounge. For me, the best part of the Luana experience is the staff. They couldn't be nicer or more helpful. This current stay I was upgraded to a one bedroom suite and I never want to leave. Yes you can spend a lot more money to be right on the beach but you won't be treated any better for any price.
The Luana is adjacent to Beach Walk and luxury row. it is located on the less crowded West end of Waikiki.

Mahalo Luana for making my stays with you so pleasant. it goes without saying that I will be returning again on my next.visit.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the Diamond Head side, over looking the park and the ocean beyond. 04-05-06-07...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hot4hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We travelled to Hawaii for a 5 night stay. The Luana is a small hotel & it was a quiet & relaxing stay. Easy walking distance for nearby shops & to catch buses for tours of the island. The Concergie Stacey was excellent & helpful, offering guidance & advice on shows to attend, like the luau & the Big Island by plane. Breakfast was tasty & staff was polite & very helpful. We used the laundry on the 1st floor to catch up on washing. It had a kitchenette & we asked for a kettle for tea making. Close to the beach & other hotels for restaurants. Big room with comfortable beds. We would definitely stay there again. We reserved room before leaving Oz & it was an agreed price & that is what we paid in the end, with one night free. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room on 2nd floor facing main street is OK, close to laundry. Cool water available in foyer. Easy wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily T, Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Aloha.....

Mahalo for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the different amenities that our property provides. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel was right on Luxury Row. Great views of the city and with a kitchenette it was perfect to spend several days in prior to our cruise. Our check-in did not go smoothly at all! It was almost as if they did not want to give us the early-bird special that was booked weeks in advance. I had confirmation numbers and a print out and tried to show it to front desk personnel but they did not even look at it, saying that the reservation was booked under something else. It eventually got straightened out but after traveling for more than 12 hours it was annoying. Valet parking is $25 a day in and out all day. That was OK – a little over priced but at least there was parking.
The restaurant in the hotel was very nice and the food was good and for Hawaii was reasonably priced. The staff there was very nice and so was the valet parking staff.
I could only get internet very early in morning after that it was VERY slow and frustrating. That included my phone and laptop.
The Concierge is EXTREMELY helpful and Stacey really helped us out one day. She made phone calls and arrangements for us and took a lot of stress and pressure off of us. She was the best!
Loved the water with fresh fruit in it in the lobby. So refreshing after walking up and down Kalakaua Ave.
The room was definitely spacious and the beds were comfy. The kitchenette was an added plus and was stocked with dishes and other items we needed. It’s a small frig but that was all we needed. The bathroom was a nice size and updated.
One of the days we were there our room ended up not being cleaned. We had been gone all day and came back around 3pm to relax before going to dinner – room was the way we left it that morning, thank goodness we are very neat. We called down to get some fresh towels which they brought up right away and asked if we wanted our room cleaned right then?! We found out that they clean rooms late or so we were told. I wasn’t sure what to make of that, it didn’t happen again.
Overall I would stay there again if I am ever in Hawaii again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trea1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitmore Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Luana Waikiki for five days in a one bedroom condo. The condo was a fine room with a king size bed, a nice side living room and kitchen that looked out over the Pacific Ocean. Make sure you get a room on the higher floors. We had made this request in our reservation. When we arrived, they did place us on a lower floor but readily adjusted to our request. It was obvious that they were customer centered. Those have the best visibility of the ocean. We were delighted with the hotel, its proximity to downtown Waikiki and the beach.

Room Tip: Get a room above the 10th floor to avoid noise from the traffic and request an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily T, Front Office Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Aloha Dan F. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Luana Waikiki. Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. It's our goal to satisfy each of our guests with both services and room accommodations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent 8 days at the Outrigger Luana Waikiki. It was wonderful,the hotel was center to everything we wanted to see. The staff was outstanding even the maid service. We saved money,the beds were comfortable and the rooms were spacious and clean. We would return to
this location again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have outstanding view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had initially wanted to stay at the Outrigger Reef due to its cultural program and nightly live entertainment at their poolside restaurant, but I am VERY glad I went with the Luana because we saved a lot of money and we were still close to everything we needed.

We booked through www.outrigger.com about 2 months before we left for Hawaii and they were offering a number of promotions for discounted room rates. $139 a nigh for a park and ocean view room? I'll take it.

We arrived at the hotel at about 4pm and we were checked in right away. It was a really smooth process. The staff members were very welcoming, everyone from the bellman, to the valet attendant, to the front desk, to the concierge. Every time we came back to the hotel we were greeted at the entrance and that was a nice touch.

The room itself was a standard room with a mini fridge and a sort of kitchen counter area with a sink and dishes. I was actually surprised at how spacious the room was. The room even had a pull-out couch. So for the price we paid, we were very happy. The room was clean and housekeeping did a great job of ensuring that the room was always tidy pretty much right after we left for the day (I know this because we went for breakfast once, came back, and the room was immaculate).

The hotel is located on Kalakaua Ave. which is pretty much the main strip near Waikiki beach. It is literally a 10-minute walk from everything you need. There were tons of restaurants, shops, convenience stores...so many things to see and do. The International Marketplace was also really close, which was great. One thing that I liked a lot about the location of the hotel was the fact that it wasn't too far into the strip because we ended up walking to the Ala Moana centre area, which was in the opposite direction of the beach, but the distance was just right. It is also located near the Bus stops (GREAT way to get around the island!).

I did want to compliment the service of the concierge and the bellmen at this hotel. I used to work at a very large hotel in downtown Toronto, so I do look out for the quality of these two services whenever I happen to travel. Matthew at the concierge desk was awesome. We booked a trip to the Polynesian Cultural Center with him and he got us some amazing seats at their evening show. He also gave us some good advice when it came to other excursions that we saw in the coupon books that you find everywhere. Another girl who was working with him suggested one of the best hole-in-the-wall restaurants in the area for real Italian pizza (V-lounge near Ala Moana) so that made us happy as well. Matthew referred us to the bellmen when we needed transportation to the airport because they were able to get us a better deal on shuttle prices, which was great because we had to make a few trips to the airport (inter-island day trips). One of the bellmen, I think his name was Devin, arranged a shuttle for us which arrived promptly at the scheduled time. He made some small talk with us while we were waiting and made us feel right at home. A+ for the staff here!

The Outrigger Luana Waikiki is probably the median in terms of pricing when it comes to the Outrigger hotels in Waikiki, but it was perfect for us. Great quality and great service, that's what matters.

Room Tip: Check outrigger.com for promos and specials and pay the extra dollars for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,596 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#16 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,257 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,556 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Property: Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes on Tues, Thur, Sat & Sun, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets the Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, and live Hawaiian entertainment. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, BBQ area & fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Otel and BookIt.com so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing