We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, good location, nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was just your basic hotel room, with a kitchenette- which is actually somewhat difficult to find in Honolulu without spending a fortune. It was clean, and the kitchenette does save some money on food, though it's hard to store/cook a real meal with just a 2 burner stovetop and a mini-fridge. Still, I thought the value was good for the location and the level of hotel.

Staff was extremely friendly, and checking in and out were a breeze. They put a very small hold on my card for incidentals, much less than I was expecting (it was either $20 or $25). Beds were very comfortable. Partial Ocean View room gave a very nice view of the ocean and the park. And the cafe downstairs had good coffee and breakfast, at prices that are about average for the area. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a kitchen or kitchenette. Eating out in Honolulu is insanely expensive. Also, the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennies_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have stayed here three times over the last couple of years and absolutely love it. Close to both Waikiki and Ala Moana, and a lovely short walk through Fort Derussy Park to beach. The staff are friendly and helpful. Can't imagine I would stay in any other hotel in Waikiki.

Room Tip: It's worth the little extra for the partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MsRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I spent a week during Thanksgiving week. There is a tone or mood that every hotel creates not just by its ambiance but also by its interaction with guests. This place has got it right! You feel welcomed and appreciated. Staff are gracious, friendly and helpful. It's a small hotel and we enjoyed the quieter atmosphere. We had a corner suite, ocean view, with full kitchen on an upper floor. It was great. Two balconies, well equipped kitchen, living area, good sized bedroom, bath and a large closet with safe. Clean, comfortable, simple and dignified. Loved the location. You overlook Fort de Russy park. A very short walk to the beach and all the shops in Waikiki. Easy access to public transport. We walked to the Ala Moana Shopping Center in under 20 min. The concierge staff were very helpful in helping us sort out our tours and planning our week. The pool was a refreshing option after a busy day touring. There is a bar b q area where you can grill a steak etc , all well organized. Very happy holiday here.

Room Tip: The ocean side rooms are quieter and try and get an upper story for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JBLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

After extensive research on Trip Advisor, I chose this hotel for my husband and me, and couldn't be happier. As we had a 12 day stay, and also having had a night in a Honolulu airport hotel and 7 nights on Maui, we needed an economical place to stay, and this fitted the bill admirably.
We chose a studio apartment so we could self cater and to cut costs, a city view room. We received a seniors' rate (50+), so were extremely happy with the cost. The view was not so good (the garage), but luckily we were on Floor 10, so had more of an outlook. The lanai was quite small, so we didn't use it. We had enough space in the room and more than enough equipment to self cater. We did discover that the extractor fan needed to be used even when making toast, and although small, we managed to fit in what we needed in the fridge.
The pool area and the pool itself were both small, but chairs were always available and the water was warm. For shade, which my husband needs, you could either sit in one of the cabanas or drag a chair into a shady spot. My husband used the bike in the gym and was happy with that.
I was a bit concerned about the position of the hotel, imagining it being miles from anywhere, but found this not to be the case. We walked to and from Ala Moana Mall, which took about 25 minutes, but is flat so not taxing (except when lugging home groceries and shopping). As for Waikiki itself, it's close to everything, and it's not far to the beach either. We only caught a bus once, to and from the Ward Centre, and the bus stop is close to the hotel.
The front desk staff were always polite and helpful, and we organised 2 trips through Matt, the concierge, both of which were good. Our rooms were always cleaned well, but we did do our own dishes and disposed of a lot of our rubbish ourselves. I was surprised that towels were changed daily which, although nice, is not so common in hotels nowadays. As an environmental issue, I think they should actually change this and use the system that other hotels have to indicate when you'd like a towel change. Toiletries were of good quality and replenished when necessary.
We had breakfast in our room most mornings, a few lunches and most dinners. We do like our food, but would rather save our money for shopping, which, along with some R&R, was the purpose of tnis trip. We actually got most of our groceries at Foodland, at Ala Moana, a much cheaper option with much greater variety than the ABC stores.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a comfortable, economic option of Waikiki accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dragonlady2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

we stayed for one night on a stopover. Got a great rate with aaa on a "studio with no kitchen" which actually had counters, dishes and a goodsized fridge.

The rom was recently updated and very nice with a great bed. Our partialnocean view was completely unobstructed over the park.

The beach is a bit far but a nice walk through the park.

If you have a late flight, there isnt a hospitality suite but you can use the bathrooms at the pool to shower. They arent great but they get the job done (unfortunately without much hot water!)

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank konagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Booked a 1-bedroom, 1 bath through owner. After extensive research to get best accommodation, best price, and best location, I found that the Outrigger Luana was a good value. There were 2 adults and 2 teens staying at this hotel/condo unit and while the King bed worked out fine for adults, the pull-out sleeper sofa was a little "rough" for the teens. The unit's bath and kitchen appeared to have been updated nicely with granite and I particularly liked the tile floors throughout. We had a nice view of Ft. DeRussy Park from our lanai and was able to view the fireworks the Friday night we were there. The front service people and valet folks were friendly and helpful and we stopped several mornings for coffee and pastry at the small downstairs restaurant. The downside was that it was a bit of a 'haul' from the center of Waikiki for us senior adults but still worth the value. I'd certainly stay there again but would probably book a larger unit if there were 4 people.

Room Tip: Higher floors are usually better no matter where you stay in Waikiki.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagmaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was fantastic for the price! The staff were amazing, the room was good (we stayed in a POF kitchenette).

The only thing slightly negative thing I could say was the balcony door was very hard to open. But that's really the only issue we had!

Highly recommended if you don't mind being just a little bit from the main action.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joolery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
614 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
506 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $157 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes & spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many amenities without having to incur misc. charges. These services include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, & live Hawaiian entertainment. Try our on-site restaurant, Fish Hook cafe for some local favorite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing