We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was fantastic for the price! The staff were amazing, the room was good (we stayed in a POF kitchenette).

The only thing slightly negative thing I could say was the balcony door was very hard to open. But that's really the only issue we had!

Highly recommended if you don't mind being just a little bit from the main action.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joolery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was my third stay in eighteen months. Outrigger Luana is a boutique hotel - the staff are always friendly and helpful, the location on the park is wonderful and so close to the Waikiki action and the beach.
The one bedroom apartment was so spacious and the view was sensational.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view offers views of the waikiki skyline as well as the park and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Therese1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for several days while attending a friend's destination wedding. We had booked the room with Expedia several weeks in advance and felt that we had gotten excellent value for what we had paid. It was a walk to the beach, but you walk right along Kalakaua Ave. which has tons of shops and restaurants along it (so many of these restaurants are fantastic) and the walk wasn't far at all. Mind you, I did have to walk to the Sheraton Waikiki in heels for the wedding and I honestly didn't think that it was too far. Even my toes agree. :-)

We had two queen beds, a small desk, TV, nightstand in the room as well as a kitchen sink which was great when two of us were trying to get ready for the wedding. Tile floors throughout made it easy for housekeeping to keep things clean. We didn't have a great view from our porch, but we had no loud noise and the porch was still really nice when we hung out there at the end of the day.

There was $25/day valet parking that we needed to use that was pricey but seemed to be par for the course in the area. The attendants were really cool and attentive and always brought the car to us quickly. The front desk attendants were also great and gave us beach towels upon request. We only ate at the cafe at the hotel once, but the food was reasonably priced and tasty - it was also prepared super quickly and this was really important because we were running late for the wedding when we grabbed our lunch here.

One small touch that I really loved was the complimentary water that they had in the lobby; there's a table to the side with ice water sitting there that has tons of tropical fruit in it to give it flavor. It really was a treat and was a great way to start a day of exploring; I'd grab a glass of it whenever I'd leave the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SadLawGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a great time, the staff was amazing and responsive. The value was unbeatable for Waikiki and the location was tops. Would consider staying again.

We were in room 420 and there aren't a lot of natural light, but there is a small lanai (balcony). :)

Treadmills were awful and need service. Our door no. was missing so we had moderate confusion finding our room. Microwave in room would be great since there is a fridge and kitchenette. I believe some units have them, some don't.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a side that doesn't face the gas station. Good breakfast place downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayawill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

we didn't know that rooms with a kitchenette only have queen sized beds...which in reality seemed like a little bit larger than a double. When we asked about it, the front desk suggested that someone sleep on the pull out sofa. Umm...no. We figured it was only for one night, so we could make do with what we had.

The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but most importantly, the room was clean. It seemed like it had been remodeled, but it still had a bit of "old Waikiki" charm. I realize that some people might not like that...it's definitely not a luxurious hotel, but it's a practical room.

Our view overlooked the park across the street..nice, but it was quite noisy since Kalakaua is a busy street.

Since we didn't spend a lot of time in Waikiki, we probably should have stayed outside of Waikiki and thus save a few bucks in parking...but it is a convenient location. Only bad thing is their entrance. It's a bit hard to drive into/out of if there's a lot of people on the sidewalk plus the street traffic.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, don't get one facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmj2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger Luana Waikiki in Central Honolulu in August 2011. Right from the reservation stage the staff were great. They were all very helpful giving information and getting things done.
The hotel location is perfect, very central for visiting all the attractions and places of interest but not too close to the noise and crowds. The beach is 5 mins walk through a good park, the shopping and restaurants are less than 5 mins walk and the bus stop right outside the hotel to go to other places.
The rooms were very spacious and clean with a good kitchenette with a fridge. It would have been better if they had a microwave and a kettle for us British who like our cup of tea. Also, they did not have the ordinary English Breakfast Tea bags which we like although the staff were good enough to try and get us a couple of them when we asked. We bought things from a supermarket nearby and had breakfast in the room which was convenient but would have liked to have a microwave and kettle.
The hotel had a small cafe on the premises which was ok for light snacks and drinks. But it was easy to walk to the main area to eat.
The swimming pool was small but nice and there was also a small gym. The main plus was the staff all of them so helpful when we needed anything. We stayed there for 7 nights and enjoyed it and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to everyone and go there again as the room rates were very good value. We were looking at a lot of hotels when we were planning our trip all the way from the UK and found the hotels in Honolulu quite expensive compared to other areas in the USA. But the Outrigger Luana was very reasonable and good value for money for the quality and convenience.

Room Tip: If you have kids, plan breakfast in the rooms and buy some stuff from the supermarket. Don't bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aspi2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice, clean, convenient and practical hotel for an Oahu vacation. The staff at this hotel is great. Everybody from check-in desk to valet parking attendants were awesome. Always friendly and helpful and always had a smile on. We had breakfast at their Protea Cafe and it was very good. Great service there too.
The rooms were comfortable and our 5th floor room facing the park was very quiet. Never heard any loud noises from outside or inside the bulding.
This hotel property is on Fort DeRussy Park. It's about a ten minute walk to Waikiki Beach and about four blocks from International Market Place.
Overall, I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalEskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
618 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
506 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $157 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes & spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many amenities without having to incur misc. charges. These services include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, & live Hawaiian entertainment. Try our on-site restaurant, Fish Hook cafe for some local favorite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing