We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Impressed!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
484 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Very Impressed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very impressive desk service: They were extremely helpful and friendly.
The location was perfect and the room was above par! The only set back was the pool, which was near the lobby, just enough to get wet and splash around. Other than that it was quite, clean and good dollar value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GringoAlto2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor. I am glad to know that we met your expectations. I will surely relay your kind words to all involved. It is always our goal to provide our guests happy and comfortable accommodations.

Mahalo,
Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    475
    218
    50
    31
See reviews for
338
261
89
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had booked this hotel through tripmasters package deal. Took us about an hour to get from airport to this hotel. Blame it on Honolulu' s traffic!! The parking at this hotel is on rear end which is not convenient. The staff were very friendly. There is a iHOP next door open 24 hrs. The rooms are compact and clean. The restaurants and shopping places are close by and so is the beach. We walked around the area easily. Overall a nice stay !!

Room Tip: There are some remodeled rooms behind. They are big but not good looking. So pick the ones in newer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sahana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and for recognizing our employees. I am always pleased when our guests share their experiences, both positive and negative. Like any other hotel, we have our share of challenges and our guests’ feedback provides us with valuable insights regarding the quality of our service and facilities. Yes, parking has always been a challenge since the entrance is located on the side of our building on a one way street. Based on the rest of your comments, it looks like you had a great time in Hawaii. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Mahalo,

Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
OHANA Waikiki Malia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at the Ohana Waikiki Malia on our very first night in Hawaii. We arrived later on at night and the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. We were able to check in quickly which was great with children in tow. The room was clean and comfortable and the location is great- Kuhio has lots of restaurants and shops. Although we wre only there for one night the hotel was happy to hold our luggage for us until our flight later on in the afternoon. Having a 12 noon check out time was also very accomodating. We found the street noise a bit intrusive BUT we live normally in a very quiet location and city noise is to be expected The children enjoyed the pool and spa and the area beside this worked well with wi-fi and couches. I would recommend this hotel for those travelling with families.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlohaSimpsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. We really appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests and use it to further improve our hospitality and recognize our employees. It is always our goal to provide our guests with clean and friendly accommodations and feel good about recommending our hotel to their friends and acquaintances.

Again, Mahalo for you kind remarks.

Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
OHANA Waikiki Malia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunakakai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

This review is long overdue:

Dates Of Stay: 7/9 - 7/10 2013 (1 Night)
8/20 - 8/23 2013 (3 Nights)
10/29 - 10/30 2013 (1 Night)

Next Date Of Stay: 1/28 - 1/29 2014 (1 Night)

I've been staying at the "OHANA WAIKIKI MALIA" for over 20 years and have always been welcomed back by the employees of the front desk & bell desk. Love the rooms, love the location but most of all love the OHANA (Family) feeling you get when you stay there. Last year my parents and I have stayed there a total of three times due to my mom's medical problems we have to fly to Oahu from Molokai where we live. A big MAHALO'S (thank you) goes out to Les Laa, Troy Boyce, Peter Nonales, Soo, Alvina, Robert, Roy, Lance, Brian and the rest of the front desk & bellmens. THE TRUE MEANING OF ALOHA AND FAMILY...THE OHANA WAIKIKI MALIA!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaluakoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Aloha,

Thank so much for your kind words about our hotel. It really feels good when someone appreciates and recognizes our employees for a job well done. You can be assured we will share this with our Front Desk, Bell, Maintenance and Housekeeping staff.

Thank you for your continued support!

Mahalo,

Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
OHANA Waikiki Malia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here with a friend for three nights and it was a nice, comfortable stopover on our way to the mainland U.S. for Christmas holidays. The hotel is tucked away next to an IHOP on Kuhio, a couple of blocks over from the main shopping and eating district, but it's a nice, easy stroll to get to Waikiki Beach. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable, good amenities and the staff was friendly. They were even able to check us in 3 hours early, as our flight landed at the crack of dawn! No complaints, and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank brittshotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you so much for your complimentary review of our hotel. We really appreciate the feedback we receive and use it to further improve our hospitality and recognize our employees. You can be assured we will share this with our staff.

We always try to demonstrate the Aloha spirit in everything we do, and I am delighted to see you appreciated it so much

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
OHANA Waikiki Malia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Spent New Year's Eve at the Ohana Malia. We arrived in Wakiki early and called to see if our room was ready. It was and we were able to check in early. Front desk staff was very friendly! Our room was very clean and perfectly suited our needs. My only dislike would be that the shower was only a hand held type which was just not my favorite. However, the shower was very clean. Hotel location is great. We returned, it felt like, at the same time as every other guest after the fireworks. There was security staff there to direct everyone on the elevators and the lines moved very quickly. All in all, a great stay!! Perfect spot if you want to spend a day or two to experience Waikiki!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on trip advisor. It is very rewarding to read that your needs were met from our friendly front desk staff, to our housekeepers who keep our rooms spotless. We are centrally located which is an added plus for our guests. We are happy to hear that our security staff did a good job on directing the guests as needed. All of your feedback is appreciated as we can pass it on to our employees, letting them know of a job well done. We are glad that you had a great stay and we hope to welcome you back one day.

Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our group stayed at Ohana Malia for 10 days, December 12-22, and we were all impressed by the excellent service provided by the staff at the hotel. From the front office staff, to the housekeeping, to security and parking, I was impressed on a daily basis with the courtesy and professionalism shown to our group. We had rooms booked in both the old and new wings. The older rooms are large, with generously-sized decks with an eastern exposure. The kitchenettes had refrigerators large enough to store a large quantity of cold food, and the utensils and cooking tools were clean and well-supplied. The newer rooms are slightly smaller, but in both cases the beds and pillows were very comfortable and scrupulously clean. The lobby and pool area have wifi, and tend to be places were guests congregate to be connected. The pool is small but clean, and good enough for a quick dip on a hot day. The Pink Trolley is available right outside the front door, and will take you all over Waikiki, from Ala Moana to the Zoo, free of charge. The parking garage can bit a bit tight for larger vehicles, but the staff is there 24 hours to assist. This hotel is great value for a very good location, a 5 minute walk to the beach.
R. Allen, Langley BC

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dukefan1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on trip advisor. We are very happy to read of your satisfaction with all our staff here at the Malia. It is also great to hear of how you were able to experience both the Luana Wing (kitchenettes) and the Malia Tower. Your description of the usefulness of the kitchenettes is excellent. And yes, our pool is small but good enough as you say for a quick dip. Our OHANA WAIKIKI CONNECTION package is truly a great value as it includes the Pink Trolley free rides as well as many other amenities. Our location is one of our best attributes.
Thank you again for such an outstanding review.

Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger

Property: OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Address: 2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2830 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Malia)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger is conveniently located in Central Waikiki on Kuhio Avenue and is a short stroll to a wide variety of shopping and dinning on Kalakaua Avenue and the Waikiki Beach Walk promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki Malia Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki Malia By Outrigger Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing