We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trip was ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Hanford, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“trip was ok”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great trip. Not the cleanest hotel but ok. Close to shops and resturants. Not to far fromt he beach. The staff is friendly and do all the can to help you find what you are looking for.Nice to have extra bed for the kids and not to long of walk to resturants

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angulo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you had a great trip. Please accept our apologies regarding the cleanliness of your room. We will work with our housekeeping department closer in regards to this.
We do have a great location and the best staff in Waikiki!
Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    499
    221
    50
    31
See reviews for
351
272
93
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our first view of the hotel, from the hotel garage, wasn't much to get excited about, but it got better.
We had a room with a queen bed in bedroom and 2 twin daybeds in the living room. Perfect for our 2 kids who don't like to share a bed!
There was a nice, small kitchenette.
The bathroom was large enough, but their isn't any counter space and just a small shelf to put your toiletries on. The tub/shower was about half a normal size. The only other thing was the location of the toilet paper holder......really????

Management...please add a large shelf in the bathroom to make this a more user friendly place to stay.

Garage parking is super tight!!! Great location, can walk everywhere easily.

There are lots of dining options around, and an IHOP restaurant outside the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you were pleased with our bedding arrangements in our one bedroom with kitchenette unit. I agree with you that these units are great for families.
We realize that the bathroom is lacking in shelf/counter space and that the half tub is a bit unusual. This will all be taken into consideration in future renovations.
I apologize for our parking garage as our ramps are tight. We do benefit from being in a great location close to shopping and dining.
We appreciate all your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

When we arrived, we were pleasantly greeted by the front desk staff and even received some great advice on good eats around town and things to do.

The room was clean and comfortable with firm beds--just the way I like them. I did see a small cockroach in the bathroom on the first night, but because we're in a tropical area, you have to expect that you'll come across one or more on your trip here.

Decor and finishes are dated, but everything works just fine.

The hotel also has security at nights to ensure that only hotel guests are in the guest room floors, to ensure security.

Internet in the room is free and available, except that it is only for wired connections. WiFi is only available in the lobby.

Overall, I was satisfied with my stay here and would return here in a future visit. Mahalo for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you were pleasantly greeted and given great advice on good eats.
It will be nice to report to our housekeeping department that you found your room clean and comfortable. Thank you for your understanding of our tropical climate here in Hawaii. Safety is a priority here at the OHANA Waikiki Malia hence the night security.
We apologize for not having WiFi in our guest rooms. We are working on getting that installed.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed on the 12th floor for 4 nights. The hotel was certainly NOT the cleanest - some mold in the bathroom and hairs left from the previous occupants (gross!!). But, its location to the shops and restaurants was great especially for the price (we booked through expedia). We didn't spend much time in the hotel room so it met our needs. If you're looking to go to Waikiki Beach every day of your trip, I'd recommend finding an hotel closer.

Room Tip: There is definitely street noise even on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smitty304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. Please accept our apology for the unacceptable condition in which you found your room. We are going through retraining sessions with our housekeepers regarding this. We do have a great location and we are a good value. We are glad that your needs were met. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

First the good: clean room, reasonably spacious, location is fine as long as you don't mind being a few long blocks from the beach. The main plus is that the price is right. Some big negatives: no Wi-Fi in the rooms, And the front desk that just can't get its act together. I waited over two hours for a room when many people after me were checked in. I was told it would be before 3 PM but had to beg to get a room at 3:15. Turns out there were rooms all along, they just didn't change my assignment. Weak!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred_moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. Please accept our apology for the unnecessary wait you endured while checking into your room. We will be working closely with the front desk staff to ensure that this does not happen again.
We also apologize for not having WiFi in our rooms. We have plans to install this soon.
We are glad that you found our rooms clean and spacious and that you found our location convenient. Thank you for recognizing our value.
We appreciate your feedback.
Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

we booked thru a travel agent. She didnt really recommend it as it was a few blocks from Waikiki Beach, but I wanted a cheaper priced hotel.
in the end, the hotel was actually well located, well priced and had great facilities.
certainly good value and would stay there again. the only downside is that it doesnt have a pool and bar area to lounge around in, but hey- there are plenty of other hotels you can do that in

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We are happy to read that your found our property well located, well priced and with great facilities. We are a good value and would love to have you stay with us again. We do have a pool with a bar and we also have pools at our sister hotels, the OHANA Waikiki East and the OHANA Waikiki West that are available for our guests to use.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Got my room on Priceline for 6 nights. This was a great location for my budget. The hotel needs a little work and the amenities are nothing special. (Embarrassing excuse for a pool, no special restaurants, terrible parking.) However, when you are 5 minutes from the beach, restaurants and bars, you can't go wrong. We were close to everything we needed and to save an extra $200 per night I'd say it is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from a parking lot view. Our lanai was overlooking the entrance to the parking gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottmik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We appreciate your recognition of our value for our location. We realize that we have a small pool but we were very limited in space in which to put one. We do have the IHOP (International House of Pancakes) restaurant in our lobby which works great for guests, especially those with families. Please accept our apology for our garage as it does have narrow ramps. It is great to read that you found your stay with us worth it due to location of the beach, restaurants and bars. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,819 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
497 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,884 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,638 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger

Property: OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Address: 2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2830 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Malia)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger is conveniently located in Central Waikiki on Kuhio Avenue and is a short stroll to a wide variety of shopping and dinning on Kalakaua Avenue and the Waikiki Beach Walk promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki Malia Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki Malia By Outrigger Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing