We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$352
$325
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$525
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$242
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$442
$305
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$211
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$319
$249
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$235
$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,154)
Filter reviews
1,154 results
Traveler rating
283
533
251
54
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
533
251
54
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsihop restaurantpink linefree trolleyparking garagefront desk staffroom keystreet noisesmall balconyliving roombeach towelskuhio avenueacross the streetdefinitely stay here againbooked this hotellocation is greatminute walk to the beachresort fee
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 1,154 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

we booked thru a travel agent. She didnt really recommend it as it was a few blocks from Waikiki Beach, but I wanted a cheaper priced hotel.
in the end, the hotel was actually well located, well priced and had great facilities.
certainly good value and would stay there again. the only downside is that it doesnt have a pool and bar area to lounge around in, but hey- there are plenty of other hotels you can do that in

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thetraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We are happy to read that your found our property well located, well priced and with great facilities. We are a good value and would love to have you stay with us again. We do have a pool with a bar and we also have pools at our sister hotels, the OHANA Waikiki East and the OHANA Waikiki West that are available for our guests to use.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Got my room on Priceline for 6 nights. This was a great location for my budget. The hotel needs a little work and the amenities are nothing special. (Embarrassing excuse for a pool, no special restaurants, terrible parking.) However, when you are 5 minutes from the beach, restaurants and bars, you can't go wrong. We were close to everything we needed and to save an extra $200 per night I'd say it is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from a parking lot view. Our lanai was overlooking the entrance to the parking garage. Couldn't really appreciate the views of Hawaii.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottmik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We appreciate your recognition of our value for our location. We realize that we have a small pool but we were very limited in space in which to put one. We do have the IHOP (International House of Pancakes) restaurant in our lobby which works great for guests, especially those with families. Please accept our apology for our garage as it does have narrow ramps. It is great to read that you found your stay with us worth it due to location of the beach, restaurants and bars. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have been travelling to Hawaii for the past 25years and have stayed at the Malia most of the times. We have always found the staff very welcoming, helpfull, friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. A lot of the staff have been there from the first time we stayed with them. Our last trip was a 23day stay and loved every moment of it. It is on the bus route and only a few blocks away from the lovely beach of Waikiki. Our accomodation was a 1 bedroom with a kitchette. A little home away from home. It was clean spacious and the hotel maids were accomodating. We certainly book with them again.

Room Tip: Book a room facing towards the sea. they have fireworks every Friday night and they are a great show.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noeline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. Wow 25 years!!! That is so exciting! We are so happy to read how much our staff helped to make you feel like members of our Malia family. I love your description of our one bedroom units with kitchenette as “a little home away from home”. Thank you so much for this fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back “home” one day soon.
Mahalo nui loa!
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked through Virgin Australia's Velocity Rewards. Extremely pleased with the room being in the refurbished section and away from the elevators. Good size room for our requirements. Didn't use the pool (very small) or the carpark which appeared to be most suitable for small cars. The desk staff are all very helpful and welcoming. Housemaids are all friendly,willing to please and appreciative of gratuities. We found the location suited us as we loved to walk and discover the Malls and Markets scattered around the neighborhood. A bonus was being able to access the Red Bus Route at any time by just showing our room key card for the Hotel. Waikiki Beach is but a short stroll away too. The refridgerators are dated and in need of replacement however, When we called down to the desk regarding the fridge not cooling properly a maintenance person was at the door within ten minutes and very quickly had the unit working much better. Would definately stay here again when visiting Hawaii.

Room Tip: Request a room in the Malia Tower.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tery Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We appreciate all your positive comments regarding our rooms and our employees. It is our goal that our guests are treated with the Aloha Spirit by our employees. Thank you for validating that. We are proud of our location as it is so very convenient to shopping and dining. Our free trolley passes (your room keys) are also a great way to travel around Waikiki and the Ala Moana Shopping Center. We have a great maintenance staff here at our hotel and they are quick to respond to all of our guests needs. Thank you again for acknowledging our awesome employees.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.
Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were in Hawaii for 6 days and stayed here the entire time. We loved it! The room was clean and had more than enough space for the 4 adults in our party. Our beds were very comfortable and, though the rooms are a little dated, we had an extremely comfortable stay. When we got there, our Internet connection was not working, so we called the desk and someone was there almost immediately and had the problem fixed in less than 5 minutes. Housekeeping was great and even did our dishes for us each day, which we were not necessarily expecting. We loved the location of the hotel...not right on the beach, but close to pretty much everything! The only things that were a little bit annoying during our stay were the lack of wifi, the slow elevators, and the parking garage. No wifi and slow elevators were only minor inconveniences, but the parking garage is, without a doubt, the worst parking garage I have ever seen. Before our vacation, we read reviews that talked about the awful parking garage and we were prepared for the worst, and then it ended up being even worse that we were expecting. It was such a tight squeeze to fit in any of the spots, back out, turn, pretty much anything you would have to do in a parking garage was difficult and miserable. So, if you're planning on renting a car, be aware that it won't be a pleasant experience. Other than that, I would whole-heartedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room that is on a higher floor, otherwise you can hear some noise from the street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews