We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a vacation in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2012

this hotel deserves five stars! Clean, child friendly, with excellent maid and bell hop service. Staff was knowledgable, helpful and curteous. An IHOP in the hotel provided excellent service, food was good.I would definately stay here again. After checking out and leaving our bags with the bellhops we were gone 6 hours. When we came to claim our bags we were given another room free of charge to freshen up in! The only drawback is the pool and jacuzzi hours were not as late as I would have like to seen. But truly worth the sacrifice.

Room Tip: get ocean side for a glimpse of the ocean. Leaving the maid a daily tip ensured excellent service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

Large, clean room (except for the mold on the A/C return vent) with small frig. & comfortable bed. Ice only on certain floors - somewhat inconvenient. All staff very friendly & helpful. Good location close enough to stores, restaurants & International Marketplace & safe even when returning alone at night! Don't know where previous reviewer encountered prostitutes!?!?! Would be nice to have microwave & Wi-fi in rooms! Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank laurenat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Ohana Waikiki Malia for 3 days in May. Overall, the value was good due to the price. Room was clean with a nice TV and mini fridge. Staff were friendly. Lanais were very small and bed was kind of hard. Also, the location was not the greatest, felt like we walked a awhile to everywhere we wanted to be... Overall though, you can't beat the value for the price. If I were looking for another hotel stay not beachfront, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coltsfan4life06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

stayed for 3 nights. nice small room. clean no problems there. Check in and out quick and without any problems.

The parking is a completely different story,
Oh my god....I lived in France for some years, I am used to small and badly planned parking. But this was pretty much the smallest most stupidly planned parking garage I have ever been in.
If you plan on getting a full size car/suv go somewhere else.

they make you pay a whopping 30$ a day if you don't stay there and a still ridiculous 20$ if you stay there.

Expensive and bad is a bit to much.

On the plus side, no resort fees and really very helpful employees

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manyroadsuntraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I'm not sure how this hotel received a 3 star rating, but it is FAR from that! The room was not very clean, if you get the Kitchenette room the beds are like sleeping on cardboard and the room is NOT remodeled, however the remodeled rooms are not much better (we stayed in one of those too!).

The evening staff is extremely rude and if you are going with other friends or family staying in another hotel forget about inviting them to come up to your room! There is a rude security guard that watches the elevator and unless you have a room key and are registered to the room, you won't get in!

Hotel is noisy, there will be no sleeping in! The city parking garage for the buses is right there...backup alarms ALL morning long!

Neiborhood is NOT the best place at night either, unless your into prostitutes and drug dealers offering you services every time you walk back to your room!

My home bathtub is bigger than their pool!!! Not that you could sunbath anyway...it gets no sun at all!

Pay a few extra dollars and stay somewhere else! It's not worth ruining your vacation over!

Room Tip: Stay near the Hilton Hawiian Village, there are hotels in that area for a couple extra dollars, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Michael,

Please accept our apology for your dissatisfaction with your stay here at the OHANA Waikiki Malia. Our kitchenette/one bedroom units will be undergoing a soft renovation in October of this year.

I am sorry that our evening staff gave you the impression that they are rude but for safety reasons we need to make sure that all the people entering our elevators are registered guests.

We are located in the heart of Waikiki which can be very busy with buses and trolleys. I apologize for the inconvience you incurred by the noise factor.

We are very excited to now have a lounge pool and whirlpool spa which was built in August of 2011. The pool is small but we were limited on the amount of space in which to build one. The pool is heated due to the fact that it receives a limited amount of sun. We also have our sister hotels, the OHANA Waikiki East and OHANA Waikiki West pools available for our guests to use.

Please know that it is our goal to meet your expectations in both service and accommodations and for you to feel good about recommending our hotel to your friends and family. I am disappointed and very sorry that we failed in this regard.

Sincerely,

Nora Weatherwax
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the Waikiki Malia and wished I stayed longer. The hotel is remarkably clean due to being recently renovated. The room itself were spacious for 2, well furnished, and very comfortable.

The rooms had a fridge, granite countertops, new faucets, new handheld adjustable shower head, flat screen tv, small balcony, digital exact temp thermostats, free in room safe, iron and board, dual nightstand, and plenty of pillows.

Everything was impressively clean from bathroom to carpet to windows. The elevators were only accessible with a room key, and ice was on every floor. I always saw 3 or more staff members at the front desk every time I walked past.

The negatives would be the small pool and parking charge, but it seems like every hotel charges for parking these days and they allow you to use the pools at their sister hotels Ohana East and West. The bathroom is a tad bit cramped also.

Location was a few blocks from the beach, but definitely walkable. Very close to everything else in Waikiki including grocery store, restaurants, and shopping. Highly recommended to anyone looking for a good value and clean hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end are right next to the ice machine and only have one neighbor. (across is ice, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chhun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Aloha!

Thank you for such an amazing and accurate review! We value your comments on our hotel being clean as that is very important to us. As is security as our elevators are only accessible with a guest room key.

Yes, our heated pool is small due to the area in which we had to build one. And as you mention, all our guests are welcome to use our sister hotels pools as the OHANA Waikiki East and OHANA Waikikik West.

We greatly appreciate your recommendation of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back some day.

Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Our stay in the Malia was very nice. The hotel was clean and quiet. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We were able to book through their military liason and save on our room and parking, I highly recommend looking into that if you are military. The parking garage was clean and not smelly(unlike others in waikiki). The parking attendants were also helpful and pleasant. The ramps up and down were steep but after the first couple of trips in and out it didn't seem so bad. I was especially glad to see that the pictures that the hotel had on its site accurately depicted the room that we got.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abhcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for submitting your positive review. Thank you also for your service to our country. Our Military Liasion office is our connection to our military personal and we welcome the opportunity to be of service.

Our housekeeping department does an excellent job of keeping our rooms and public areas clean. I will be sure to let them know of your comment.

I am glad you were able to adapt to the parking ramps as they can be challenging.

Mahalo again for your feedback.

Nora Weatherwax
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,895 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
612 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger

Address: 2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2830 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Malia)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $143 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger is conveniently located in Central Waikiki on Kuhio Avenue and is a short stroll to a wide variety of shopping and dinning on Kalakaua Avenue and the Waikiki Beach Walk promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki Malia Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki Malia By Outrigger Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing