We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Waikiki Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Adairsville, GA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful Waikiki Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

This hotel was a very enjoyable experience! It was clean, well furnished, accessible to most everything we needed, and affordable.

Our flight was delayed by one day and the hotel personnel were very gracious about it. Upon checkout, they agreed to hold our luggage a few hours after checkout to accommodate our flight schedule.

The hotel is designed for the comfort of the guests. It appears to be older, but is updated and well arranged. Our "room" was a suite with a kitchen and bath separating the two sleeping areas, and a balcony. There is an I-Hop within the hotel and many dining and shopping opportunities nearby.

The staff was exceptional. They made us feel that we were special and wanted!

There are many things to do around Honolulu (including "gawking" as we walked through the lobbies of the really luxurious nearby hotels!) We visited Pearl Harbor, Diamond Head, went snorkeling and enjoyed beach sunsets and seemingly endless displays of double rainbows each day.

Rental cars are very expensive, but the hotels have free trolleys (just show your room card) to dining and shopping. The bus system is well organized..a schedule is posted, and you can go most anywhere on one.

The nearby malls are worth the trip, and such food!!! Lovely island. Beautiful beaches. Lovely Hotel. I'd definitely stay there again.
.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LadyLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for submitting your positive comments on tripadvisor. Our housekeepers do a great job on keeping our property clean. Our Guest Service Representatives are indeed very gracious and we our so proud of our hotel staff.
The one bedroom unit you stayed in is located in our Luana Wing. This wing has not been renovated and we are working on improvements.
Thank you for again mentioning our staff. It is our goal to make all our guests feel special and wanted.
It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay in Hawaii. We have a saying here, "Hawaii No Ka Oi"! Hawaii is the best!
Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou! (Thank you very much and until we meet again)

Nora Weatherwax,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    475
    218
    50
    31
See reviews for
338
261
89
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

The hotel has a great location for bus, beach, restaurants, etc. But it is very dated (or least the wing we were in was.) First room offerred had a moldy odor. Second one was better but mold was visible on the carpeted baseboard. The carpet itself needed a cleaning - better still replacement. Furniture was fine, though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matriarch222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Aloha for submitting your review on tripadvisor. Our location is conveniently located in central Waikiki and is a short stroll to a wide variety of shopping and dinning.

I apologize for the inconveinence you incurred while staying in our Luana Wing. This wing is dated and we are working on improvements. We have plans to change the carpet this year. It was good to read that you found the furniture acceptable.

We have recently renovated our Malia Tower which consists of rooms that are 331 square feet with a choice of two double beds or one king. This tower does not have kitchenettes. The kitchenettes are located in our one bedroom units in the Luana Wing.

Mahalo again for taking the time to submit a a review. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Nora Weatherwax,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

My wife and I went to Waikiki Malia for our honeymoon. The room was very clean. The staff gave us excellent information throughout our trip. Several restaurants were located close to the hotel. The Bus, that goes through Oahu, stops across the street from the hotel. ABC is less than a block away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlakvold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Aloha!

Congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon. We are glad to have been able to supply you with clean accomodations and a staff that cares about our guests. We have located in an excellent location with makes it very easy for our guests to choose somewhere to dine and to catch the City bus to anywhere on the island. We also offer all of our guests free trolley rides with the pickup location directly behind us at the Duty Free Galleria.
Mahalo and we look forward to seeing you again one day. Maybe on your anniversary....:-)

Nora Weatherwax,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

My significant other and I had spend a nice quiet overnighter at this hotel. It was a short,but well rested way to spend Christmas Eve. This is actually a repeat visit for me at this hotel. I've stayed here about a year ago for Thanksgiving and it was a very pleasant first time stay here. The staff was alsways very accomodating and "Ohana-like". I will definately be booking another reservation here soon.

Room Tip: The corner suites seem less noisy and a little more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Aloha!
Thank for taking the time to post a review. It was good to read that you had a nice, quiet, well rested overnight stay. Your comment that states "the staff was always very accomondating and "Ohana-like" makes me proud. This shows that we are follow ing our Ke Ano'Wa'a value of Na Mea Ho'okipa (Hosts)...we, as Hosts, welcome and entertain our guests and friends with warmth and generosity. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Mahalo nui loa!
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
205 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

I'm going with 5 stars for the great staff and outstanding housekeeping. My 17th floor room in the main building (Malia Tower) was reasonably quiet and as comfortable as could be. All the "standard" rooms are in the Malia Tower and all have been renovated. But if you pay more for a 1 bedroom unit, you'll be in the infamous unrenovated Luana Wing - don't!

I have to agree with the previous reviewers about the lack of TV channels. As you can see from my profile, I have traveled around the world to many continents and have never ever stayed in a hotel with fewer TV channels, at least not in this century. Even in countries like Cambodia, Thailand and Laos, I could receive CNN and other cable news channels. I have stayed in many other budget hotels in Waikiki and had no complaints about the TV channel lineup either. This is the only hotel where there is no CNN (no, HLN is not CNN), no MSNBC, no CNBC, no Weather Channel, etc. etc. At home these channels are part of my "basic" cable service so I don't understand why Ohana accepts anything less.

The other issue is the crazy elevator system. In the Malia Tower, only one of three elevators stops at floors 2-5. There are no independent call buttons, however. So if you're going down to the 5th floor to use the guest laundry, for example, the odds are 2 to 1 that the elevator you called won't be the one that stops on these lower floors. Many guests seem hopelessly confused by this arrangement which could be rectified if Ohana would install a separate call system for the elevator that services the garage and laundry floors.

Anyway, despite these minor issues, I hope to return to the Waikiki Malia the next time I'm in Honolulu.

Room Tip: Book "standard" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1NicePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Aloha & Mahalo for taking the time to post a review. Thank you for your gracious compliments regarding our staff and housekeeping. It is great to know that you received 5 star service.

I apologize for the limited selection of TV channels. We are working on updating our TV channels and hope to have this accomplished soon.

I can understand the confusion with our elevator system. This is due to having two buildings that are connected. We do have four elevators in our lobby. Two of them service floors 2-5. We are working on improving the elevator signage.

Mahalo again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We are regular visitors to Waikiki and have stayed at the Malia quite a few times in the last two years. For the price, we are very impressed with everything about the hotel, including the friendly, helpful staff, super-clean rooms, free Internet and excellent location. We are returning to Waikiki in February for two weeks and this time have chosen not to stay at the Malia for one reason only: the extremely limited number of TV channels. We do not stay out late at night and enjoy relaxing in the room, however have found on our past visits that there is so little to watch on TV that we had to choose another hotel for our next visit. We noticed that you mentioned you would be improving your TV channel selection in the future. We will be very happy to return when this has been done.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for posting your review. Thank you for your gracious comments regarding our staff and rooms. I agree that our location is excellent. We are conveniently located in central Waikikli and we are a short stroll to a wide variety of shopping and dinning.
We are sorry to hear that you will not be staying with us this year due to the lack of TV channels. I can understand how important this is and yes we are working on improving our selection. I will be sure to comment on TripAdvisor as soon as this is completed.
Thank you for staying with us in the past and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Nora Weatherwax,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Just returned from my first stay at the Ohana Waikiki Malia and I couldn't be more pleased. The staff was friendly, always saying hello whenever we returned to the hotel, and the room was lovely and always cleaned impeccably. I requested a renovated room ahead of time and they accomodated me, no problem. Location is great, some street noise from Kuhio (which our room overlooked) but nothing that running the fan didn't take care of. We really lucked out and got quiet neighbors for all but one night of our stay too. I *do* have to echo the warnings about the parking garage. Yikes! Be mindful of it if you are renting a car and especially if you get an SUV (take my advice: don't! Get a compact). But the folks in the garage were super sweet and it was a pleasure to see them every day as well. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Thank you for submitting your review to TripAdvisor. It was good to read that your first stay here was enjoyable. Our hotel staff is very good at demonstrating the Aloha Spirt. They truely enjoying meeting and greeting our guests with a sense of family. Our housekeepers take great pride in keeping all our rooms and public areas clean and lovely. Our Malia Tower was recently renovated.

Thank you for the echo warning on our garage. Yes, it is a challenge and everyone needs to be aware that it has narrow ramps. But our parking attendents are the best!

Mahalo and Aloha,
Nora Weatherwax, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger

Property: OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Address: 2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2830 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Malia)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger is conveniently located in Central Waikiki on Kuhio Avenue and is a short stroll to a wide variety of shopping and dinning on Kalakaua Avenue and the Waikiki Beach Walk promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki Malia Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki Malia By Outrigger Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing