We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Paradise”
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Shore Waikiki
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Conway, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Paradise”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I were married at Waimanalo Bay and Honeymooned with the Park Shore. Weddings of Hawaii (search wedhawaii on google) helped us plan the wedding. We chose the Maile Package and bought additional (traditional) leis from Linda B Flowers (search lina b flowers on google) in Honolulu. We could not have been more pleased with Weddings of Hawaii, Linda B Flowers, and the Park Shore Waikiki!

The Park Shore was clean, comfortable, and the employees were world class. The hotel is across from the ocean and beside Diamond Head. We originally booked a standard (no view room) and I upgraded to the ocean view room to surprise the misses. Our upgraded room had a view of Diamond Head and the ocean and was worth every dime! The view from the lanai was breath taking. The hotel is within walking distance to everything; the ocean, restaurants, park, and zoo.

The attached photos are all of the view from the lanai. I did not think to take photos of the room but they are as they appear in the hotel (professional) photos.

We will be back and we will stay with the Park Shore!

Room Tip: Choose ocean view. Ask for the diamond head and ocean view. You will NOT regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank icesurfer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Aloha icesurfere81,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay in your newly renovated Ocean View room, and all of the nearby attractions to our property. We look forward to having you return for an anniversary visit, and will ensure that you have another memorable stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    578
    150
    32
    9
See reviews for
379
717
91
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Location is great and definitely the high point. We were generally happy with the hotel on our recent three night stay. The only negative is the noise from the closing of other hotel room's doors. As there always seemed to be guests departing first thing in the morning the doors begin to slam at 6am. If you are a light sleeper you will also hear the garbage trucks at that time and will likely then be up for the day.

Also a warning on breakfast at Lulu's. It still feels like a bar in the morning. Suggest Wolfgang Puck Express next door at Aston where you can sit outside. Makes for a more peaceful morning.

On positives,: Our group had a diamond head suite and a one-bedroom suite. These were great rooms.

Also dinner at Japanese restaurant was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b0bbyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Aloha b0bbyhk,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, and that youi like the Suite rooms that you stayed in. I am sorry for the doors slamming early in the morning and the noise from the garbage truck. It seems that you were in Lulus on a Sunday morning during the NFL football games. Normally there is a quite breakfast atmosphere. We look forward to your return visit in the future, and will ensure that you have another nice stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was a great hotel for our first stay in Waikiki. From the time we checked in to the time we got on the shuttle to the airport, we were treated well by the friendly and helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again.

The location was fabulous. Right across from the beach and the park with the zoo. Great views of the water, the city and Diamond Head. We were there days before Christmas and Waikiki was overrun with people but I do think that the hotel is on the quieter end of the famous beach.
The hotel lobby is big and airy and there is a little area they’ve designated as the business center with a couple of computers but there is also free wifi throughout. The nice thing about the business center, though, was there was always ice water with citrus and juice available and there was coffee in the mornings.

The pool is open during daylight hours only and has a great view of the beach and Diamond Head. In a room just off the pool, there’s a couple of vending machines and a microwave guests can use. The pool is small but refreshing if you don’t want to be on the beach but you still want to enjoy the sun and some water.

The hotel is well maintained, I know it was just renovated but still, and staff seems to take pride in it. We were on an elevator with one of the maintenance guys and he asked how our stay was and seemed genuinely proud when we told him we were enjoying it. He thanked us and said they all work hard to make the place as comfortable as possible.

As has already been mentioned in other reviews, there are two restaurants (we did take-out from Lulu’s one night and ate in our room. It was very good food), two ABC Stores and a Starbucks more or less attached to the hotel. There is also a store with sandwiches, smoothies and other “picnic” type things called Tucker and Bevvy and a great hamburger place called Teddy’s Bigger Burgers (one building over, next to the second ABC Stores). If you’re new to Hawaii and you don’t know about ABC Stores, they’re ubiquitous in Waikiki! Really! More so than Starbucks on the mainland. Basically they’re a convenience store that sells snacks, drinks, sweets and a few drugstore items like band-aids and sunscreen but also has clothing and beach stuff like mats and floating devices. The prices are quite reasonable as well. Oh and did I mention... they are EVERYWHERE.

We checked in quite early because we were just off a cruise so our room wasn’t ready. Annie was checking us in and was very helpful. She saw to it that our luggage was safely stored and asked if we’d like to use the hospitality suite while we waited. We decided to look around Waikiki for a little bit so we declined. A little later we came back to see if our room was ready and when it wasn’t Crystal, who was at the front desk, offered the Hospitality suite again. She saw that we were wilting under the hot Waikiki sun and as she sent us up to the room, she also gave us some cold, jasmine-scented face clothes to cool us off. Crystal was around the other days we stayed at the hotel and was always cheerful and very helpful. She and Annie really helped set the tone for our stay.
Our room was ready a little early and we were able to get into it around 2:30 or 3pm. The room is not big but it was perfectly adequate for the two of us. The bathroom was a good size and the shower had very good water pressure. The balcony was very small but it had a nice view of the water to one side and the hotel next door and the city on the other side. There was a very good sized safe in the room that easily fit my Macbook and cameras and other valuables. There was also a mini fridge to keep cold drinks and snacks. The bed was very comfortable and the large flat-screen tv was on a wall mount to allow for a little more space in the room. We were on the 16th floor and we didn’t find it particularly noisy but I can imagine it might be on lower floors.

We have only two complaints about the Park Shore and they have to do with the room. They are minor but annoying nonetheless. First issue; there isn’t much place to hang things. Once you have a couple of towels, you’re hard pressed to find a place to hang your wet bathing suits and anything else. The second issue was a little more annoying and that is the room key cards don’t work very well. I know this is a wide spread issue, others have mentioned it here and we heard other guests complaining in the hotel as well. It took us four or five tries sometimes to get into our room. It didn’t detract from our stay but it might be something management should look into.

Just a few final thoughts… you can sign out beach towels from the front desk and return them by 8pm. We usually signed out a couple of towels in the morning and then swapped them out for fresh ones in the afternoon. The hospitality suite is fantastic, especially when you have a late night flight and nowhere else to go for several hours. Probably shouldn’t say this since there’s only one room and I wouldn’t want to have to share it the next time we go back. There’s a shower and tv and it opens on to the pool and you can get a towel if you want to go to the beach.

Thank you very much, Park Shore, for helping to make our first stay in Waikiki so wonderful. We’ll be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JnTTravelots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Aloha JnTTravelots,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice and detailed review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed our great location, the wonderful service professionals, and all of the amenities that our property offers. I will be sure to let Annie and Crystal know of your positive feedback. We are delighted that you will be returning again in the future and will ensure that you have nother pleasurable stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great hotel! Staff all super friendly, bright clean facility, fresh juice and coffee daily in lobby, bar fridge in room, microwave in pool area, free wifi, amazing views of waikiki beach and great pool! Can't ask for much more than this!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Aloha Emma L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed our great location and all of the amenities that the property offers, our superior service professionals, and the amazing views that we offer from our newly renovated guest rooms. We look forward to your return visit, and will ensure that you have another incredible stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scottt Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Park Shore for 9 nights and spent Xmas in Honolulu. The hotel is fantastic close to everything but at the quieter end of Waikiki. Stayed with Husband and 20 yr old daughter and
her best friend. Stayed in a Ocean Front 1 Bedroom Suite , perfect for us girls had lounge room with sofa bed and we had separate bedroom, Had 2 large screen tvs and Kitchen area with fridge and microwave and blender and crockery and 2 balcony's.
Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Will be staying here again on my daughters and my return trip in July.

Room Tip: Make sure you spend the extra and get and Ocean front room - the 1 Bedroom Suites are fantastic. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loz005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Aloha Loz005,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your newly renovated 1 Bedroom Ocean Front Suite, our great location in Waikiki, and our wonderful service professionals. We are delighted that you will be returning again in the future, and will ensure that you have another incredible stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We traveled to Hawaii in oct 2012 we stopped off in San Francisco to two nights on the way over. When we arrived in Honolulu it was incredible !! We arrived at the park shore to be greeted lovely we upgraded our room for free on the front desk and was given a much bigger room the partially over looked the sea but did have a great view! We were very worried and nervous about the hotel as we found out that there was lots of building work going on! Luckily this didn't effect us! The work men were working from the 15th floor upwards so occasionally we saw one of them but nothing was effected! Thank goodness!!! :) .........we done so much on our trip we visited pearl harbour which was amazing we went to the wet and wild water park that was great it was very quiet as it was not in peak season so there was no queues! I expect in the summer it would get very busy! We also hired a car and drove up to the north shore which was absolutely incredible! Words cannot describe it! It was also so quiet we were sat on the beach with only about 3 other people around us and no one was in the distance! We ended driving around the whole island which was a great experience!!! .......shopping!! ....the shopping is amazing!!! Make sure you have lots of money with you! There are lots of shops along the strip but there is also a shopping mall near by it will be in leaflets but unfortunately I cannot remember the name of it sorry! ...but you can catch the bus there and back and it will drop you outside the hotel which is good! .....food......food is lovely as you know it's a lot of burgers, chips, ribs and greasy food! But I did have the occasionally salad at a restaurant called chillis! I also recommend the Outback Steakhouse (the best steak you will ever taste!!!) I regret not writing this review sooner as I cannot remember half of what I wanted to tell you all!! .....but on the whole our trip to Hawaii was out of this world and would defenetly recommend!!! The park shore was also brilliant and has now been fully refurbished and looks great I would love to return back as the hotel was located at the end of the strip so you are away from all the busyness ....amazing hotel and people and WILL return again one day!!! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
AQloha Abi03,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your stay with us in October 2012. We have fully completed our renovation and hope that you are able to return again in the near future to see everything that was done. You will be amazed. We will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

What a great experience we're having at the Park Shore Hotel in Honolulu. Everyone at the front desk has been so kind and helpful. Close to bus stops and major attractions. Close to restaurants and shopping. Would we stay here again? In a heartbeat. What a way for my wife and I to celebrate my 60th birthday! The staff even remembered my special day. Mahalo! We'll be back!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donovan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Aloha Donovan F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay for your 60th birthday party, and that our great location and our superior service professionals had exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your return visit, and will ensure that you have another memorable stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,476 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Property: Park Shore Waikiki
Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. For the ultimate experience, select an Ocean view room that features breathtaking ocean views, or select a Diamond Head room for open views of the Diamond Head crater. All rooms have a private lanai. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Learn more about Park Shore Waikiki during our weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker in guestrooms for added convenience. Need to grab lunch or need some gifts for your family back home? Park Shore Waikiki offers an array of onsite shops and restaurant for your needs. Retail Shops ABC Store (6:00 am – 12:00 midnight) Hans Hedemann Surf School (8:00 am – 5:00 pm) Restaurants Lulu’s Restaurant (7:00 am – 10:30 am, 11:00 am – 2:00 am) Starbucks Coffee (4:00 am – 11:00 pm) Tucker & Bevvy (6:00 am – 7:30 pm) Yoshitsune Japanese Restaurant (Breakfast 6:00 am – 10:30 am Lunch 11:00 am – 2:30 pm) Dinner 5:30 am – 10:30 pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing