We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place to Stay in Honolulu”
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Shore Waikiki
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Central NJ
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Honolulu”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

If there is any better bargain in Honolulu, we didn’t find it, and we sure looked at many options. The hotel was recently renovated and it shows with a large almost open-air lobby that was attractive and welcoming; good size, clean rooms; and extras like free newspapers, coffee (in the room and in the lobby) and cold drinks. Better yet, it is a perfect location, being right across the street from Waikiki beach and around the corner from the main tourist street in Waikiki -- lots of shopping, souvenir stores, and, especially, restaurants. Maybe the best of all, though, were the staff, who genuinely appeared to enjoy their jobs and go out of their way to make guests feel welcome.

Although we booked the least expensive room for the pre-cruise stay, we were upgraded to an Ocean View room. It was better than we expected given the hotel’s location and cost. Better yet was our post-cruise stay when we booked an Ocean Front (not just ocean view) room. As we said above, we were especially pleased with the staff at the hotel, and Crystal deserves an extra pat on the back, and not just for upgrading us to the Diamond Head Suite (although that would have been enough for us to rave about her). The suite was clean and spacious, with a balcony facing Diamond Head with no tall buildings between us and it, a couch and table, chairs, plenty of closet space, and a small kitchen with a microwave, refrigerator, sink, plates, utensils, and more. The only downside? It was TOUGH to leave to go home!

Room Tip: One of the few hotels we saw that offer Ocean Front, a far better deal than the common Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geekguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Aloha Geekguy1,

Thank you for taking trhe time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our perfect location, your newly renovated Ocean View and Diamond Head Suite rooms, and our Superior Service Professionals. I will be certain to let Crystal know of your positive feedback. We look forward to your return visit, and will ensure that you have another outstanding stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    548
    146
    28
    8
See reviews for
343
688
89
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
329 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed here for a week and it was great. We loved the location as it is away from the noise of "downtown" Waikiki, but still so close. There are ABC shops, a Starbucks, a cafeteria, a restaurant/bar and more places close by. We stayed in a suite with views of Diamond Head and the ocean. Beautiful!! Every night we would watch the sunset from the balcony. The suite has a sofa, a little kitchen, 2 cupboards (ideal to put the suitcases in) and a very comfortable kingsize bed. The bus stop is just outside the hotel.
We got invited for drinks on the Wednesday afternoon in the pool area and met the Scott, the manager. Nice touch!! The staff is also a great asset to the Park Shore as they are all so friendly, knowledgeable and always trying to please you!
The only thing we didn't like was the homeless people hanging around in the area, but we realize that is has nothing to do with the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Qcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Aloha Qcruiser,

Thank you for takling the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed your newly renovated Diamond Head Suite with the views of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Haed, All of the outstanding amenities that are on our property, and the incredible service professionals. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future, and will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
130 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The location for us was everything, cause we were running the Honolulu Marathon. This hotel is just by the finish line and in front of the spot were the buses leave in the early morning to drop runners to the start line. And it is right on Waikiki!
For the rest we were really satisfied of service, room and staff. The pool looked quite modest. THhe small cafeteria downstairs is just great for sandwiches, muffins and smoothies. Highly recommended .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannythyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Aloha Dannythyboy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed our great location and also the great service you recived during your stay. We look forward to your return visit, and will ensure that you have another sucessful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is well located. Closed to the beach. Easy walk to all entertainment. The staff is really friendly. I arrived really late but Nick welcome me with a great smile. When I asked him about a room upgrade he told me that was too late but that I should check back the next morning. Next morning, I went back to the reception and Jara told me that Nick told her about me. She upgraded me to a partial ocean view. The view was wonderful. Lanai was facing building but second window was full ocean view so nothing to complain about it. I will definitely stay at the Park Shore again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Corinne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Aloha Corinne L,

Thak you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Parkl Shore Waikiki. I am happy that you enjoyed your upgraded Partial Ocean View room, our incredible service professionals, and our excellent location. I will be sure to let Nick and Jara know of your positive feedback. We look forward to your return visit, and will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were very leary of changing hotels but we took a chance. From check in to check out everyone we came in contact with was friendly and smiling. We had the best view ever of the ocean and diamond head. The room was comfortable and clean. The location is perfect, within steps of starbucks, lulus and Tucker & Bevs, (we had many of our meals there) from smoothies, wraps, breakfast sandwiches, etc.
The one and only negitive note is the homeless in front of Starbucks, but that is not the hotel's fault. We would highly recommend this hotel. It will be the only place we stay from now on.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room with a full view of the ocean and diamond head. We were celebrating and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacki g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Aloha jacki g,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you decided to relocate to our property and that you enjoyed your newly renovated Ocean View guest room, all of the incredible restaurants that are located on property, and our wonderful and friendly service professionals. I am very excited that you will be returning again in the future, and will ensure that you have another memorable stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Chose the Park Shore from all the Trip Advisor reviews and were glad we did! Had a wonderful view of both Diamond Head and the ocean! The lanai was perfect to enjoy the sunrise and sunset. Rooms were perfect even though we were disappointed the last morning when there was no coffee in our room - went to the front desk and I guess they were out of the packets but he went in the back and got us fresh grounds. The concierge was wonderful and planned out our whole stay for us - very convenient to sit there with her, plan it, pay for it and get our tickets all at the same time. We will definitely be back (hopefully).

Room Tip: definitely get a room with both view of Diamond Head and the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly_C_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Aloha Holly_C_2011,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean from your guest room. I apologize for not having replenished your coffee packets in your guest room, and not having them available at the Front Desk for you. We have resolved that issue. Thank you for letting me know. We look forward to your return visit in the future, and will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Great location, located at the end of the busy strip, opposite the Zoo which is quite handy. There is a Bus stop outside the hotel, so easy access to transport. And there is a Starbucks at the corner of the street. Overall, we were happy with our 2 night stay. The room was quite small, no extra furniture for sitting or to have a meal. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NattralG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Aloha NattralG,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our great location that offers easy access in and out of Waikiki, and the nearby surrounding amenities that the property offers. I am excited that you will be returning again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another enjoyable stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Property: Park Shore Waikiki
Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. For the ultimate experience, select an Ocean view room that features breathtaking ocean views, or select a Diamond Head room for open views of the Diamond Head crater. All rooms have a private lanai. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Learn more about Park Shore Waikiki during our weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker in guestrooms for added convenience. Need to grab lunch or need some gifts for your family back home? Park Shore Waikiki offers an array of onsite shops and restaurant for your needs. Retail Shops ABC Store (6:00 am – 12:00 midnight) Hans Hedemann Surf School (8:00 am – 5:00 pm) Restaurants Lulu’s Restaurant (7:00 am – 10:30 am, 11:00 am – 2:00 am) Starbucks Coffee (4:00 am – 11:00 pm) Tucker & Bevvy (6:00 am – 7:30 pm) Yoshitsune Japanese Restaurant (Breakfast 6:00 am – 10:30 am Lunch 11:00 am – 2:30 pm) Dinner 5:30 am – 10:30 pm) Renovation Park Shore Waikiki will undergo spalling renovation from March 21, 2017 thru May 22, 2017. Renovation will take place Monday through Friday and major work will and noise will start on 4/4. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing