We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Shore Waikiki
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Upon arrival you're presented with a pleasant lobby. Whilst the corridors are a little dated, the rooms are modern and tidy. The hotel is in two wings. One is 12 stories high and the other is 18 stories high. The smaller block has room access along an open pathway whilst the taller block has an internal corridor.
Hotel wifi is easy to access and the standard speed was fast enough for my smartphone and iPad.
Expedia desk staff were very helpful and seemed to genuinely want you to get the best deal. Shout out to Stephanie who was wonderful to deal with.
Reception staff were efficient and helpful, especially Crystal who helped us choose a great room.
A nice touch is the iced water and tropical punch available in the lobby during the day.
The hotel is right at the end of the Waikiki strip and overlooks Honalulu Zoo. It has an open feel to it because of this and is quieter but you are further away from the main shopping area (An easy 15 minute walk). The beaches at this end are less crowded and you are right across the street from the lagoon and the pier, and have great access to Kapiolani Park.
The rooms are quiet with the balcony slider shut, we tried sleeping with the slider open once but utility trucks through the night and late night/early morning buses at the stop immediately outside the hotel made for an interrupted nights sleep. The bed was very comfortable. The air conditioner was a little noisy and intrusive which was more noticeable at night.
Buses to Diamond Head could be caught right outside the hotel, and buses to Ala Moana were a few minutes walk away on Kuhio.
An issue with housekeeping was more than satisfactorily resolved and management seem very approachable and keen to ensure you have a good stay.

Room Tip: Diamond Head view rooms still have some beach view, balconies get morning sun but lose it in the aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hekenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Aloha Hekenga,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our great location, our newly renovated rooms, and the exceptional service professionals. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and will ensure that you have another memorable stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    439
    110
    19
    5
See reviews for
263
543
72
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is the first hotel we visited on our two week honeymoon and we really enjoyed our three-night stay. The location is great directly across from the beach. We were treated to an upgrade (paid for standard, got a partial ocean view room) because it was our honeymoon--THANKS, Park Shore! To us, there was nothing partial about our ocean view, though! The window looked directly at the ocean and we were so happy.

This place is a great place to stay and we would love to visit again. We also loved LuLu's for breakfast (Tip: Their portions are huge so just get one meal and split it with someone to have a very reasonably priced breakfast).

Room Tip: Choose a high floor. If you are looking for a view (rather than just a standard room) I think that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Aloha TravelyTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki and choosing our property for your honeymoon. I am glad that you enjoyed our great location across from the beach, your newly renovated Partial Ocean View room, and our three meal restaurant and lounge, Lulus Waikiki. We look forward to having you return again in the future for an anniversary visit, and will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I usually stay at Hiltons, sheratons, etc. I stayed here because others were full or prices were jacked up too high for week I wanted to stay. This hotel was $100-200/day less. The rooms were fine. Location convenient and was the restaurant/bar next door but connected thru hotel. The desk staff were very good & prompt for check-in/out & printing boarding pass for plane. The hotel rates make staying extra days easy.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra cost for ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattlebiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Aloha Seattlebiz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you had decided to stay with us over our larger competitors, and that you enjoyed our exceptional location, the very friendly service professionals, and our newly renovated rooms. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future, and will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Ideal location for shops, beach and restaurants. Friendly service, clean comfortable rooms, small but adequate. Reasonable valet parking, close enough to the main drag with out the noise. Starbucks next door opens at 4:30am great for breakfast! Good value.

Room Tip: Recommend ocean view room above 8th floor facing zoo, angled view of shore but lanai is shaded from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nsranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Aloha nsranger,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed our incredible location, the very friendly service professionals, and our clean and comfortable guest rooms. We look forward to your return visit, and will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in room 509 for five nights. I was very disappointed by the location of the room. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and I had really hoped for an ocean view. We had a peek-a-boo view of the ocean through the trees and a lovely view of Diamond Head and the pool neither of which we were excited about. We visit the Rocky Mountains frequently so Diamond Head was not particularly interesting for us. Having said that, the hotel itself is a great place to stay and having read the reviews I know that lots of people are lucky enough to get an upgrade to an ocean view room on a higher floor that is not obscured by the trees. Our room itself was lovely, everything was new, very clean, and we enjoyed our stay there. We would definitely stay there again if we could have a room on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Higher floors with ocean views not obscured by the palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Aloha Janice M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed your overall stay, and I am sorry that you wanted a higher floor. Please reach out to me prior to your next visit, and I will be happy to assist you with this, and ensure that you have an even better stay next time.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissenbrück, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our first stay at the Park Shore in 2012 was a desaster. Nevertheless we decided to give them a second chance one year later after the renovation and that was very good idea. The hotel was very clean. Our room on the 18th floor was very nice and had a great view. It was an oceanview room facing Diamond Head. The location of the hotel is unbeatable. Waikiki Beach is just across the street. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Dear Mr. Pauly, thank you for your generous offer. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruediger-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Aloha Ruediger-Germany,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am so glad that you enjoyed your return visit, and that you found the renovated hotel to meet your expectations. We hope to see you for many years to come and appreciate the chance to make up for your last stay with us. We will ensure that you continue to have incredible stays with us in the future.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed for for 7 nights, and had the BEST ROOM on the 16th floor! Our view was great and we woke up every morning at 6 am to see the sunrise and views of Diamond Head and the ocean! We went boarding almost every day before 7am. Being so close to the beach made this great! Yes there area few homeless/house less folks nearby on the corner, but they were actually pretty friendly, and you do find several along the main drag of Waikiki, just FYI. Park Shore staff was pretty great, and helpful. The sushi restaurant is very good, although more traditional than your usual sushi joints, so be prepared for a more authentic experience. Lu Lu's is a great place to go with good steaks and a mean Ahi Poke appetizer, great for watching games at ANY time of day, yes even early in the morning! Two ABC stores nearby for snacks, and fair priced general souvenirs and beach needs. I will admit we did NOT want to leave, and we will come back to the Park Shore, hopefully sooner than later!

Room Tip: Get an Oceanfront room if you want the best view, and to be a bit higher away from night time noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Aloha knice,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed the unbelievable views of the Pacific Ocean from your guest room, the excellent nearby amenities, and the very friendly service professionals. We look forward to having to return again very soon, and will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,593 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,250 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,550 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Property: Park Shore Waikiki
Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. For the ultimate experience, select an Ocean view room that features breathtaking ocean views, or select a Diamond Head room for open views of the Diamond Head crater. All rooms have a private lanai. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker in guestrooms for added convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing