We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location away from the Masses”
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Shore Waikiki
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location away from the Masses”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Park Shore for four nights in mid September. When we originally booked this hotel we wanted a location away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. We found that this hotel located at the end of the strip was perfect for us. We did not want to spend our vacation shopping on the strip and rented a car to get around the island. We were able to jump in the car and head out exploring with minimal traffic to and from the hotel.

A few words about the staff. We have stayed at five star hotels that did not provide the level of customer service that we received from the staff at Park Shore. The front desk was helpful, professional, kind and courteous. They asked how we were enjoying our stay, made recommendations and provided directions when they saw us trying to navigate a map. The valet service was fantastic, I am a smoker and I always kid my husband when we valet park that I have plenty of time to smoke because it will take forever to get the car anyway, but this was not the case at the Park Shore. These guys were on it! We waited an average of 2-3 minutes to get our car EVERY time. The cost of Parking was $22 a day but after driving all over Oahu, I can tell you that cost is a bargain. We parked at the Sheraton Waikiki one night for a catamaran cruise we were taking and it cost $20 for 4.5 hours! The housekeeping staff was exceptional. Everything was clean and replenished daily and always without interrupting us. The one suggestion I would make here is that in the room there is a card saying if you hang up your towels you will reuse them, if they are on the floor they will be replaced. I expected the same type of notice in regards to bed linens, but did not find one. I don't need my bed linens changed everyday and would like to see that option as well. They have an activities desk in the lobby (this might be expedia) and they were very helpful booking us last minute tickets to the Paradise Cove luau. The Luau did not have any front row seating left, but the activities director requested they bump us up if they had a cancellation. When we got there we were seated in the front row! Fantastic! I give kudos to this team for helping to making our stay wonderful. I work in the property management industry (managing apartment communities) and if anyone of the staff members at the Park Shore wanted a job on the mainland they could call me!

Room Tip: We had a corner unit and had two large windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pirate_looks_at_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Aloha pirate_looks_at_30,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our great location and the outstanding service professionals. It seems the Towel Card is missing in your room, and we will need to replace it. We do offer this on the towel rack for each room. Our standard Housekeeping service for changing sheets is every third day, but we will change sheets daily based upon request. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future, and will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    564
    148
    31
    8
See reviews for
360
702
91
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel about a year and a half ago and it was awesome. This time around everything was great too, but we had a bit of a mix up with our booking. We reserved an oceanfront room (probably one of the best rooms on the strip for the price) and got a suite instead. The suite was VERY nice, but not an ocean front view. When we called the front desk to ask for a downgrade back to our original booking we got put in a corner room which, while still technically ocean front, was facing diamond head. Still haf an absolutely awesome view, but it wasn't as great as our room last year.

Still, if you want a nice hotel for a good price, Park Shore is a safe choice!

Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Aloha John R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am sorry that we were not able to have an Ocean Front room in our Shore Tower. The Park Tower Ocean Front rooms do offer incredible views as well. Please let us know in advance that you would like to have your room in the Shore Tower, and we will do our best to accomodate you. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future, and will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here as a part of our honeymoon to Hawaii in April 2013. This hotel is value for money when it comes to location, clean rooms and friendly staff. If you choose Park Shore you are not expecting a standard as some of the more premium hotels but the hotel delivers very well in its segment. Location wise its right there close to Waikiki with close proximity to Diamond head and the more "relaxed" eastern part of the famous beach. I would reccomend Park Shore to everyone that needs a clean and nice place to stay but does not want to spend to much money to be on Waikiki.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigasstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Aloha bigasstraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your last with us last April. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our incredible location, the clean and comfortable rooms, and our excellent and friendly service professionals. We appreciate you recommending our property and look forward to having you stay with us again. We will ensure that you have another memorable stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked two nights (Sept. 6 & 7) in a 'Standard Room, Ocean View' with the preference of a king bed through hotels.com for about $250/nt including taxes. The front desk initially put us in a king room on the 10th floor but it was too close to the wing facing the ocean. We couldn't see diamond head and the room/lanai was just feet away from a room/lanai on the other wing.

We went down to the front desk and asked to be moved makai (closer to the ocean) and they gave us keys to a king room on the 8th floor that had an amazing view of diamond head and felt more private. We moved our bags to the new room and dropped off the keys to the first room. Both people who helped us at the front desk were very helpful.

The room was very clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows were not too firm or soft for us. All linens were decent quality. I found the electronic thermostat easy to use and it automatically shut off when the sliding glass door was open.

We used the valet and they were all very friendly. We were told to just show up at the valet stand when needing our car. No call prior necessary and they were very quick all three times we needed our car. Make sure to give them an idea how long it will be before you need your car if you can to speed up the process.

It was nice to have the lemon water and pog in the lobby. There's a simple sign-out sheet for beach towels at the front desk. People sometimes leave boogie boards and floats near the elevator when checking out.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms makai (closer to the ocean) are more private and have a better view of diamond head...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Aloha shaka_rick,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that we found you the Ocean View room that you enjoyed, and that you found our service professionals to be very friendly and helpful. We look forward to your return visit, and will ensure that you have another outstanding stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Park Shore for our honeymoon. Upon check-in we were told that we had been upgraded from Ocean front view to ocean and Diamond Head view. When we got to the room we discovered it was a handicap accessible room, no bath tub, wheelchair accessible shower. Room was very small and I was terribly disappointed. My husband suggested we call the desk and ask for a different room. They wete, thankfully, very accomodating. They moved us to a lovely room on the 17th floor. We had a view of the ocean and Diamond Head. The pool at the hotel was treat! We ate a couple of times at Lulu's which is on the 2nd floor and the food was great. The location of the hotel is awesome. Right across the street from the zoo, right around the corner from Starbucks, and right across the street from Waikiki. Great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ledeana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Aloha Ledeana H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am sorry about the first room that was assisgned to you, but glad to hear that we have fixed that right away. I am happy that you did enjoy the views from your 2nd room, our great location, and the Pool Deck. Lulus Waikiki does a great job and it is nice to hear the postive comments on your experience with them. We look forward to having you return again in the future, especially for an anniversary celebration. We will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked an ocean front room for our 10yr wedding anniversary during the first week of September. We had a late check in and were very tired from the flight. To our surprise the lady working front desk knew it was our anniversary and upgraded us to a suite! It was large, clean and very comfortable, we didn't realize how spectacular the view would be until the sunrise that morning. It was breathtaking! Our room was 1811 and we highly recommend booking this suite. You have unobstructed views of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach! So calming and relaxing! Lovely to sleep with the balcony open to hear the ocean waves. The service at the Park Shore is fabulous, everyone is very helpful and always happy! I've been fortunate to have been to Hawaii several times before but this was my first time at the Park Shore and can honestly say it was the best hotel with great service that I have experienced there. Everything was perfect and so very memorable. We will defiantly be back!

Room Tip: It you can request a room on the top floors of either building. The suite 1811 is beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank attagirl_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Aloha Attagrl_007,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you chose our property for your 10th anniversary, and happy to hear that you enjoyed your upgraded Diamond Head Suite, and the beautiful views that it offers. Thank you for the positive comments regarding our incredible service professionals. We look forward to having you stay with again in the future, and will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I can't speak highly enough of the Park shore Waikiki, It is such a friendly and well run Hotel and I would recommend it to anyone for location,cleanliness and staff friendliness as well as the quality of the room itself. PS We have been to Waikiki 5 times and this is my favorite Hotel. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: First Choice of Room would be Diamond Head/Partial Ocean View followed by Partial Ocean view (on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Aloha Terrence B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed our great location, your newly renovated guest room, and our incredibly friendly staff. We are delighted that we will be your hotel of choice in the future, and will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,461 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,878 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Property: Park Shore Waikiki
Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. For the ultimate experience, select an Ocean view room that features breathtaking ocean views, or select a Diamond Head room for open views of the Diamond Head crater. All rooms have a private lanai. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Learn more about Park Shore Waikiki during our weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker in guestrooms for added convenience. Need to grab lunch or need some gifts for your family back home? Park Shore Waikiki offers an array of onsite shops and restaurant for your needs. Retail Shops ABC Store (6:00 am – 12:00 midnight) Hans Hedemann Surf School (8:00 am – 5:00 pm) Restaurants Lulu’s Restaurant (7:00 am – 10:30 am, 11:00 am – 2:00 am) Starbucks Coffee (4:00 am – 11:00 pm) Tucker & Bevvy (6:00 am – 7:30 pm) Yoshitsune Japanese Restaurant (Breakfast 6:00 am – 10:30 am Lunch 11:00 am – 2:30 pm) Dinner 5:30 am – 10:30 pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing