We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach across the road”
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Shore Waikiki
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
North
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beach across the road”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Liked the location of Park Shore. Close to beach and a much quieter location than other places in Waikiki we have stayed in. Pink Line trolleys stop just around the corner for shopping. Nice pool area but hours could be longer and closes at sunset. Rooms very nicely remodelled.

Room Tip: We had room 614 but some rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cafekiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Aloha Cafekiwis,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed our great location, your newly renovated guest room, and our close proximity to the Pacific Ocean accross the street. We will certainly look into extending the Pool Hours. We look forward to your return visit, and will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    565
    148
    31
    8
See reviews for
362
703
91
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was supposed to go last December/2012, but cancelled when I found out they were in the middle of remodeling. The hotel is in a great location and the housecleaning staff was great. Front desk staff was hit or miss, because when I had problems I didn't get to speak with the manager, even though I requested to. I was there for an extended stay each time and loved the restaurant Lulu's downstairs. The Diamondhead view is outstanding and the beach out front is the best in Waikiki. My last visit was March 2011, but it didn't give me the option for that date.

Room Tip: The Diamondhead suites are the best, but also the most expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Aloha Wendy G,

Than you for taking the time to write a review regarding your previous stays. I know that you will be very impressed with the renovation work that we have completed. I am sorry to hear that you had some issues on previous stays with us. Our Guest Services staff are exceptional and I am confident that you will notice a big improvement from previous years. Please reach out to me when you decide to make reservations. We will ensure that you have a great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

So we stayed at this place with very high hopes since we were spending high $s! Nick at the front desk was very nice and confirmed that we would get the roll-away bed that we had originally asked for. Then they called us and told us that they couldn't give us the extra bed and one of us was forced to have a not-so-restful night. When he went downstairs to hang in the lobby at 3 AM because he wasn't able to get a good night sleep given the change in plans forced upon us, he was confronted by scary big guys who stood around to intimidate him. We asked for a refund for the second night and all the nice PR person could do was to give us a very small fraction of our money back. Great location, but service is poor and I think I'll just go to the big island next time and not be squeezed out of every penny because there are 5,000 other tourists competing for my same accommodations!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the ocean (most rooms have it anyway!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reuben Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Aloha Reuben Z,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor posting. David and I had numerous conversations with you regarding the harassment claim in our Lobby. There was never a discussion of not getting a rollaway bed as requested and disappointed that you brought it up after the fact. We had spoken with you after we reviewed the entire camera tape of your travel partner who was sleeping on the sofa in our Lobby, and at no time while he was sleeping on the sofa did any of our staff ever approach him at the sofa, and more importantly hover over him like thugs. These comments are completely false, and unfounded. We did offer you to remove your 3rd party charge of a gesture of goodwill, and feel that we did not do anything wrong to even offer compensatioin. Our Night Auditor had addressed him from his position behind the Front Desk and only asked him to not sleep in the Lobby. He never left his post. This is not the presentation that we want to have in our Lobby towards our other guests.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

So happy that this hotel accommodates the "locals" who have stayed here pre renovation. The price remained reasonable and they did not impose a minimum night stay. We like staying here during the Okinawa Festival because of the proximity to the fair site. While the renovations were going on my thoughts were that the prices would be "jacked" out of local people's range.
Pleasantly surprised that price was reasonable, staff was cordial as usual and the room was fabulous! Room was nicely done, very clean and while still small it didn't seemed cramped.

Hope to stay there again!

Room Tip: We got upgraded to ocean view which was really nice. Got to look at beautiful Waikiki beach and kick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takako808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Aloha Takako808,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed your newly renovated Ocean View room, and our incredible service professionals. We are excited to have you return each year for the Okinawan Festival, and hopefully a few more times in between. We will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Everything was good about this hotel-remodelled,clean,good staff,comfortable.i had booked this hotel through the manager of Flight Centre Manakau,Esther Paparoa who always over past ten years took care of me and gave me the best advice-so when she booked this hotel for me it was all good.

Room Tip: We had partial ocean view which was pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Aloha Abey A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated property and our outstanding service professionals. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future, and will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I wish I could give the Park Shore 4 stars, it's really convenient and the staff were pleasant. What was unpleasant was our key, which never really worked without 8-10 swipes even after we rekeyed it, and our balcony door which took a lot of jiggling to get to stay closed. Nice pool. The onsite restaurants were good (we really liked the calamari at Lulu's). Overall a good value and we would give them a second try.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thornsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha thornsolo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stayt at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed our great location, our beautiful Pool Deck, and our fablous on site restaurants. I am very sorry to hear about the trouble you had with your key card door lock and your lanai door. If you could please let us know which room you had stayed in, and we can resolve it right away. We had just replaced our door locks, and normally do not have any issues with them. I am glad that you will be returning again in the future, and we will ensure that you have a very nice stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at the Park Shore Hotel for 5 days. The location is great across the street from the Honolulu Zoo and 1/2 block from the Beach. The hotel itself is very clean and has been remodeled. I stayed on the 6th Floor, my room had a large screen t.v., 2 double beds, safe, mini refrigerator,balcony and full bathroom and was nicely decorated. The perks of the hotel is you get a free news paper daily, free wi-fi, you can request towels to utilize for the beach/or pool at the front desk and beach chairs. The pool is on the 3rd floor and is very clean and is not crowded, you can overlook the beach from the pool area which is a nice scene. You have a local Starbucks, ABC stores and new health food cafe next door which has healthy juices, gelato, sandwiches, hummus, etc for really reasonable prices for the location. Valet parking is good, you may come and go it is $22 a day. The freeway is a few blocks away from the hotel should you want to venture out. Another advantage is there are no resort fees. Many of the hotels in the area charge resort fees, but Park Shore does not. Also there is less noise in the location of the hotel, compared to other hotels on the strip and down the block. My daughter and I enjoyed the hotel and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Starrnval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha Starrnval,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki, I am glad that you enjoyed your newly renovated room, our superior location, and the outstanding amenities that are offered in our building. We certainly appreciate the recommendations, and look forward to having you stay with us again. We will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,463 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,878 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Property: Park Shore Waikiki
Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. For the ultimate experience, select an Ocean view room that features breathtaking ocean views, or select a Diamond Head room for open views of the Diamond Head crater. All rooms have a private lanai. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Learn more about Park Shore Waikiki during our weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker in guestrooms for added convenience. Need to grab lunch or need some gifts for your family back home? Park Shore Waikiki offers an array of onsite shops and restaurant for your needs. Retail Shops ABC Store (6:00 am – 12:00 midnight) Hans Hedemann Surf School (8:00 am – 5:00 pm) Restaurants Lulu’s Restaurant (7:00 am – 10:30 am, 11:00 am – 2:00 am) Starbucks Coffee (4:00 am – 11:00 pm) Tucker & Bevvy (6:00 am – 7:30 pm) Yoshitsune Japanese Restaurant (Breakfast 6:00 am – 10:30 am Lunch 11:00 am – 2:30 pm) Dinner 5:30 am – 10:30 pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing