We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Oahu”

Island Magic Catamaran
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Island Magic Catamaran offers fun and safe sailing tours off the coast of Waikiki. Our cruises include a Snorkel Sail, where we typically find Hawaiian Green Sea Turtles and loads of Hawaiian tropical reef fish to swim with; a Sunset Sail, where you can enjoy the epic sunsets off Waikiki that we experience here nightly; and a Friday Fireworks cruise that offers a unique view of the weekly fireworks show the Hilton Waikiki sponsors. We are also available for Private Charters where you and your party can have sole access to the boat to go snorkel, swim & sail. Come enjoy the ride with us on Island Magic Catamaran!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First trip to Oahu”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We bought a groupon for this excursion and really enjoyed the ride. The water was calm and the weather was perfect the day we went. They really do go out of their way to make sure you experience ocean life. Husband got to hold a star fish and swim with sea turtles! So jealous I missed out as I had to sit on the boat with our little one. After the snorkling, captain Steve sailed around until we caught up with a mamma and baby whale (spectacular) and dolphins that were actually showing off for us. This catamaran is not as advertised as some of the other ones, but I would recommend Island Magic. Nice little boat with friendly crew.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HeartsNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    28
    3
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fun Snorkel lots of Turtles!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A very basic snorkel cruise, short 15 minutes to the snorkel spot, you are then giving a snorkel and mask but no fins, the location is filled with lots of fish and turtles and is called a cleansing station as the fish clean the turtles of anything attached to them. We took the morning cruise and had plenty of time in the water. Soda and Water are $1.00 and there is no lunch or breakfast but your price is very low compared to other snorkel trips, we paid only $32.00 per person with a groupon coupon. They also take pictures and video of the entire cruise and post them on Facebook for free, by liking them you can tag all of your pictures and download them for free. If you do not want anything fancy and at a great price this is a great snorkel cruise.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank koleary89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, NC
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We looked at various snorkeling adventures before seeing a Groupon for this one. So great and I would definitely pay full price for it next time!

The parking meter is terrible though (not including this in rating or anything just want people to know!) It's rusty and old and you have to roll up dollar bills to pay. We apparently put ours in a wrong slot (even though we were the ONLY slot 27)... got a $40 parking ticket so BE CAREFUL you choose the CORRECT METER. We chose the one directly across from our parking slot. Apparently the correct one is down the row at the end. Who knew?

Back to tour. Fantastic captain. Very funny and knowledgeable but safety first. The tour was great and Turtle Canyon was cool. Not too full of a cruise so room to spread out and everyone was friendly. The only bad thing was when another group from a boat came over. I got knocked out of the way and dunked when a turtle came by these other guys. So rude!! Again, not Island's fault.

We were out there for quite a while. Loved every minute!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingGirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A Real Treat!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Since I was going to be visiting family in Honolulu for a week, I decided to check out the Groupons to see what was available. When I came upon the snorkling cruise, I thhought "why not"? It was a blast! Crash and Chris were friendly, funny, but most importantly, professional. They are there to have fun and to ensure all the passengers have a good time, but safety was a key factor behind all of it. That's what I was really impressed with. They were both super patient with anyone who had concerns with their swimming ability and with the children on board. Chris was able to show us quite a few turtles and let us hold an octopus if we wanted. They are both super knowledgeable and talk some great story! Stephen (the owner) should be stoked to have two really great people working for him and really taking care of us. Mahalo guys!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hbgirl-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WHAT A GREAT ADVENTURE!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went on a morning snorkel tour to Turtle Canyon. Our captain was Stephen and his assistant was Chris. They took us snorkeling with the sea turtles and Chris found an octopus and showed the group. They then sailed alongside of the dolphins and we were able to see the HUMPBACK whales. It was an awesome adventure and the guys were great. I would definitely book this trip again if I go to Honolulu.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mariweidner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Magic Catamaran also viewed

 

Been to Island Magic Catamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing