We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Island Magic Catamaran
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Island Magic Catamaran offers fun and safe sailing tours off the coast of Waikiki. Our cruises include a Snorkel Sail, where we typically find Hawaiian Green Sea Turtles and loads of Hawaiian tropical reef fish to swim with; a Sunset Sail, where you can enjoy the epic sunsets off Waikiki that we experience here nightly; and a Friday Fireworks cruise that offers a unique view of the weekly fireworks show the Hilton Waikiki sponsors. We are also available for Private Charters where you and your party can have sole access to the boat to go snorkel, swim & sail. Come enjoy the ride with us on Island Magic Catamaran!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Staff was very helpful, and diverted to let us see some whales. Very fun, got to swim with turtles, and got to hold an octopus.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tatecub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    28
    3
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent Island, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a fun snorkeling trip! We had a groupon, the guys are laid back and honest. They can't promise anything but seeing turtles, however just swimming with the turtles would be worth it! They take pictures underwater and above so it's great to go back and look at the memories.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunset Cruise”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had booked a 4 person Sunset cruise from Australia before we left through Groupon Honolulu. We emailed them to make a booking and had prompt replies with detailed instructions on where to find them.

On the day Apple Maps steered us wrong and we were running late. We rang them and left a message to say we were on the way. They rang us back to confirm and held the boat for us which was just lovely of them. The crew was wonderful, friendly and helpful. There are cans of coke on board you can purchase for $1 on an honour system.

The crew take photos of you during the cruise (if you want) and post them to Facebook where you can tag yourself to share them. The views were magnificent and even the bit of rain didn't ruin it for us.

The Captain even let the girls steer the boat which they thought was great.

A really lovely night, thanks

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank skyerow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Snorkel trip.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was a great snorkel trip. We really enjoyed seeing the fish and turtles, even seen some spinner dolphins!
The crew has very friendly and helpful. We took our 2 kids, 13 and 9, and they both really enjoyed it also.

Helpful?
Thank Ryanhannahella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Laid back, but top-notch gear used”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I did the morning snorkel cruise to Turtle Canyon. I used a Groupon promotion which was $32 for an adult. Look for the catamaran with the pink sails. Check-in was at around 9:15 am. The boat leaves the harbor at 9:30 am and gets to the snorkel spot by 10 or 10:15 am. You snorkel until about 11:30 am. You're back on the dock at 12:00 pm. During whale season, if a whale is spotted (or even dolphins), they will detour so you can get a closer look.

I echo all the reviews that say this is a laid back operation. The captain does a roll call before heading out, then gives a brief safety orientation and instruction on using the equipment. I was surprised at the quality of the gear they used. There were two other snorkel boats that joined us within a half hour of our boat mooring, and those folks had much lesser quality gear. Island Magic provided dry-snorkels that purged easily with just a slight puff of air. I actually didn't use their gear since I had my own. However, my snorkel was the exact same brand, but Island Magic's was a model one step below the model I had.

The captain made it a point to mention that their boat is the first to arrive at the snorkel spot. That makes it less hectic when you get in. I was glad of this because it became a sea of flippers in your face once the snorkelers from the other boats joined in.

There is no shade, no bathroom facilities and no fresh water rinse on board.

I believe Island Magic Catamaran will give repeat customers (or as they say, "repeat offenders") discounted rates on their other cruises as well as for the same cruise you took. I believe they will honor this even on future return visits to Honolulu.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bay_Arean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Magic Catamaran also viewed

 

Been to Island Magic Catamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing