We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service in a quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We don't particularly like Waikiki. We stayed one night on our way to Kauai. I knew of the Ilikai from when I lived on Oahu. It was quiet and we slept well. The service is what impressed me most. From the porter to the front desk to the concierge, we were well taken care of.

We got a very good deal by booking a mountain-view 2-bedroom suite with the 60-day advance purchase option on the hotel's website. Their price for a 2-bedroom suite was far less expensive than anything else I found. We had great views from our two balconies on the 43th floor and could even see the harbor by Ala Moana Park. The kitchen had no stove, but it had a microwave. We weren't planning on cooking, but we did have adequate dishes for breakfast. There were two televisions--one in the living room and one in the master bedroom. The dining room table had seating for six. On the down side, the wall of the guest bedroom is composed of sliding panels. It is not sound proof and may not offer the privacy that one would want.

Had we stayed longer, we would have walked the 10 minutes to Ala Moana shopping center. To get to the far end of Waikiki (e.g., where St. Augustine's Catholic Church is), allow at least 30 minutes by foot.

We received coupons for free pancakes at the restaurant, which we didn't use. We did go into the Kona Mountain Coffee shop on site, where they let us sample their coffee for free.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BornTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,729 - 1,735 of 2,213 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2011

Our family stayed at the Ilikai from August 16-23, 2010. We rented a private condo thru VRBO, room 1843. We absolutely loved it! The Ilikai hotel itself, I felt, was well maintained and very clean. The lobby and grounds were always spotless. Everyone there was very helpful.

The condo was perfect for our family. There are 5 of us, plus 1 friend. The lanai views are heavenly! We had two lanais with great panoramic views. The perfect spot to sit any time of day. Even at night, I would keep the blinds up just to look at the city lights. Sunsets are awesome, every night it was a different look. Friday night fireworks were great! The location is wonderful. We loved taking long walks into Waikiki in the evening, get something to eat and walking back via beach path. We actually never used the pool. The lagoon was a huge hit for our 11 year old. Plus, the ocean is right there.

We took in a lot of sites. Pearl Harbor, Hanauma Bay, Pali Lookout, Diamond Head and drove completely around the island. So many beautiful beaches! Also, great shopping. Parking is now $10 for 24 hrs at the marina or pay an hourly rate. The only negative I would mention is that they allow smoking in the units where there a true residents. We would not hesitate to stay here again and would highly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raider10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Let me start by stating that I vacation in Mexico a lot, so I am aware of substandard accommodations. The Ilikai is run down and in dire need of attention. Our room was clean, but the overall feel of the place was not great. The staff was very friendly and helpful, but the service in the main restaurant and bar was VERY slow. The menu didn't offer many choices either. The restaurant upstairs was excellent, as was the service. I personally would not stay here again. There is no beach and the Hilton lagoon next year is gross. There were lots of reviews about the cranky lady at the pool....and they are all dead on accurate. The upside to that is that you can always find a lounger at this very small pool area. The other downside to the pool is that the sun doesn't hit most of the pool area until about 11 am.

So in my opinion, this place is average. If you stay here expecting this to be "a totally awesome place" you will be disappointed. We were. Keep in mind that these condos are mostly owned by private parties. And it seems that a lot of people actually live here.

But it was nice having a kitchen.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We have just had a five night stay at the Ilakai, with the fifth night being free under the "stay free in Waikkiki " promotion. We booked a two bedroom ocean view suite (Rm 2326) through the hotel's website . The room was fantastic with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 balconies and a full kitchen.We had magnificient views over the marina, the beach. The location of the Ilakai is great, being at the quieter end of Waikiki . The bus and trolley stop directly infront and Al Moana shopping centre is two bus stops away. There is an ABC convenience store near the hotel, which sells everything you could possible need. This makes it easy to stock up on food if you want to eat any meals in the room. I agree with others that the only thing you can fault is the noisy airconditioner unit on the balcony. Friday night is fireworks at the neighbouring Hilton Hotel at 7.45pm. We sat on the balcony with a bottleof champagne and thoroughly enjoyed the fireworks. We would definetely return to this hotel if staying in Waikiki. Michelle on the front desk was super efficient and very pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank annaabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We have stayed at the Ilikai for many years and always return, even when things were not so good. The staff and hotel are Hawaii and we will continue to stay here. So nice to have the ajacent hotel finished and to have some shops and resturant open. It shall return to the "Grand Hotel it once was. Infact it already is.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wawinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Waikiki Marina Resort in Honolulu for three nights as a RCI exchange. Despite the fact that we don't like big cities, we were pleasantly surprised. The studio unit of the Ilikai Hotel, that is owned by Shell Vacations, was very spacious, well equipped and extremely clean! The best part was an excellent service and attention from Shell Vacation staff. Including a welcome package with a few snacks, chocolates and drinks. As well as a "thank you" gift was a really nice touch. You don't see this very often nowadays! The only negative remark: it is an older building and the AC units need to be revamped.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MladaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We booked this hotel through Delta Vacations (a package including air , hotel and rental car). The occasion was my wife's birthday and I had not been to Hawaii before. Great reasons. Very pleasant check in-no glitches--and we were upgraded to a honeymoon suite on the 25th floor. Very nice room with a Jacuzzi and two balconies affording views of the ocean and southern side overlooking the Grand Waikikian and Lagoon hotels. Very nice!!
Galley kitchen with cooking utensils and service for 6-very nice. Valet parked the car the first night ($22) and subsequent nights parked at the marina parking lot-slots 55 to 73-for $8 a night figuring that most of the day we were out galavanting on the island. The hotel needs some care as several floors had the carpets removed but nothing new installed in their place. Scraps and bits of construction debris littered the corridors. Had trouble finding the fitness center (small but adequate) due to bad (NO) signage. They gave out vouchers for "continental" breakfast the next day when I asked. Vouchers can be traded in (value $5) for the Early Bird special breakfast (very good) for an additional $3. The "continental" breakfast sucked: a very small piece of banana bread, some mystery "juice" and a cup of coffee. Go for the early bird special which we did for two mornings. After that we made our own breakfast and ate on the balcony watching the early morning surfers. VERY nice!!
So, would we stay at this dowager again? Absolutely!! The location is superb and our room was very nice. Just do not expect 5-star quality.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatliturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,232 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
772 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
660 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $240 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach.
With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing