We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
436 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Great value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

We booked this hotel through Delta Vacations (a package including air , hotel and rental car). The occasion was my wife's birthday and I had not been to Hawaii before. Great reasons. Very pleasant check in-no glitches--and we were upgraded to a honeymoon suite on the 25th floor. Very nice room with a Jacuzzi and two balconies affording views of the ocean and southern side overlooking the Grand Waikikian and Lagoon hotels. Very nice!!
Galley kitchen with cooking utensils and service for 6-very nice. Valet parked the car the first night ($22) and subsequent nights parked at the marina parking lot-slots 55 to 73-for $8 a night figuring that most of the day we were out galavanting on the island. The hotel needs some care as several floors had the carpets removed but nothing new installed in their place. Scraps and bits of construction debris littered the corridors. Had trouble finding the fitness center (small but adequate) due to bad (NO) signage. They gave out vouchers for "continental" breakfast the next day when I asked. Vouchers can be traded in (value $5) for the Early Bird special breakfast (very good) for an additional $3. The "continental" breakfast sucked: a very small piece of banana bread, some mystery "juice" and a cup of coffee. Go for the early bird special which we did for two mornings. After that we made our own breakfast and ate on the balcony watching the early morning surfers. VERY nice!!
So, would we stay at this dowager again? Absolutely!! The location is superb and our room was very nice. Just do not expect 5-star quality.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tatliturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    771
    170
    40
    22
See reviews for
660
709
88
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

Like to give a big Mahalo to Terry Dowsett for all his hospitality & the pleasure of accomidation for a short stay but very worth wide. Daughter had a winter ball down the street and since it was walking distance from the hotel & a last minute thing me & my ohana along with her friend had a blast staying there words can't explain just the memories that we have say's it all.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chopoohbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

The Ilikai is a wonderful, open aired hotel is the most perfection location for Waikiki, Ala Moana Shopping center and the beach.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yakimetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2010

We just spent 17 days at this hotel and were so impressed we are returning next year to same hotel! The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

We stayed at the Ilikai in a privately owned condo that we booked through waikikioceanfrontrentals.com. I really enjoyed the condo. The view was amazing and the location was great for everything we wanted to do. We had a room with a key code entry, so it was nice to not have to worry about remembering a key or card, or worrying about it getting lost while out on the beach. Due to being in the privately owned condo, we didn't deal with the staff of the hotel too much, but the hotel lobby and hotel itself was very clean and everyone seemed friendly. We used the valet for parking ($22 a day) and that staff was alwaysvey nice and attentive. With the location you wouldn't really need to use the valet/rent a car, but we wanted to drive around the island a lot so having our own vehicle was a necessity to us. I loved being able to walk out of the hotel and then down waikiki beach, was a great location for this. It is right next to the Hilton Hawaiin Village- which for the most part was a good thing- we got to see their firework show from our balcony on Friday night...but had to listen to their luau every night from Sat-Wed (but it was only from 5-8ish so it wasn't too bad). I would recommend this place definitely!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSKCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

The Ilikai Hotel takes great pride in being featured in the 1970s television show "Hawaii Five-O." It appears as if the hotel has not been through any renovations since that time.

The hotel offers valet parking, which I recommend. The staff who park the cars are courteous, friendly, helpful, and quick.

The hotel has an outside elevator for people who need to carry their bags from the front door to the lobby, which is one floor up. The lobby is open air, like many of the hotels in Honolulu. There is a concierge desk, a bell desk, and a reservations desk. The hotel has a decent sized sundries store and a shipping store, which is operated by a couple who lives at the Ilikai. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

I arrived early before my room was ready. They offered to store my bags for me while I waited and also gave me a key to the fitness center so I could freshen up and change clothes while I waited. The fitness center was on the second floor, which appeared to be undergoing some maintenance. The baseboards were all ripped off the walls.

There is a nice pool at the hotel, and a separate bathers elevator that goes to each floor. The hotel also has a large courtyard behind the hotel, which has a great view of the marina and steps leading down to the beach. There was some kind of event going on at the hotel next door, which featured loud music and dancing.

The room was a major disappointment. While the room was fairly large, it was poorly decorated. The carpet was old, cheap and coming up from the floor. The bed was not very comfortable. The furniture was old and cheap too.

The hotel could definitely use some renovation. The rooms need to be completely redone and the lobby could use some updating. Other than that, I really enjoyed my stay at the Ilikai Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weary_traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

My husband and I spent 6 nights here and were very pleased with every aspect of out stay. We had originally booked a mountain view room because of the very reasonable rate, but upon arrival we were upgraded at no extra charge to an ocean view room, which was extremely spacious and lovely. I had absolutely no complaints about anything. This hotel is very reasonably priced, in a great location within walking or bus distance to everything, and right on the beach. There is now a restaurant open on the lobby level which was closed on my last visit. We went there only once for breakfast and found it over priced for the quality and amount of food. However, that didn't matter at all since there are so many reasonably priced options for dining nearby, and there are mini refrigerators and microwaves in the rooms. Chester at the front desk was super helpful and friendly---kudos to him!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megaloo4dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,898 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Property: Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach.
With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing