We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible beds, loud AC, indifferent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We booked a room at the Ilikai through Expedia for the last three nights of our 8-day trip. Aqua Hotels had recently purchased and (we heard) remodeled this old hotel, so we hoped that it might be a hidden gem.

The rooms seemed nice, but if they did remodel, they forgot to upgrade the mattresses. Judging from the springs we could feel poking into our backs all night long, the two double beds in our room may have been purchased in 1971. My 17-year old was still recovering from a back injury and opted to sleep on the bathroom floor rather than endure the pain of the bed. We all tossed and turned and failed to get more than 3 hours of sleep that night.

The air-conditioning unit had seen better days as well. They were using duct tape to keep the thing together (not very reassuring when the unit is right over your bed) and when it kicked on every 20 minutes, it made a horrible grinding noise. (We also couldn't figure out how to keep the temp steady. It was way too warm or way too cold in the room.)

Dreading another sleepless night, we contacted the front desk to ask if there were any other rooms available with bigger or better beds. I was told that the beds are the same in every room. Period. No apology, no attempt to make us more comfortable. She didn't even look to see if there were other rooms available.

We thought through our options over an overpriced and undercooked breakfast (Pro Tip: cook the bacon BEFORE you put it in the omelet!) and finally decided to check out and find another hotel, even though it meant we'd forfeit the money we'd already paid for our remaining two nights.

At checkout, the disinterested staff at the front desk didn't even ask WHY we were leaving early. He simply stated that we wouldn't be entitled to a refund and asked us if we'd like to bill the agreed-upon $18 fee for parking to the card on file.

This was our first experience in Honolulu and likely our last. We'll stick to the authentic, warm, friendly places on the North Shore on our next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tackyspoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,115)
There are newer reviews for Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,711 - 1,717 of 2,115 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

I've stayed in the Ilakai two years ago and really enjoyed it. This is my 2nd time staying at this hotel and never was I disappointed. Its a hotel thats bright,rooms are clean and big, close to everything and not too crowded. Will definitely come back =)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PCO1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

The Ilikai condos are close to everything, outside shuttles, the pink line shuttles, walking distance to the beach and the Ala Moana shopping center, etc. We loved the clean and updated suite that contained everything we needed in the kitchen to enjoy breakfast smoothies and late night snacks. We could have cooked a full dinner, but we found the local eating establishments so numerous and tempting that we just kept eating out!!! Sorentos, the restaurant at the top of the Ilikai, was a real treat, too. Pricey, but the views and service are worth it. The bed is tre' comfy and we had enough towels for the whole week with a couple to spare. The views are spectacular, too. I highly recommend this particular suite, but would expect any of the condos represented by ALOHA CONDOS to be just as wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slgisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This hotel is in the perfect location, walking distance to everything you could desire. The room was upgraded, our A/C was broken, but they replaced it in 45 minutes after we contacted them. Their service is excellent, they will hold your bags until you room is ready. Parking is $18/day unless you are a Hawaii resident, then it's $9/day by valet only., this is very typical for Waikiki. The hotel is located right in front of the harbor and one of the most popular surf breaks during the summer. The beach out front is not great for swimming as there is reef, a walk down the beach will take you to the sandy beaches of Waikiki. We had a mountain view room, but we actually looked at the hotel across the street and the road below the room is loud, although with the door shut and the a/c, the traffic noise is not too bad, but I'm a light sleeper, I would have preferred at room on the ocean side. I would come back and stay at the Ilikai again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snesbitt0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We were very pleased with the service we received at the Ilikai Hotel and Suites, where we rented a condo in late July through the first week of August. It is clear that hotel employees take great pride in this landmark institution, as demonstrated by the superior cleanliness of the facilities. Our unit was located on the 6th floor, with a nice view of the yacht harbor. It was very clean and well-kept, although at times it seemed crowded. We liked the fact that there was a folding separator between the living room and the bedroom. We utilized the pool on a daily basis, and enjoyed the hotel's close proximity to the beach. Although we did not use the restaurants, they appeared to be of good quality. My favorite part of the Ilikai is the courtyard, of which we had a wonderful view form our lanai. The construction of the soon-to-be-opened (and formerly part of the Ilikai) Edition hotel was distracting at times, but likely to not be a factor for future guests. Of disappointment to our son was the lack of access to the fitness center.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancysmith1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I had a great stay at the Ilikai while in Honolulu last week. The service was second to none, the food at Sarento's was great and the room was very clean and comfortable. I look forward to future stays at the Ilikai, when I travel to Hawaii again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NDLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We really appreciated the friendly staff. Our room was great with a wonderful ocean and city view. The fireworks Friday night were awesome. Dinner at Sorento's was superb.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Islandtime32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,070 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,524 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,898 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $234 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing