We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,314)
Filter reviews
2,314 results
Traveler rating
1,055
952
226
49
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,055
952
226
49
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshilton lagoonfull kitchenwaikiki beach rentalsprivate condojack lordocean viewala moanafriday night fireworksred lobsterthe hilton hawaiian villagelarge balconyliving areaacross the streetvalet parkingconvenience storebit datedvalet service
Filter
Updating list...
1,927 - 1,932 of 2,314 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2010

The Ilikai Waikiki Hotel & Suites offers the best of all worlds. Located on Ala Moana Boulevard, this hotel's breathtaking views from every wing include Diamond Head, Waikiki Beach, the Ali Wai Boat Harbor, and the Pacific Ocean. Walk to Ala Moana Shopping Center for shopping and dining of all varieties, or the restaurants and shops along Kalakua Avenue.
There is a lagoon offering calmer waters for kids between the hotel and the beach. On Friday evenings a fireworks show draws a family crowd to the lagoon, and there is a sailboat regatta out of the harbor.
One can find boating and skiing lessons and rentals, sunset and dinner ocean cruises, whale sightings during the season, and just spectacular communal sunset viewing.
Remarkably, despite the close proximity to whatever activities one might desire, the hotel's location on the Northwest end of Waikiki Beach offers a decidedly more relaxed atmosphere than say, one of the hotels located along Kalakua Avenue.
Having stayed at other properties, including some also managed by Aqua, on the other end, I was pleasantly surprised by the peaceful sense of calm and ease at this end of the beach.
We stayed in a Sunset View room, and that name did not do justice to the beauty of the sunsets we viewed on the ocean's horizon, out beyond the boat harbor and Ala Moana Beach and park.
The room included a sleeper sofa in addition to the king-sized bed, and a kitchenette with a full refrigerator, electric range, sink, and a breakfast buffet eating space. The spacious lanai was comfortably furnished with a table and chairs for outside dining as well as for simply taking in the view.
The airy lobby, tastefully decorated in island decor including blossoming plants, is fronted by aquatic sculpture and waterfall-studded stairs that also feature an elevator and escalator for luggage and the like. The other side of the lobby leads to the Canoes restaurant and bar, and an open-air patio. The restaurant offered a buffet-style breakfast and lunch, along with evening cocktails, but was planned to offer a dinner menu in the near future. Beyond the restaurant is a promenade that includes many indigenous trees and plants, and a walkway along Holomoana Street with seating for enjoying the view, that leads past the hotel pool down to the aforementioned lagoon.
The hotel pool is open during daylight hours, has an attendant and is very family-friendly. Our four-year old son made many fast friends, young and not-so, in his many hours splashing about in that pool.
The hotel staff is uniformly friendly and helpful. Managed by the inimitable Terry Dowsett, there was also Leonor Wong, who offered assistance when Terry was otherwise occupied, and Angela Padigos, the Asst. Director of Housekeeping, through whom all information and assistance flowed. Try as we might, we were unable to discover a need that these three were unable to offer sure assistance. They set the tone for the professional and personable service offered by the rest of the staff throughout the hotel's environs.
Sarrento's Top of The "I" restaurant, on the top floor of the hotel, offers fine Italian cuisine -with, as they say, a Mediterranean flair, and a full complement of fine wines to accompany the meal. The several private dining spaces all offer a grand view. The view competes admirably with the menu for best reason to visit this cozy space, but the fare would be compelling at any location high or low. Additionally, Thursday evenings are currently featuring live jazz music -in the main bar and dining area.
The combination of remarkable service by an outstanding staff, spectacular views, location-location-location, wonderfully relaxing atmosphere, and singular appointments and amenities make the Ilikai Hotel and Suites a definite return destination for me, and I cannot wait to make my way back there - and you will agree...

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank commortis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

We stayed at the Ilikai for a week and had a nice time. This was our first trip to Honolulu so we don't have anything in the city to compare it to. The hotel is at the end of Waikiki which is kind of nice because it is not so crazy with people like the hotels in the middle of things. The building is currently owned by a "lending institution" and is run as three entities: hotel, time-share and condos. Personally, I think having some owners in the building has made them put some work into the facility; at least it seems to be better cared for than in some of the earlier reviews. The service was good and everyone we dealt with was pleasant and helpful (even the Bellman at 1:30AM). The room was comfortable and a nice place to come back to at the end of the day. They are redoing the building next door and there was lots of noise when the sliding door to our balcony was open during work hours (cutting concrete, hammering, etc.) but with the door closed it was fine. The balcony had an ocean view - as seen in pictures from an earlier review - and was a great place to watch the sun go down (and the workers next door had gone home so it was peaceful). Our room had a small kitchen with 'fridge, microwave, stove, coffee maker and plates, pots, pans, silverware, etc. There is a small grocery store downstairs in the hotel, a little bigger one across the street and a full size store in the Ala Moana mall about five blocks walk. Someone in an early review said the elevators were acting up during their stay but they were all working fine during the week we were there. The pool area was clean and there is beach access to the Hilton Village and the rest of Waikiki out the back. Plenty of places to eat nearby, from franchises like Red Lobster, Outback and Subway to great local food like the Bombay Indian restaurant and Kobe steak house (all within one block of the hotel). We didn't eat at the restaurant on the top floor of the hotel but it is open and there is a breakfast place in the lobby area. There is a concierge service that was very helpful when it came to planning activities and they were able to get good rates. Our rental car was $46/day, with taxes, from the Enterprise rental place across the street, which is about half of what we were quoted for an airport pick-up. There is a National/Alamo car rental across the street too. When we were there the cars at either place were all gone if you didn't reserve them at least two days in advance. There is also a bus stop out front if you don't have a car. The hotel lobby area downstairs is quite nice. We spent the better part of the day there while waiting for our flight and it was pleasant. The staff was very accommodating about storing our bags during the day after we checked out. The building was built in 1963 and it does show it age in places. Also, there are a number of empty business locations in the lobby area on the first floor. For the most part the building just needs a little TLC...but there was nothing nasty about the place and if you are not interested in spending a lot of money to be in the midst of Waikiki I would recommend the Ilikai.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank picgla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

This hotel was wonderful for the $ we paid. The lobby and courtyard was so pretty and the hotel is located right in the middle of everything so you don't need a rental car unless you want to go to North Shore like we did. The Ilikai was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The free continental breakfast was the same everyday with cereals, bagels, juices, and pasties, but fresh. You can pay $5 and upgrade to hot breakfast such as omelets, scrambled eggs, and such. We had a 2 bedrooms suite with Kitchen with full ocean view and loved it. Our housekeeper, Espie, was a dear and took pride in her work. We gave her a nice tip and all the extras we left behind. We paid for the valet parking ($18 daily) because we had a rental car and didn't want to have to deal with the hassle of finding a parking spot. The attendants were very fast on getting our car. The Hilton next door sets off fireworks every Friday night and we watched them from our balcony - what a show! We even saw a whale and baby swim by and breach in the water from our balcony. You can sun bath at the Hilton lagoon next door or keep walking and pick a spot on the beach near the shops and food vendors. We parked daily in front of the Hale Koa since we are military and were able to use their pool and food shops. I highly recommend the Ilikai for your stay in Waikiki. It was actually cheaper for us there than at the Hale Koa (go figure). I see no reason to pay more when the Ilikai offers it all.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NHhenlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

If you're looking for a place to stay around Waikiki/Ala Moana, I highly recommend this hotel. Service was excellent and our rooms were big. Location was excellent too. My husband and I checked out of our initial hotel due to extremely poor service and moved to this one; it was the best decision we made on our Hawaii trip.

The Ilikai is an extremely great deal for what you pay for. I can't get over how happy we were. Everyone was so friendly and it was a great experience overall. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

When my husband and I first pulled up to the Ilikai, we were a bit freaked out...we approached from the side with the apt building that is seriously run down and looked pretty ghetto. So, we were very happy to find that we were not staying in that building and were shown to our enormous 26th floor room with a huge balcony and fantastic views! There are no other views like this that I've seen in Honolulu, of the ocean, marina and city! There can be no doubt that the Ilikai is old school (which I happen to love,) but the giant rooms and very reasonable price made it a terrific find...in fact, I'm on line now looking for a reservation for next winter!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montanalovevacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews