We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice suite hotel at a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The room was very large, and included a balcony and small kitchenette with sink, microwave and fridge. We found it clean and pleasant, and the staff were very accommodating. At the end of August there were a number of guests but not full so we had no problem with noise or slow elevators. The free continental breakfast was limited but sufficient, although one day the line took about 5-10 minutes. The location by the marina and adjacent to the beach was great, with a broad range of restaurants and entertainment close enough for walking. Staff very helpful providing info on attractions, bus travel, rental cars, etc. Dollar Car REntal about 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,834 - 1,840 of 2,165 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2009

I stayed at the Ilikai for four days and wished it was four weeks. It was perfect value for money. Steps away from the beautiful beach, and a wonderful sunset view from my room. Very comfy bed, huge bathroom with bath and separate shower. Microwave and fridge were very handy. Staff were all very nice, and breakfast on the lanai was a great bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kermitbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

The Ilikai has recently changed management / ownership. The hotel is clean and a very good value for the money. The rooms are a bit worn, but clean. The swimming pool is small and simple, however, there is a beautiful ocean 1 min from the hotel. There are several restaurants nearby and the bus stop is in front of the hotel. Keep in mind, there is construction at the adjacent building, however, it did not disturb us one bit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

We arrived for a late check-in and were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome. The view was exactly how it was pictured in the site. It was absolutely beautiful. The room was very clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious and clean. The shower head was wonderful. The staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was good too. We were there for our honeymoon and we would definitely do it again. We recommend taking a shuttle instead of a taxi to and from the airport as the ride from the airport to the hotel was $35 for a taxi versus the $9 per person for the shuttle. We appreciated the fact that since our flight was going to be at night, they allowed us to store our luggage at the hotel despite having checked out already.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hunnymooners2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Last minute we decided to get a room in Waikiki for a girls night out and we chose the Ilikai because of the great kamaaina rate. Also others in our party were staying their as well. Upon check in the front desk staff was very rude and no ALOHA. After checking in and unloading the car I was called by front desk to come down and sign a paper. I went back down and the front desk told me they have a no party policy and I said Im not having a party. He said everyone is required to sign it because of hotel policy. Well the other two rooms in our party didn’t sign anything. So that means they were assuming we were having a party and treated us differently. At time of checkout we also had to wait 30 minutes for housekeeping to inspect our room when the others checked out with no hassle. I feel if it’s a policy what goes for one should go for all. People shouldn’t be treated differently by assumption. I work in the tourist industry and would not recommend this hotel based on staff service and policies. On the good side valet and bell men were awesome and very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Room was huge, ice cold air conditioner. My family and I stayed there for a week, very comfy bed and tons of pillows. Shower was detachable and had strong water pressure which is very important to get sand out especially. I was able to enjoy a relaxing bath every evening in the separate big tub. All in all, I would stay again at this hotel, it was very close to the beach, parking at the marina was only .25 cents an hour, we only spent about 3 to 4 $ a day for parking! Staff was great. Breakfast is served late at 7 am but the vouchers are not dated so you can get tomorrow's breakfast today and put it in your fridge if you want. There was even a microwave in the room. Two big closets. TV needs to be updated though. Elevator was super fast. There was some construction going on downstairs but did not bother us.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank exclusiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

The room was great with a kitchen area. It was near the beach and stores and nice places. The view from the balcony was great and all of the staff members were the best.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank PatrickWarchol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,184 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
352 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
639 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $227 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach.
With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing