We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the Ilikai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I love the Ilikai”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My first experience with the Ilikai was as a college stutent here in the 1960's. It was the first highrise hotel on Waikiki. What's not to love about it being the setting for the original
"Hawaii 5-O" or the hotel of choice for Elvis? Modern novelist Sarah Vowell author of "Unfamiliar Fishes" stays here. Book an ocean-view room with full kitchen. Every floor has coin washer & dryer. There are five elevators. In a week's stay, we never waited more than a minute for a free elevator. The convenience store on first floor is well-stocked. One can even purchase a quarter rather than a pound of butter! This hotel is an institution and well worth the money.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view with full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarrolL119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    868
    205
    44
    26
See reviews for
757
793
94
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Ilikai may not be the newest hotel in town, but it has a lovely feel to the place, the reception staff were great (especially Richelle) and the location was perfect for me - walking distance to Ala Moana and Waikiki beach - with the bus stop right outside the door if I wanted to venture a little further. I will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Illicium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I was looking around the HHV area for a hotel that I could afford for a week without resort fees and decided to try my first vacation rental . I'm so glad I did and was lucky enough to have this condo available for the exact dates I needed. It is as described . Everything anyone would need. The view is great ,beds comfortable and kitchen and bathroom well stocked. The owners were very responsive and accommodating . Never had any issues during our stay . We never needed a car because we could walk to Ala Moana Center and Lewers St if we needed to shop and the front entrance is a few feet away from bus stops. I like the sliding sun shade in the balcony . It keeps the integrity of the view but gave me the option to block the sun during certain times of the day . The kettle also needs to be replaced. But these minor issues won't make me hesitate to return to this place. What really puts it over the top is the Ilikai itself. The building is clean and lobby was amazing. Fresh air blowing as if you were outdoors and not too many people so you can definitely relax away from your room. I walked every morning and it was so convenient making my way from the Marina to the Outrigger and back before sunrise. I would not hesitate to recommend this condo for the room itself ,the owners and the Ilikai building itself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roelparedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We stay here for Jan/Feb every year. Location is fabulous, short walk to all the shops and beach. We rent privately owned condos from Waikiki Beach Rentals. This year we were not happy with the state of the lanai furniture, but after contacting Scott at the web site it was replaced, so can't complain. The pool area is still ridiculous, towels are put on seats for regulars and seats are not used for hours.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Formerbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Just back from a 2 week holiday in Honolulu and Las Vegas. We have stayed at least 6 times at the Ilikai and love it here. This time we had condo 1820 with again great views of the lagoon and ocean. We had to purchase new pillows as several of the ones on our beds smelt like very dirty hair. We stayed for 3 nights then left for Vegas arriving back 4 days later into 1820 again. On arrival we found that the bedding had not be changed and were still marked from our previous stay. We don't know if anyone else had booked the room during our time away. We contacted management and a few hours later two very friendly ladies arrived to change our bedding. As we had basically made two bookings for the same room which meant two cleaning fees I expected the bedding to have been changed. We then had a problem with the oven...it wouldn't work which was very annoying as we had purchased food to prepare using the oven. Finally after several calls to maintenance and several days later they said that the stove/oven would be replaced the next day around 4pm. This was useless to us by this stage as we were leaving at 7pm that night and had to throw out the food we had bought to be cooked in the oven. They arrived around 4pm...opened the door without knocking and barged in...then knocked...glad I was dressed. I am assuming at no-one had come to check the oven out and just went and replaced it that they already know it was faulty. This cost us $$$ as we had to get takeaway on the nights we should have been able to prepare meals for ourselves. I love staying at the Ilikai but this time was disappointed with the condo and the obvious problems. One bonus was that they filmed Hawaii Five-O over two days in the rear car parking area and we got to get up close to watch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inquiryagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have stayed at virtually every major resort in the Islands and although Ilikai is an older property (originally built in 1964), it has a retro vibe that I really appreciate. Many of the new resorts have a plastic feel to them, but lots of character here. For lots of nice wood accents throughout the property. The rooms are HUGE with full kitchens. Great for families that want to relax by the beach all day and save a few bucks by cooking in the hotel room. Ilikai is also conveniently located within a short walk of downtown Waikiki and Ala Moana Shopping Center.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the marina offer beautiful views and cool breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esqtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week. The room was large with a useful desk and enough outlets for all our gear, king-size very comfortable bed, large shower with plenty of room for my wife's cosmetics, friendly staff, located on the west end of Waikiki away from the huge crowds further east, yet close to the convention center and Waikiki shopping and beaches. The hotel is gradually converting to condos, but there was no construction noise of inconvenience. Rooms, hallways, and common areas were clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBob-cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,019 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
176 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Property: Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing