We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Logansport, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved our stay”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My first trip to Hawaii was 25 years ago and I stayed at the Ilikai and loved it. So when I decided to return last October, the Ilikai was my place of choice. I booked a room direct thru the hotel and reserved a 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite for my 2 nieces, my sister-in-law and myself. We absolutely loved the room. I have to admit it was a bit dated but comfortable and very clean. The beds take all prizes for comfort, having a full kitchen was great for morning coffee and breakfast on the lanai. The view from our 25th floor lanai was a breathtaking ocean view. The hotel is walking distance to most anywhere and if you can't walk there, the trolley and bus is right at the hotel door. Was it anything like 25 years ago???? It was more built up around the hotel but my stay was better than 25 years ago. Excellent service from the staff and unlike staying at a rented condo we had to do nothing except enjoy our vacation.

Room Tip: Upper floors on the South side give you more for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    859
    198
    44
    26
See reviews for
746
782
93
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
753 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

As my family and I got to the hotel after having booked through Expedia we were surprised with an upgrade and offered a room on the 25th floor. The stunning views and proximity to all attractions made this hotel a great choice. The pool might not be attractive but with so many beaches to visit we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors make a difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SILVIABRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I returned to Honolulu and the Ilikai after a very long time away. The last time I stayed in the Ilikai about 20 years ago i thought the hotel was ok, but not great. I recently returned for a business trip and was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean, the lobby and courtyard area were stylish and pleasant, and the entry way was spectacular. My room was large, comfortable, very clean and had a spectacular view. And my thanks to Cliff the bellman, who went out of his way to assist me getting to the airport on time. I look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up. The views get better the higher you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navigator_909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AU
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

When my daughter gave us 2 weeks to plan her wedding and on New Years Eve (yikes) I was in a panic to figure out what/where/when. That is when Terry of the Ilikai came to my rescue. He and his staff made sure that they not only had a room to view the NYE fireworks as they had asked for, but made the room and experience one to truly remember fondly. I cannot thank them enough for the special attention they gave us and the attention to detail that made my daughter and her fiance's day incredibly lovely. I would highly recommend the Ilikai for weddings and events or just as a great place to stay. The rates are fabulous and the service and accomodations even more so.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TellingIt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We spend 9 nights at the Ilikai this January and loved every minute of it. Called to book the room direct through the Ilikai Hotel and got a very good rate. Booked an ocean view room with a kitchen for not too many more $ and were able to check in as soon as we got to the hotel from our early flight arrival from Australia. Fabulous views over the marina and ocean, stunning sunsets and lovely breezes and no street noise. Quiet enough to leave the balcony door open during the night. The hotel is clean, room serviced daily, beach towels available from check in and tour/activities desk in the foyer as well as a mini mart, coffee shop and the Ilikai Bar and Grill which give you 10%discount. Coin laundries on every floor and ice machines available also. 10 minutes walk to Ala Moana Shopping Centre as well as Walmart and Ross Dress for Less. 15 minutes walk to the major Waikiki beach past the Hilton Village, Fort De Russy Park etc. The Ilikai is in a great position and has an affordable ocean view. Loved it.

Room Tip: Ocean view with kitchen, high floor (not necessary)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Our stay there was easy and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and genuine from beginning to end. The location is great, it's practically in between Ala Moana and Waikiki. If your not bothered walking, or have too many shopping bags, its a cheap cab ride back. The pool is average, but with the beach further down, it doesn't matter.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jennita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at the ilikai on our second trip to Hawaii. Previously we ahd stayed at the other end of town so i wanted to check out what the other end had to offer.
We went for the Ilikai in the end because it was reasonably priced and my husband loves Hawaii 50 so the fact that it features in the opening sequence clinched it!
It is in a good location at the far end of the beach right next to the harbour and the lagoon at the hilton - which is open for all to use.
The rooms were clean and large (we were upgraded to a suite which had a seating area and kitchen - which was great as we could have breakfast in our room rather than spending to eat out every morning) but could do with an updtae perhaps...although it was functional and practical.
we did not use the pool area but there was a bar serving snacks and drinks etc and a handy coffee bar too which i would recommend for breakfast Kona coffee!
We rented some beach chairs which were fantastic and great to use on the busy waikiki beach and near the lagoon.
I would recommend this hotel, good value and good location.

Room Tip: we didnt use our balcony at all as it faced the road so wasnt partcularly sunny or private. IF thats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,884 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Property: Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing