We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten days at the Ilikai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Overall, we were very happy with the Ilikai.

The bar on the ground floor is reasonably priced, has good service, and basic but good food.
The top floor restaurant is pricy, but has a very good happy hour, and outstanding views at sunset.

Ilikai parking is expensive, but there are good nearby options, including free parking at the lagoon between 5am-10:30pm; and good rates at an outside lot across from the free lagoon parking.

Room Tip: City/mountain view 9s less expensive and nice, but the ocean view is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 839 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful, from the valets to the bell hop to the front desk and the wait staff. Great location if you want to be near Waikiki beach, but not in the section of town near the designer shops where the sidewalks are much more crowded. We did not really hear any noise from other guests. Our air conditioner in our room was a little loud sometimes but other than that an excellent room with full kitchen, comfortable bed. Only a shower, no tub in the bathroom. Not a problem for us but if you had little kids it could be inconvenient for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1AKGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here using our timeshare. This is a combo, timeshare, hotel and condo setup. The location is on the west side of Waikiki beach so you need to walk to Waikiki proper but you are on the beach regardless. There is shopping and food close by. Fast food or sit down is right there. Our studio was nice and worked very well for us. The staff at our timeshare was very pleasant and the place was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barkmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Wonderful ocean view room at a reasonable and very helpful front desk and valet staff. Highly recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1JMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Ilikai was an okay place to stay. Would I stay there again - probably not. Our room which was an ocean view 2 bedroom suite was a little tired - lots of marks on walls and threadbare couch that has seen better days. I expected a little better when paying $400/night. I did get the room on a hotel special so maybe I got the worst of the rooms (even though I booked direct with the hotel). The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen and bathrooms were very clean. Daily housekeeping was good. The hotel is a good 30 min walk from the centre of Waikiki, but is very handy to the Ala Moana shops - 5 min walk. The beach out front is hard on the feet - very rocky once in the water. But I'm told further along is much better for swimming.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flossyNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

After years of staying at well known (and over priced) O'ahu lodging, the Ilikai was a big and good surprise! It is very telling for a hotel to have permanent residents-people who choose to live there. While many hotels have a pack 'em in ship 'em out mentality, the Ilikai maintains a "you're like family visiting". The price was a pleasant surprise, considering the accommodations are equivalent to neighboring hotels that charge 20%-30% more. Security, cleanliness, proximity to desired amenities, and the aloha spirit all made the stay more pleasant and return without question or hesitation.

Room Tip: Chose upgrade on higher floor if available. One with kitchen having oven/stove, full refrigerator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kane808traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Came with husband, 20 & 15 year old boys. Had 1334 condo. Great view over lagoon & ocean, especially good on fireworks night. It provided all we wanted, nice to have space with 2 beds & 2 bath. Full kitchen so you don't have to eat out all the time. Walk to Ala Moana Center & Royal Hawaiian end of Waikiki. Restaurants at hotel good. All friendly. Not luxurious, but good for the price & location.

Will be back!

Room Tip: Book through Waikiki Beach Rentals on line. You can pick condo. 1 or 2 bedders, or just book a hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justcarols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,128 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,572 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $211 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing