We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Change of Plan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently travelled to Honolulu from Australia for our first visit. We reviewed a number of locations and booked at a condo elsewhere, at the last moment this booking was cancelled and we booked at the Illikai in a 2 bedroom unit which was lucky for us as this is a great location. You didn't need a car as everything is in walking distance or you can catch a trolley bus, or even cabs were quite reasonable. We had great views from the apartment, it was well fitted out. the bar downstairs was very well priced, local beers $3, cocktails $7 and snack/meals were very well priced. Easy walk to the beach, into town or to the Hilton Village next door. Across the road there are car rental agencies, everything you needed was there. All in all it was perfect for the 3 of us. The staff were very helpful and there is even a shop downstairs selling basic groceries etc. highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Austrav27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 2,195 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Arrived at this hotel on the 3/10/13 for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. Check in was smooth with a friendly guy called rod behind the counter. When we got to our room we discovered a nice water feature in our bathroom mainly caused by a fellow resident upstairs not turning off a tap. We contacted reception and got a new room within 5 minutes. Our new room consisted of a very comfortable bed, sofa and a little kitchen and was seaview. We had food in the restaurant downstairs and I thought the quality was good even though it would be your typical resort bar menu. As in previous reviews this hotel was considered dated and we would have to agree. The hotels claim to fame was that it was used in the opening credits of the original Hawaii five O. I think the only thing that has changed since then was the towels. However the staff are very friendly. For those who'd like a pizza, leave the hotel and enter the Hilton which is adjacent. There's a fantastic pizza restaurant as part of their complex, think its called pizza time,open till midnight. Did a great tour to pearl harbour, organised through viator. Tour guide was called nappy and made the tour very enjoyable. Nice shop in the complex to get newspapers, coffee etc. lovely lagoon within a minutes walk where you can get a paddle boat and relax for a while. When we arrived first we used the baggage lift from curb side to the foyer. This lift would really put you off as its fairly dirty and smelly.however it leads up to a very clean and spacious foyer. As I said earlier the hotel is dated but I think I would stay here again. If you like luxury I wouldn't stay here but if its a hotel with friendly staff and good location you're after, maybe consider the ilikai.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IainMCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHonolulu, General Manager at Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Aloha,
Congratulations on your recent marriage and are pleased you chose Hawaii for your honeymoon. We are happy to share that we are currently "in progress" of a full renovation to all of our hotel rooms that will meet all of your expectations. Mahalo for your favorable comments on our friendly staff and good location and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently stayed for a week and will not be going back to the Illkai. Admittledly, we had a government rate room which included a broken down sofa/futon, steel stools, vertical blinds that didn't work properly, an empty bookcase, broken or missing knobs, mismatched furniture and a view of Ala Moana Blvd. The best part of our room was the bed, too bad it was brighter at 6AM then at 4PM in our room for you to sleep late.

Room Tip: Pay extra for Ocean View or Partial Ocean View or better, stay somewhere better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHonolulu, General Manager at Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Aloha,
Please accept our apologies for the owner rental unit not meeting your expectations and are working directly with them to make several improvements. With any hotel I would encourage you to let management know of any concerns during your stay that allows them to offer alternate accommodations that meet your expectations, as we are always eager to satisfy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Ilikai for a week and a half while on business in Hawaii. As other reviewers stated, it is a bit dated, but I think they are working on that. We had a nice, very spacious, clean room with a king sized bed. Housekeeping was excellent. The location is great if you've had enough of Waikiki--still on the beach but not as crowded. For us, it is way better for getting to work. The bar & grill had good food & staff was nice. We also really liked the pool. We had a great view of the fireworks at the Hilton too! Having the lanai is so wonderful when you are looking out at the water!
Day one did not go well, as they had an electrical fire & we had to evacuate. (from floor 25!). All was well, although they need a plan to evacuate older folks as it was very hard for them. The store closed because of this and we needed (wanted, I suppose) water. So we went to several vending machines that didn't work, finally receiving coke not water. We asked the front desk for water and a refund, but they said they couldn't do that. Front desk issues when I had to extend my husband's stay because of work. We are corporate members and she wouldn't really talk to me. My husband had to take care of it after a long day. I think she passed it on to the gentleman who finally helped us, and he had it all handled no problem.
Overall, it was a four star stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Home106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Ilikai hotel on 2 separate occasions in Sept. On both occasions we were on Floor 24 so the lift journey can be a bit slow!!
The rooms were spacious and comfortable with everything we needed including a microwave. They are rather noisy esp on the balcony, because of the air conditioning units there and the never ending rumble of the city. Apart from this we had no complaints and enjoyed our stay and the helpful staff. We would recommend it and sure wold stay again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gemstone511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked an apartment through VRBO rentals, and very impressed with the response from them as well as the owner.

We had an apartment on the 10th Floor, with the most amazing views out to the Hawiaiian Hilton lagoon and Waikiki beach. It was nice to watch the world go by from our balcony.
The Condo had everything we required for a 2 week stay, including a fully equipped kitchen.

The hotel itself is a little tired, but the lobby has been recently refurbished, which includes an ABC store, coffee shop, and a few clothes shops. There is a restaurant in the courtyard called the Ilikai Bar and Grill and we had many a nice lunch and dinner there. Found the staff very friendly, and the service fast..

The pool was nice, with plenty of sun lounges, however a few more sun umbrellas would be nice.

The location of the Ilikai was great, a 10 minute walk to the Ala Moana shopping centre, and about the same to downtown Waikiiki and beach. If you dont feel like walking the Trolley bus stops right outside the Ilikai.

Every Tuesday and Friday the Hawaiian Hilton put on a free Fireworks display at the Lagoon round about 8pm. We had the most amazing views from our balcony.

Will be back !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwis_that_fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Wanted to try the other end of Waikiki Beach this time. IIikai Hotel was a good choice. Nothing extraordinary except the room was very nice and large. Full kitchen, sitting area and king bed. Good size bathroom. Very big lanai overlooking the harbor. Staff was pleasant. If you can get a good price - under $200/night, would be worth a try.

Downside - the room was not cleaned that well; dining options more limited.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFInow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHonolulu, General Manager at Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Aloha,
We appreciate you comments and pleased you had a comfortable stay in our large rooms and lanais. Like yourself, many customers choose our full kitchen rooms that offer value added convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,216 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
736 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $234 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach.
With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing