We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Decent hotel, wish it was closer to the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
jayfeezy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, wish it was closer to the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice hotel, people were friendly. Some of the interior was dated. The beach was super close. Major con: getting to the touristy areas on Kalakaua Blvd was a fairly long walk, I wish I booked closer to that area to get to the nice shops and restaurants and other tourist attractions. Also no daily maid service, they only come on certain days of the week. On the plus side we had a kitchen and great view, and a very spacious room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayfeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    774
    170
    40
    22
See reviews for
661
711
89
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a great experience at the Ilika. We rented two rooms in total - one with a kitchen. The rooms were clean and very spacious. Rooms were a little dated but nonetheless we were comfortable. We saw that the rooms down the hall were being renovate - can't wait to see what those look like. We watched the Hawaiian Hilton fireworks right from our room which was spectacular as we were at the same height as the fireworks. Beds were comfortable and linens clean.

Great location as well - close to the lagoon, Ala Moana Mall. We hopped on the trolley to go to Waikiki - kids loved that. Didn't have a chance to try Morimotos restaurant around the corner but hopefully next time.

Everyone at the hotel were exceptional from the housekeepers to the front desk and bellmen and valet. We have three young kids and everyone was friendly, helpful and welcoming,

It is also great that beach towels were provided daily as well.

Great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galvin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were up on the 24th floor. Great view of the ocean and lagoon. Very friendly hotel staff all around, large room, room service came daily, restaurant with good prices located in hotel, various little stores in hotel and steps away. You can step outside to take one of the many shuttles or the bus, but if you are willing to walk for 15-20 mins you will be in the heart of things. Close to everything you need. If you need a car the hotel will take care of that also. Will stay here again!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch NZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ilikai Hotel & Suites are a lovely place to stay.We stayed in room 2233--22nd floor.Location is Very Good very handy to Aloa Mall--a very large shopping complex.Rooms are Large and well appointed, quite comfortable.Swimming pool is very small for this complex however the Lagoon and Beach are only a 100 meters away,great swimming.Good Restrants nearby and the complex has a Very Nice Bar Outdoor Eatery.Hotel Service Staff were Excellent, well done guys.Overall we were Very Happy with our stay and Will Be Back

Room Tip: High floors provide a Good View -- 20 to 25th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reggyChristchurchNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waikiki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I loved the hotel, amenities were excellent, location was perfect right near beach, restaurants, shopping. BUT, IT IS A SUPPOSED TO BE A NON-SMOKING HOTEL. I have an allergy to cigarette smoke and chose this hotel mainly because it was advertised as non-smoking. My family has been here for 3 days and have smelled cigarette smoke from a lanai close to our room. We can't enjoy our lanai or leave our sliding doors open. Security won't do anything about it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jrzkuuipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great condo, you can see the Laguna and beach, gorgouse View! 2 min walk to beach! Clean, air conditioned! Fully stocked with everything. Quite area compared to where outdoor mall is, which we apprecaited! Restaurants walking distance from hotel! Great place to say ever better price! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbiecakes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 months in private condo, which was fine. Our main problem was the pool area which is small with a surrounding wall and no view. The elderly residents must have a system for reserving all the chairs and a lot of the time not using them. I asked one "regular" lady if she was vacating her bed when she gathered her belongings. She said no,left one towel there and didn't return all afternoon.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Formerbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,905 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Property: Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach.
With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing