We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great central location near beach and shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I've stayed at the Ilikai several times throughout the past four years. I was born and raised in Honolulu (now living on neighbor island), so know the island very well. Although I have stayed at other outstanding hotels on Oahu, I prefer the Ilikai because of the following 1) special rates for locals; 2) parking is included in local rates most times and if not, parking is reasonably priced; 3) you can walk to two beaches; 4) Sarentos Top of the Ilikai Italian Restaurant provides one the the finest views of the ocean/sunset in Honolulu and the food/service is impeccable; 5) The Modern Hotel (sister property) adjoining the Ilikai boasts Morimoto's (exquisite service and Iron Chef meals at reasonable prices); 6) you are also in walking distance to other fun eateries across the street which locals frequent i.e. The Chart House; 7) Ala Moana Shopping Center is a 15 minute walk or 5 minute drive or you can take a free trolly service from the hotel to Ala Moana and other shopping establishments; 8) the hotel is at the "beginning" of Waikiki so there are many ways to approach it to avoid traffic in the rush hour; 9) rooms are very spacious and clean; 10) staff is always very polite; 12) rooms with full kitchens are available; 13) Rooms are very quiet if you get an ocean view or partial ocean view. The bottom line - the quality + price of the rooms, central location, ease to recreational spots/night life, ease of getting in and out of the hotel (valets are quick) make the Ilikai my favorite hotel on Oahu. I love the Ilikai because I can pull into the garage at night and not feel compelled to get in my car again to find fabulous food and entertainment just a short walk away. Beds are comfy, great pillows. The only downside is the air conditioner is usually aimed at the side of the bed blasting at the head - so you can try to request for another room configuration. Lastly, if you are not happy with your room management will find another accommodation. On two previous visits I was placed next to construction (renovating hotel) which was quiet over the weekend, however changed on Monday. FYI this is where the original Hawaii Five-0 filmed their opening sequence.

Room Tip: If you request an ocean view make sure you receive a full ocean view v.s. partial view. Also the par...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,119)
There are newer reviews for Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,128 - 1,134 of 2,120 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

...but that's about it. I love the proximity to the harbor and being away from the craziness of Waikiki. I liked how we were so close to Ala Moana Mall, easy to walk to. We were able to go back to the mall if we forgot to buy certain things. Foodland is at the mall, great place to get groceries.

Why the 3 stars? 1) parking 2) pool 3) laundry

Parking was valet only, $28/day with in/out service. Valet staff were awesome by the way, but who wants to spend $30+/day on parking (if you include tips)?! Parking at the next door Ilikai Marina was $20/day self park (i think it is in/out) or park in the street in the back about $1/hr.

The pool was super small and was crowded! No open chairs available when I went. The crowd was geriatric, not a very hip scene.

The laundry room was down the hall and required quarters. As a parent, being able to do laundry without planning and prep is a luxury and a must.

Although this dated hotel has it perks, next time I'll stay at a hotel/condo with free in/out parking, a nicer pool, and an in-unit washer/dryer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eshia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location but not really great hotel. Housekeeping was really poor. We had to ask for them to come back in and vacuum up sand in the bathroom. Mirrors and taps not cleaned well either. We had a problem with cigar smoke coming in from the room next door smoking on the balcony. They did move us into a better room which we appreciated. The pool was small and really enclosed felt claustrophobic.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlfulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend took me to the Ilikai for my birthday week and it was wonderful! Our plane was delayed and the hotel was very flexible with changing our arrival and departure dates and didn't charge us for the night we missed. The concierge was very helpful throughout our stay. And the valet was always prompt and friendly, when we called down for our car it was always there waiting when we came outside.

We had a nearly top floor room facing the ocean and the view was absolutely spectacular. We slept with the sliding glass doors wide open and the sound, breeze, and smell of the ocean was so peaceful. Our room was spacious and comfortable with ample closet space and room to hang out. We like that it came with a mini fridge and that in-room Kona coffee is the perfect way to start the day.

The location was great too, we could walk to several restaurants and conveniences, including Morimoto's right out back. The grounds were beautiful and the hotel itself was beautiful as well. Our only complaint, but not really a complaint, is that they did not have room service.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a top floor facing the ocean!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our stay here lasted three nights . The room was extremely large and comfortable. Almost accommodation around with more expensive price, this hotel was suitable for our budget. The location was lovely and located near with the beach and famous attractions nearby. Staffs would helped for surfing and local trips. A nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kbamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Unit 1906 of the Ilikai. A studio with a bed and a fold out sofa bed. Full kitchen. Spacious. Beautifully decorated. Very clean. Right on Waikiki. For us, the best part was the balcony which had a view of the marina and the beach. We watched the surfers while enjoying most meals. I would return to this unit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie143Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Ilikai 4 times over the past 8 years. Over the years some improvements have been made which makes it an even better choice. Several new and very useful shops have been added to the lobby floor. The hotel was build in 1964 which means that the rooms are spacious as are the lanais. The personnel are all very friendly and helpful. They have a tiki torch lighting ceremony every evening and the view of the sunset from the property is spectacular. It's a short walk to the beach and beach towels as well as chairs are provided. Several city bus routes stop close by and car rentals are available just across the street.

Room Tip: For the best views of the sunset from your room ask for a south or west exposure. You'll need to...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kippy_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,076 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,526 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $235 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing