We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value for a great hotel”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here got only 1 night but wished we stayed longer

Suites are very spacious with an equally large balcony. Fully equipped kitchen is great when travelling with kids.

Service is fantastic and staff attentive to your needs.

Walking distance to Ala Moana and only a short trolley ride to Waikiki. Look no further, this is a great hotel at a great rate.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docks_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    849
    195
    42
    24
See reviews for
739
769
92
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manson, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our fourth stay at the Ilikai. Close to shopping. Close to Waikiki. But, in a quiet area with great ocean views. Comfortable rooms with useable lanai's. No need to rent a car with bus service right outside the hotel. Seniors can ride for a buck with a Medicare card. Plans to upgrade pool area are approved and awaiting to be implemented.

Room Tip: Rooms with lagoon view are preferred by us. Rooms with harbour view are also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ejh68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The good: 1. location - walking distance to both the main part of Waikiki and Ala Mona shopping centre was extremely convenient. Spectacular views from the room and balcony. We were on one of the higher floors. Although the view is interupted by one of the Hilton Village buildings, the view is still spectacular, provided the room is on the beach side! 2. Staff - very friendly and helpful, linen is fresh. 3. Rooms in general are very large, a legacy of the period from which it was built. 4. Lastly, the bar / grill downstairs is terrific and reasonably priced (compared to the Hilton next door), plus the coffee shop next door serves great coffee early in the morning, with very cheerful owner / manager.
The bad: 1. The pool. If retro is your thing, you wont be disappointed because this pool area is straight out of circa 1960s. It feels like it has not been upgraded since. There is a hideous looking giant AC or exhaust fan behind the pool which is just ugly. No amount of palm trees is going to cover that.
2. Wi-Fi - sometimes its there, other times it isnt. Our room connection was unreliable at best and my wife needed to sit in the corridor several times to get a good connection, much to the amusement of other guests.
3. Room - bathroom expecially needs updating.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Ilikai, but were let down by the aging building. I hope the management spend some money on it and update the items above.

Room Tip: view from overlooking beach and lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biglunchbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Comfortable, reasonably spacious rooms with usable balconies. Friendly service and a good range of facilities in the hotel. Ocean views all seem a bit restricted, but OK from the balconies. Most parts of the hotel have been recently refurbished. There are stairs up to the lobby from street level, but escalators and a lift are provided for people with bags.

Located 3 minutes from Kahanamoku beach and the Marina, but about a 20 minute level walk to the centre of Waikiki and the main beach. However, you can get a local bus from outside the hotel for $2.50 each way. Note: Unless you buy a multi-day pass, the buses are cash only and don't give change.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anw190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We are staying in a vrbo room 828. For fun was reading the reviews but feel now must write a note. In all fairness, we have never dealt with anyone working at the hotel. No need to. Able to carry own luggage etc but I can see the stairs could be a problem for some. Our room is so modern and clean, I don't want to use it. Bed is king and comfortable and our air conditioner quiet but can make sitting on couch a bit cool. Bathroom shower fine and room quite large for two. No the hotel is not right on the beach but a nice path via the pool area gets you to lagoon and then to beach and a nice quiet beach to boot. Some areas need water shoes. Our owner gave us all the toys including chairs and beach mats and towels. You would have to bring all your food if plan to eat in. No condiments or anything. We never ate in hotel and loved that we had the beach walk path to get to any excitement we wished to partake in. The hotel itself is for an older quieter crowd it seems.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkey50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed in a condo 2020 at Ilikai and can recommend this option if planning to visit Waikiki.

Condo itself was one of the recently remodeled and it was very nicely decorated. Really looks like in the pictures, which is not always the case. It was maybe a bit smaller than what we thought but nevertheless big enough for 2 adults and one baby. The bed was maybe a bit too soft for our liking but we still slept quite well. Our friends were staying in one few floors down and it was almost exactly like ours. Everything works well and the condo is well equipped. View from lanai is really amazing! Lagoon, ocean, diamond head... Booked through waikiki oceanfront rentals and they really handled everything superbly. We requested a crib for our baby and this was delivered before we arrived (quite pricey though as you could almost buy a new one with that money!($50)).

The location is also very good. At the more quiet end of Waikiki but still walking distance from the hustle and bustle. Only few steps to the lagoon and the beach. The pool is a bit small and didn't really use it as we preferred the beach. The big Ala Moana shopping center is about 10 mins walk away and lot's of restaurants also close by. Top floor of Ilikai you also have a very nice (but pricey) restaurant and recommend to go there at least for drinks and for the view. Car rental agencies, ABC, few restaurants, etc are just across the street. Free trolleys and local busses also stop right in front of the building. Next door hotel, which you can access right from the courtyard, also has a nice pool, a pool bar and very cool restaurant.

All in all would definitely recommend this place (condo, not sure about the hotel) to anyone looking for a good value place to stay in Waikiki. And hopefully we will return one day!

Room Tip: Lagoon / Hilton view is amazing and if get a room high up you get sun from morning until late aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pop612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is an embarresment! We stayed here for two days when we first arrived as we wanted to do shopping before going to maui. We were on the 25 floor. It was ok. Basic but clean. Great views and close to shopping. We booked it sgain on our way back before glying home. We were on fhe 10 floor!!! Bugs crawling in the bath room, extremely old and dated would be a compliment. On a positive note the linen was clean and fresh.

Helpful?
10 Thank Awareness2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,302 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Property: Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach.
With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing