We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ilikai stands the test of time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ilikai stands the test of time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a great stay at the Ilikai. Awesome ocean views, great location with access to transit, easy walk to Ala Moana Shopping Center, nice walk to central Waikiki. Lots of great shops, restaurants, and bars within steps of the front door. Fast elevators, 3 minutes to the lovely beach. Very reasonable and convenient bellhop luggage service for storing those pesky bags on your last day, they'll arrange for your shuttle to the airport as well. The outdoor bar and grill was just the place to unwind and grab a tasty bite at the end of your action packed day in Oahu. Very nice pool and deck, just a shame they close at 7pm. This grand hotel will celebrate it's 50th birthday next year but she's kept her style with modern finishes and fixtures. Can't wait to get back. Aloha!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_and_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    823
    185
    40
    23
See reviews for
713
749
89
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Ilikai on the 14th September 2012. The room was exactly as described. Older style but renovated and fresh inside. The kitchen was ample for our needs and the fridge was certainly large enough. Cooling was adequite but the room we were in, Room 2012, was next to some ventilator shaft which was quite noisy. We stayed there for 10 nights and got "used" to the noise by the time we left. It isn't a relection of what the other rooms are like at all.

The bathroom was clean and we were amazed to find a toilet plunger in the corner. We wondered why, until... the toilet flooded over and over. It was quite disgusting to say the least. I have never seen a plunger in a room before and management said that we must've put something in that we shouldn't have. I can assure you that we didn't (other than the obvious) and I do believe it must be a common problem so to have a plunger in the first place. Luckily it only happened once.

Would I stay there again? Probably not in the same room (the noise issue). Probably not at the Ilikai as I would like to try other resorts a little closer to the centre of Honolulu. For the price and the accomodation, I recommend it and hope you don't have plumbing issues.

The Motel is truly grand and has a 5 star feel about it. The staff are lovely and helpful. It is close to many restaurants and has public transport right in front.

Room Tip: There are three main views, the Moutains, the Marina and the Beach. Beach view is by far the best wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cptslobodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steeler Country
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had just returned from a 7 day NCL cruise of the islands and decided to spend a restful night before flying back to PA the next day. Since there was 4 adults sharing this suite, I was fearful that it would be cramped with all of us and our luggage. I was surprised by the spaciousness and the large balcony to enjoy the views of the marina and the ocean. I would definitely stay longer next time. The restaurant and the bar were beautiful. We accidentally used the pool next door instead of the Ilikai's (which looked very nice) but after tipping the pool attendant for replacing the soft terry cloth lounge chair covers we decided to stay and enjoy the salt water pool and bar. It was an honest mistake that we made the best of.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter, they are all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QueenLatonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a great hotel for all ages. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and spacious,with a coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator and safe in room. Stayed on the 23rd floor, good views of Diamond Head and downtown, also beach if looked sideways. It is a little worn in places and the bathrooms though very clean could be refurbished. The ground floor restaurant was good value for the money. This hotel is at the very beginning of Waikiki and away from the hustle and bustle, which was great. We had a great time there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jm3295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Ilikai ia on the marina where "Gilligan" left for that fateful 3 hour tour.. The condo suites are fully self contained with a full kitchen, granite countertops, and large balcony, rooms are nicely furnished. The staff is friendly and accommodating, beautiful pool area, close to beach and just a short walk to the heart of Waikiki Beach, shopping, dining, and entertainment.

Room Tip: Request an ocean or marina view room, otherwise you will be facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texblondi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Ilikai Hotel has been operating in Hawaii as far as I remember. Remember the opening scene of the original Hawaii Five O. This place is great, look at the size of the rooms, they are simple,basic but is enough to feel comfortable and relaxed. The staff are really friendly, and you feel secure staying in this Hotel. The Ilikai Hotel has done some remodelling which has made the hotel even better. My family really enjoys staying in this Hotel.

Room Tip: Great place for the entire family. Simple, basic, but you get a really large room and the staff are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOB A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkland, wa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We booked our hotel rooms from a major US travel website. We stayed on the 20th floor with a full kitchen, microwave, refridge and a sofa bed. All the furnishing has modern flavor, granite counter top in kitchen and bathroom. The room is clean. Room service will pick up garbage and replace towel daily but they only did our bed for one day. Not sure if this is a standard with this hotel. We liked the full kitchen so we can save money on eat out. The room is a little bit crammed with 4 people especially there is no separate sleeping area. Living and sleeping is in one common area. There is no dinning table so you have to use the coffee table. The hotel staff was very friendly and they also offer beach towels which you can get from the office.
Some tips:
- the hotel is next to Hilton Village. You can walk over there to watch Friday night firework and also go in to take the beach walk and use lagoon. Hilton also has boat rental which is convenient.
- the hotel charges cancellation fee as soon as you book. (at least at the website we booked) We noticed that the price kept dropping. By the time we are ready to go, it is almost dropped more than 150 dollars for a 4 night stay. We didn't pay attention to the cancellation penalty when we first booked. Even with the penalty, we still got some money back after the re-book. Be aware.
- Across street, you have McDonald and Subway. Trolly and free shuttle to Hilo shopping center can pick up in front of the hotel. Ala Mona Shopping center is not far away.
- We didn't park at the hotel. We used the parking near Modern for the first day, which is 20 dollars. Then used the free parking behind the hotel during the daytime ( Maximum 6 hours). At night, we either use the hourly parking next to the free parking, which costs 6 dollars for 10 hours on weekdays or at the parking near Modern using their 7 dollars for 10 hours rate at night. It works out for us. Save quite a bit money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waikiki_sunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,788 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Property: Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach.
With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing