We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,331)
Filter reviews
2,331 results
Traveler rating
1,062
960
226
51
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,062
960
226
51
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hilton lagoon full kitchen waikiki beach rentals private condo jack lord ocean view ala moana friday night fireworks red lobster the hilton hawaiian village large balcony living area across the street valet parking fireworks show convenience store bit dated
Filter
Updating list...
1,520 - 1,525 of 2,331 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I recently won a one night hotel stay at any Aqua Hotels on Oahu! After holding off till practically the last month of the duration of the coupon, We decided to try out one of the Aqua properties. Our first choice was the Best Western Coconut, but sadly, Aqua no longer carried them as of June 1, 2012. Our next choice was actually a toss up between the Ilikai and the Aqua Bamboo. Because the Bamboo is on the main busy strip of Kuhio, we decided to go with the Ilikai Hotel, had requested a high floor.
Since we live on Oahu anyway, we wanted to just take advantage of trying to check in early.
We were told guest parking was valet only and was told a rate of $25.00. When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted pretty quickly with the personable Jeremy. He advised us that we would have in and out privileges and that the valet could be charged to the room. He later directed us to where we needed to go to check in. He was very friendly and didn't make us feel rushed, even though there were a few people waiting for their cars.
We were quickly received at the front desk by a smiling and friendly Rizelle. She quickly found our reservation and explained to us about the beach towel and beach chair services. I thought that was pretty cool that a hotel would offer those services, and at no cost at all. Provided you returned them promptly. To my surprise, I did get a high floor, and boy was it high. We got the 25th floor, one floor short of the penthouse. But we were happy!
The hotel lobby was very clean and airy. I knew they renovated and was pretty happy with what we've seen so far.
Entering the room, we were amazed at how large the room was! It was clean and was very presentable. Mind you, Ilikai is not a luxury, so we weren't expecting that. But for what they offer and the price, we were extremely happy. The free room coupon was for a standard run of the house. What we got was a high floor, mountain view room. The view, although not oceanview, was still pretty good. If we had checked in the day before, we would have been able to view the Kamehameha parade down below on Ala Moana Blvd.
We went downstairs to check out the pool. After checking with the concierge, she directed us to the pool area. The Ilikai shares the lobby deck with The Modern pool so we were somewhat confused. Ilikai's pool was pretty disappointing. Compared to the Modern next door it's rather small and enclosed. There were quite a few kids that day so there was no room for swimming. We decided to just go to the beach at the Hilton Lagoon for the rest of the day.
All in all, we were pleasantly surprised. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Never hurts to "request" for whatever preference you want at time of booking. You never know if you'll get it or not.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RCama808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHonolulu, General Manager at Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Aloha,
We are happy you selected the Ilikai and thank you for sharing the positive comments and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My family stayed for 10 days in 2 different units on 2 different floors and it was wonderful. My parents stayed in a studio condo and my daughters family and I stayed in a 2 bedroom condo. Both units were very clean, comfortable, and modern. The two bedroom condo was unit 1334 and it was beautiful. Two bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, living room, double lanai, 3 flat screen TV's, and plenty of storage space. One bathroom had a shower while the other had a tub/shower (and a badet:) The studio unit 1412 was also beautiful but definitely smaller and more fit for a couple. It had a kitchen, 2 queen beds, pull out couch and shower. Both of our condos had a ocean/marina view and we watched the fireworks from the lanais. The security at the Ilikai was top rate. We had 3 small children under age 10 and felt safe and secure. The Ilikai is definitely more laid back than some of the other hotels but not in a bad way. It is situated so that you aren't in the middle of the Waikiki chaos but you can walk or drive quickly there if you want to experience it. I really can't say enough great things about Ilikai. I would recommend it to everyone AND plan to only stay there for future Hawaii vacations. Everything was perfect and I cannot thank all of the staff enough. Mahalo and Aloha!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the ocean view side.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NoniG123342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The management and staff at the Ilikai Hotel & Suites were outstanding again. The room was on the 22nd floor with a great ocean sunset view. We were able to see the lighting of the lanterns. The sunsets were great. The housekeeping staff made things nice each day when we got back from the beach or excursions. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bonesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHonolulu, General Manager at Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Aloha,
Mahalo for staying with us once again and hope you are able to return prior to end of year to see our new renovation models that should be completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We statyed in unit # 938. If you are looking for a modern updated hotel this is not for you. The decor is in dire need of an update. The outside grounds are pleasant but was just lacking that wow factor. When we walked off the elevator to our room we were overcome by a smell of a nursing home, for a lack of a better term. The carpet in the hallway was old and we felt like were in a bad apartment building. Walking into our room we were greeted by a huge refrigerator to our right. Weird place for a fridge. The unit is small(which we knew) with Ikea type furniture. The sofa bed is a futon not a bed. The coffee table is old and outdated. The double beds are also very uncomfortable as I am pretty sure they were bought at Ikea as well. The kitchen is nice with newer appliances, but no toaster as stated on their website. The bathroom vanity is very small with no room to place any of your toiletries. The shower is ok but looked like they needed to clean better in the corners. Was turning black just a few days into our stay. The balcony had plastic tables and chairs, but a great view of the ocean. I think that might have been the most redeeming quality. The website says that their is ocean views by the pool, WRONG! There is no ocean views as it is blocked by trees and foliage. Maybe the trees are put there so the cigarette smokers can have some privacy. This was so gross. All the smokers congregate by the outside pool wall and smoke. So make sure you sit at the opposite end of the pool. The pool is extremely small and warm. We are in Hawaii where the water should be a little cold. Just not refreshing. If you want a drink you can walk all the way around the outside of the building to get to the bar. There is a bar attendant but had to go and get her. We did not eat at the Bar and Grill as we were afraid after seeing the pool. This hotel was just not up to par. We were looking to save a few bucks by staying in a condo but will pay the extra money next time for room service and clean sheets every day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caligirl280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHonolulu, General Manager at Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Aloha, This privately owned unit is not part of the Ilikai Hotel inventory and was rented through a different operator and therefore cannot share any feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed in condo 1904 for a week at the end of May 2012. We've visited the Ilikai a dozen times over the past 28 years and noticed it was looking run down on our last visit, about 5 years ago. It has since been rejuvenated, and seems fresh again. We love the location--walking distance to Ala Moana Beach Park and the Ala Moana Mall--and the retro vibe. We started staying there when we were in our twenties and we appreciated being on the quiet end of Waikiki at that time; we were happy to see the place is still that way. It is not the Hilton Village but that isn't what we were looking for. Our condo had good wi-fi and that was another important factor for us. We love the Ilikai and will be back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a condo so didn't have maid service or room service. Note the parking behind the hotel is $1 an hour, reasonable for the location. Recommend shopping at the ABC Store across the street for cheaper food and beverage needs.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Marla1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews