We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
$226
$213
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$322
$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $300/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$179
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prince Waikiki(Honolulu)
$440
$334
Prince Waikiki
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Modern Honolulu(Honolulu)
$333
$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$425
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$227
$188
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$313
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $303/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$215
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$320
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,297)
Filter reviews
2,297 results
Traveler rating
1,047
947
224
48
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,047
947
224
48
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshilton lagoonfull kitchenwaikiki beach rentalsprivate condojack lordala moanaocean viewfriday night fireworksred lobsterthe hilton hawaiian villagelarge balconyliving areaacross the streetvalet parkingconvenience storebit datedcentral waikiki
Filter
Updating list...
1,604 - 1,609 of 2,297 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Just a one night stay here, but arrived early (10am) and we were able to get in our room immediately. This was a bonus given the short visit. Room was clean, spacious with great balcony. We were able to watch the fireworks from our room. Our 9 year old son loved this hotel, but probably was the flat screen tv that sold him. Friendly, helpful staff. Evening hula and music entertainment was low key and just the right touch. Nice Christmas decorations too!

Location easy access to walk to sights or hop trolley. I walked over to the big mall to get some stocking stuffers...you can definitely find anything here!

Room Tip: 23rd floor with view of Lagoon for fireworks on Friday nites!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManitoMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This hotel may look old from the outside but it is lovely on the inside. The Ilikai is a very clean and tidy hotel from the entry to the rooms. We were in room 2442 which overlooked the Hilton lagoon and out to the ocean. The room was very spacious, big bathroom, 2 showers, seperate toilet, microwave and empty fridge. The lanai was also large. There is enough room for two queen side beds which would be better than two double beds. There is a laundry on every floor at a reasonable cost. The restaurants are reasonably priced with nice food. The Ilikai is central with a 10-15 minute walk into central Honolulu and a 5-10 minute walk to the Ala Moana Shopping Centre. If on the lagoon side you can see the Hilton's fireworks every Friday night. The staff are more than accommodating with any requests and were immediate in response. The best rooms for a view are obviously the Hilton side or over the marina. Very reasonably priced for Christmas/New Year period. The four stars is because I agree the pool area and gym are small, if this is the vacation you want, but you can spend time at the Hilton Lagoon or on the beach. We would definately return to the Ilikai as it meet all our needs.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the oceanfront rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alwysluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Ilikai condo #1710 in December 2011. We found the unit to be nice, but some improvements would make the experience even better.

The property is located on a main street, at the West end of Waikiki Beach, next to Hilton Hawaiian Village. It is a very short walk to the beach/harbor from the property. Nearby restaurants, which you can walk to in less than 5 minutes, include; McDonalds, Subway, IHOP, Outback, Buffalo Wild Wings, Red Lobster, and more ABC Stores than you can count. If you have never been in an ABC store, it’s kind of like packing a Walmart into a 7-11 store.

The property will remind you of the 70's and Hawaii Five-0, but is very well maintained. The grounds are very lush and tropical. They have a commercial business center only, which is only open until 5:00pm. If you need to use a computer/printer, the cost is $15 per hour. There is a nice large fully stocked market on the property. There is a Bar & Grill that serves good food at a reasonable cost, and has a view of the harbor and ocean. There is also a fine Italian restaurant on the roof top. The pool is in need of a make over. It’s on the smaller side, not heated, and has no view because of a tall brick wall surrounding it. There is no jacuzzi/spa. There is also a 24 hour laundry room, I believe on each floor. A wash and dry is $5 per load, and soap is $1.25 per load. There is also a medium size gym with the basic machines/weights. The only onsite parking is valet, which I believe is $12 - 15 per day with in/out privileges. All interaction with the hotel staff were excellent. They were all very friendly, professional, and helpful.

The Ilikai is a mix of hotel and privately owned condos. We stayed in condo #1710, which is a corner unit with fantastic ocean views and views of the harbor out of the main patio. The side patio has great city views. The sunsets are absolutely wonderful. The condo had 2 rooms/2 bathrooms. One room had a queen bed, the other room had two twin beds which could be moved together to make a king bed (the twin beds were uncomfortable). There are televisions in the living room, with basic cable and a VHS and DVD player, and one in the queen bedroom. The second room did not have a television. The unit was nicely decorated and clean.

Some of the negatives about the unit. You need pool passes to use the pool, but you have to go down to the management office to pick up the passes. The office is closed after 5:00pm, and on the weekends. There was an internet router in the condo, but no instructions or password given, so we could not use the internet with our wireless devices during our stay. The “stocked kitchen” was inadequate for the needs of a family. They were short on glasses, and the cookware was missing needed items. The one cooking pan was an old teflon pan, that was all scratched on the cooking surface, not the healthiest thing to cook in. Some of the utensils and cookware were not properly cleaned.

If you are staying at the Ilikai on a Friday evening, make sure to take a short walk to the beach side of the next door Hilton Hawaiian Village for the fireworks show at around 7:30pm. The kids loved it. There are many restaurants, shops, and services located at the Hilton, including a US Post Office.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Ilikai and Condo #1710. I would recommend this location/unit to my family and friends based on the price at the time they are staying. I would stay again if traveling with the family and needed 2 rooms.

Room Tip: Make sure to see the fireworks show every Friday at 7:30pm, at the Hilton Hawaiian Village.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SNAFU23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We enjoyed the Ilikai. Great location next to Hilton Hawaiian Village, close to the beach, public transportation. About a 10-15 min walk to Ala Moana mall with tons of eateries, shops, and also a Foodland grocery store. Many restaurants nearby also. Had an marina/ocean view for a great value. Do your homework on the different rentals. We had a very nice updated condo but they are all different in decor and updates. The pool was a basic square pool but sufficient for cooling off. Thought it was a great value for location and view. Clean, would book there again if we ever get back gto Waikiki.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stonyhill6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

If you're planning to surf at Waikiki, think twice about booking this hotel. Although we were well enough satisfied with the accommodation, the walk into the central Waikiki beach area (where the best waves were) and to restaurants grew very tedious -- it's a good 25-30 minute walk. The beach near the hotel doesn't offer very good swimming and the pool, as other reviewers have pointed out, is small and not particularly nice. On the other hand, the hotel offers easy access to the Ala Moana shopping centre, it is quiet at night, and it's close to the Hilton lagoon if you have young children. The accommodation at the hotel is good and spacious (if you want a studio or apartment) but housekeeping was quite slow making up the rooms. We had to ring down to request service on a number of days.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms would be quieter
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benandted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews