We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We enjoyed the Ilikai. Great location next to Hilton Hawaiian Village, close to the beach, public transportation. About a 10-15 min walk to Ala Moana mall with tons of eateries, shops, and also a Foodland grocery store. Many restaurants nearby also. Had an marina/ocean view for a great value. Do your homework on the different rentals. We had a very nice updated condo but they are all different in decor and updates. The pool was a basic square pool but sufficient for cooling off. Thought it was a great value for location and view. Clean, would book there again if we ever get back gto Waikiki.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stonyhill6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,538 - 1,544 of 2,214 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

If you're planning to surf at Waikiki, think twice about booking this hotel. Although we were well enough satisfied with the accommodation, the walk into the central Waikiki beach area (where the best waves were) and to restaurants grew very tedious -- it's a good 25-30 minute walk. The beach near the hotel doesn't offer very good swimming and the pool, as other reviewers have pointed out, is small and not particularly nice. On the other hand, the hotel offers easy access to the Ala Moana shopping centre, it is quiet at night, and it's close to the Hilton lagoon if you have young children. The accommodation at the hotel is good and spacious (if you want a studio or apartment) but housekeeping was quite slow making up the rooms. We had to ring down to request service on a number of days.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benandted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My husband & I stayed here in January 2011 for our honeymoon. Choosing a hotel in Waikiki was quite a challenge given the vast array of options, but in the end we were swayed by the fact that this hotel was at the more "quiet" end of the city, no loud nightclubs and party goers to contend with.

We loved our stay here. Our room was very large and had a balcony that looked out over the marina as well as a kitchen, big TV and lounge.

The pool here is quite small, but more than functional. The hotel is located next door to the Hilton Hotel so we often walked over there (a 5 minute stroll) and swam in the Hilton Lagoon (which is a public swimming spot) or the beach right next to it. The beach is a bit rocky getting into the water, but I think all of Waikiki is like that. The water was lovely.

Our room had a kitchen so we ate breakfast in our room each day (there's a supermarket not too far away or ABC stores everywhere) but ate dinner in their restaurant one night (Sarento's) which has a fantastic view over the city and the food & service were outstanding. There are a plethora of places to eat nearby and the Ala Moana shopping centre is about a 15 minute walk or 5 minute bus ride up the road.

Would we stay here again? In a heartbeat. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissPiggyEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

If you are thinking of staying at the Ilikai hotel and your plans include spending time at the pool, I would highly recommend NOT staying at the Ilikai. The pool at the hotel can maybe accommodate 50 people, yet the hotel has 25 floors of rooms. Also, if you enjoy working out, their workout facility is one level below pathetic.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The Ilikai was in a great location. Close to the beach, the restaurants, the stores, public transportation. We never wanted for anything! The hotel restaurant had good food, everything was clean. Especially liked the Christmas decorations! Staff was very accomodating. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is an extremely clean, well-equipped condo with many amenities (full kitchen, linens, beach items, etc.) and beautifully remodeled. We were in town for UH's graduation ceremony and stayed here five nights. Given that this is only a one-bedroom unit, it was spacious enough to host dinner for eight people comfortably. The unit is modern, quiet, has a wonderful view of the ocean and Ala Wai Marina, and the lanai has two very comfortable rocking chairs! Valet parking is $25/day (kind of spendy) but given that nearby self-parking is $20/day, the extra $5 is well spent on valet - car was delivered quickly each and every time. Online reservation process was effortless, and owner response was great when contacted. Would highly recommend this condo and will definitely book it again on our next trip to Honolulu.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Didn't know what we were in for but Vacations to go took care of us the Ilikai is a great big beautiful hotel. The people at the front desk were very helpful and the housekeeping staff was great. Walk out the bck of the hotel and there it is the beach the marina. Then there's Scubbersacross the street best place to have breakfast and the owner even chips in good food for a fair price. the place I'm retiring to is going to be around there the people are great the weather is the best.

Room Tip: Go to vacations to go they made it all happen on my budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockinray1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,233 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
772 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
660 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $240 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach.
With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing