We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positively wonderful hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Of all the available hotels in Honolulu, I feel we were lucky finding the Ilikai Hotel. 2 friends and I were running in a half marathon event and this hotel was close to the start finish. There are many nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel as well as a shopping center but the hotel has a signature restaurant on the top floor as well as a lovely restaurant on the first floor. The front staff was super friendly and we received a bonus when we were upgraded to an ocean front. We chose a 2 bedroom suite so each of us ladies had our own bed and bathroom. The hotel recently renovated their rooms and they are truly lovely and the kitchenette has granite counter tops. The grounds are beautiful and we were able to watch the Friday night fireworks display from the courtyard. On Friday nights, guests are treated to a hula show. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and would stay their again next time I go to Honolulu.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank runnerrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,116)
There are newer reviews for Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,603 - 1,609 of 2,118 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2011

Family of 4, (Mum, Dad, 16y/o and Nanna) stayed in 2 bedroom oceanview apartment on 24th floor for 10 nights. Even though this hotel is older in style it really is spotlessly maintained in all the common areas. The staff are wonderful and our daily housekeeper was so lovely. The Bedrooms were very roomy , plenty of room for empty suitcases. Only 1 closet in the hallway and no drawers in 2nd bedroom. 2 bathrooms was great, and a bth/shower in en-suite handy for small children. Kitchen had plenty of crockery/cutlery and pots/pans. No dishwasher or oven.The ample size kitchen had a Microwave , coffeemaker,toaster and cooktop and small fridge. Linen changed daily and toilettries and coffee topped up, no tea supplied. Very comfy lounge and chairs, 6 seater dining table and desk with free broaddband. Two lanais with outdoor furniture. In room safe does not fit an average size laptop however. Aircon in lounge area and main bedroom. There is also a washer/dryer on every floor and free daily newspaper. A real plus is the short walk (10 mins max) to Ala Moana centre and 15-20 mins back into Wakiki. We ate in the restaurant downstairs and found it to be good value. We also took advantage of the many ABC stores nearby.
The sunsets were mindblowing and the skyline at night was spectacular.We all found it very comfy and homely.
The pool is a great temperature and has a decent shallow end for toddlers and an equally decent deep end, around 8ft. Have to agree with previous posts re the "Pool Nazi", she certainly maintained the peace in the pool area ! No diving,jumping or bombing (naturally) it was like swimming scared!
Overall this is a hidden gem, great location if you dont mind a walk, beach is bigger, HHV is next door, marina out front, Ala Moana shopping close by, trolley and TheBus stops out front too.
Im sure to have forgotten something but hope this gives a fair indication of what a really good old place this is ! I would return in the blink of an eye.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gidget_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Our stay at the Ilikai was heavenly. The staff and concierge were incredibly attentive and the hotel itself is clean and beautiful. I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends. The room was plush and spacious with a separate tub and shower in a very spacious bathroom. The only thing I would suggest is for them to offer large beach towels for trips to the beach. They only gave us white bath towels for the beach which weren't large enough and seemed awkward to be the only ones on the beach with bright white bath towels. We stood out. Other than that, hotel is luxurious and the people were incredibly friendly and made us feel very welcomed. We also used the fitness center which is small but packed with all the necessities. We got a good morning workout before the heat of the day set in. The hotel is walking distance to nightlife on the beach and shopping in Waikiki. The hotel concierge has discounted deals on dining - ask them for a discount booklet. There's cheaper parking available at the boat dock. It's a short walk back to the hotel but well worth the savings.

Room Tip: Use concierge desk for best rate on car rental.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ucdavis_chick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Travelled to Honolulu with a friend and spent 10 nights at the Ilikai. Everything was great, we stayed on the 23rd floor with a view of the ocean and marina. We saw awesome sunsets!!!
The room was huge, with a small fridge and a microwave.
The lanai was also large and a great place to eat breakfast. Needless to say we spent a lot of time outside the room.
All amenities were very handy, ABC across the street as well as a MacDonalds. The mall was a short walk. We tried to buy most of our groceries at the Foodland, where they discounted our groceries as long as we provided a phone number.
Right next door to the Hawaiin Hilton Village and short walk on the beach to all the resorts along Waikiki.
The daily maid service was very nice and always well done.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice relaxing stay in Hawaii.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bonmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

On our first trip to Hawaii we stayed at the Ilikai on the recommendation of our daughter who had stayed there before. After our long flight from Auckland we could not have come across a more welcoming and efficient check-in in the atmospheric hotel lobby (complete with 24/7 reruns of the original Hawaii Five 0!).
Then to our room on 23rd Floor - wow what a view and only one floor below where Steve stood in the opening credits! Great room with two bedrooms and a fully equipped kitchenette that was exceptional value for money. Absolutely loved the retro carpets in the hallways too, so Hawaiian.
The location is fantastic, "The Beach" a short walk in one direction and Ala Moana Shopping Centre in the other. Finally the staff from the General Manager right through to the Parking Valets were without exception friendly and efficient. Can't wait to stay here again and would not consider anywhere else in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickandsue_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHonolulu, General Manager at Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Aloha,
We enjoyed hearing your favorable comments and hope you will be able to return in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

The Ilikai was a great option for our family with 3 kids (9, 4, 2) replete with full kitchen and short walking distance to the saltwater lagoon in front of the Hilton Hawaiian Village and the beach. The hotel was recommended by a local travel agent (Yaling at Hawaii-Aloha) when I asked for a 2BR/2BA vacation rental, and she suggested this instead. Did not disappoint because most vacation rentals don't have such an awesome location so close to the beach.

Location:
Between Hilton Hawaiian Village and the Marriott EDITION (a W-like hipster boutique hotel). Oceanfront rooms look out ont the marina and the sandy lagoon in front of the Hawaiian Village megacomplex. One wing (ocean facing) probably has just as nice views as the Hilton Rainbow Tower. One wing (facing Diamond Head direction, where we were) has ocean facing rooms but you can definitely see the Hilton Lagoon Tower in front of you. The last wing faces the Marina and the EDITION, don't know what those views look like.

Room:
Building is big with 3 wings, but the hotel itself is mostly on the high floors 20-25. The rest of the floors are condos or timeshares. The hotel floors seem recently renovated and are at the level of a suburban Marriott or Sheraton (but not Westin). The carpet was clean, the kitchen and bathrooms seem very recently renovated, although the shower faucets were not upgraded. Also, the windows are single-pane windows so that means you definitely hear noise from the Luau at the Hilton and also some street noise even on the high floors.

Rooms 01-10 face the marina, 11-26 face Diamond Head and the Hawaiian Village, 27-44 are on the wing facing directly into the ocean so 1/2 have views of the Hilton and 1/2 have views of the marina.

We stayed 1 week in a 2BR/2BA 1100+ sf unit at the end of the Diamond Head facing wing. We paid for the oceanview and it was totally worth it, with a view of the ocean, lagoon, but framed by the Hilton Lagoon Tower and the other Ocean facing wing of the Ilikai so it was not 100% unobstructed. But totally worth paying for vs the mountain-view.

Our 2BR/2BA could not be booked on Expedia and other sites and was only through available through my local HI travel agent (or directly on the Ilikai site). Great value, probably 1/2 to 1/3 the price of the Grand Waikikian next door. The room had 1 full master bedroom, and 1 quasi bedroom with 2 full beds. I say quasi-bedroom because it was separated by french doors so there was no sound insulation between the living room and the 2nd bedroom. The living room was spacious with 1 couch and 3 plush chairs. Flat screen VC, 6 person dining table. 1 work table with free wired internet (but no free Wifi unfortunately). Kitchen is typical apartment sized with an older electric stove and fridge, but no dishwasher. Great value and great for a 5 person family with young kids (or even older kids).

Amenities:
Pool is pretty small and unremarkable. Lobby is not very inviting and although it looks recently renovate it has a very "retro" feel. I think if I were in my 60s and a retiree it might feel pretty familiar and comfortable but I'm not. It was great for a family vacation but I wouldn't want to have to invite people over for business meetings or anything...maybe you could instead have drinks and meetings over at the Ian Schraeger designed EDITION next door which is very LA/NY/Miami instead...Nearby are some restaurants like Outback Steakhouse, Red Lobster, McDonalds, and a nice local diner (forgot the name). There is no Starbucks within walking distance and the local coffee place has very substandard espresso drinks, not as good as Starbucks. The hotel is walking distance (e.g. 15 min) from the Ala Moana Mall.

There is a public bus stop and a Waikiki tourist trolley stop right in front of the hotel, so very convenient to go to the main section of Waikiki by bus or trolley. My 4 and 2 year old boys loved the trolley and bus, about as much as they liked the beach. :/

Beach access is great. It is not "beachfront" but neither is 1/2 of the buildings at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. There is a direct path from the hotel over to the saltwater lagoon which seems to be public access, and from there you can just walk very quickly to the beach in front of the Hilton which is nice but not as amazing as the main Waikiki beach on the main strip of Waikiki to the east. Lagoon sand is not that fine but it is a great place for toddlers. The beach has nice fine sand and is also a very kid-friendly beach with very gentle waves and nice gentle slope.

I've only come to Honolulu 2X total so can't comment on this location vs. the main Waikiki strip (from the Sheraton to the Marriott). But I've very pleased with the recommendation from Hawaii-Aloha for a hotel with 2BR and kitchen at a vacation-rental price at a location that was much better than the vacation rentals I found by myself online.

I would definitely consider staying here again if I came with family again!

Room Tip: Oceanview is definitely worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank newlifetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHonolulu, General Manager at Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

ALoha,
Mahalo for sharing your detailed recap of your experiences and time spent in Waikiki and the Ilikai hotel! Your candid comments were appreciated and should be an excellent benefit to readers on things to do and see while on vacation. We hope you and family are able to return in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We had a beautiful ocean view 2 bedroom suite. It was absolutely breath taking having our coffee and meals on the balcony watching the ocean. We loved the private bedroom for adults.spacious and huge living area and the two beds for the kids meant not sharing. The beds were very comfortable for us, two bathrooms made getting ready easy for all. The kitchen was great for cooking meals in. Restaurants and groceries are more expensive so this helped with cost plus the waistline. Having the lagoon so close was great during a jelly fish warning. We only went in the pool once but it was nice and warm, although there are so many rules it is hard to have fun! The room and hotel in general was very clean, you can tell the staff really take pride in their work. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. One night we had noisy neighbours above us and after only one phone call to the frontdesk it was taken care of.
There is no hot tub, which would be a nice addition in the future. As well, don't try to get into your room early as it seems that doesn't happen often. We as well as several other guests had to wait until 3pm check-in. We changed hotels part way thru our vacation so we had some time where we didn't have a room, although they were great about holding our bags for us. Even some perishable groceries we had were put in their own fridge for us until our room was ready.
The valet service was fast and easy, and you have 24hrs in and out privileges. We did not use the restaurants in the hotel but the little coffee place on the main floor was good. For misc. items go to the ABC store across the street as the convenience store in the hotel was quite a bit more expensive. It was always windy facing the mountains while we were there so if you like sitting out on your balcony, a mountain facing room may not be the best choice, although the view is beautiful.
This hotel is at one end of the beach/strip but the walk isn't far and with the weather so warm we really enjoyed our walks down the beach.
There are numerous great restaurants in the area, groceries are good to get at the Foodland in the mall one block away, or at the ABC store. The Walmart did not have fresh meat and produce in their store when we visited. If you have a car, venture out of Waikiki for better food prices.
Thank you for such a wonderful, relaxing family vacation away from the snow!

Room Tip: Ocean view toward the top of the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sn0w_sucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,073 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,525 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,899 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $238 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing