We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be better next year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Waikiki Beach
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Should be better next year”
Reviewed July 4, 2006

The hotel is about two blocks from Waikiki beach. You can walk to the beach easily. And it was close to a lot of shops and restaurant, so it was convenient.

The hotel is under renovation right now, so part of the hotel was closed from outside near the front entrance. We were dropped off by the shuttle bus from the airpot at the front entrance. The entrance is "somewhat" handicap accessible. Since we had suitcases, I rolled the suitcases up to front entrance. But inside the front entrance, the hotel only had stairs. Someone with wheel chair would not be able to get into the hotel at all. And I thought it was a very bad design for a hotel where most travelers are using suitcases with wheels.

The lobby looks nice. The check in time was 3 o'clock in the afternoon. We got there around 2 and was asked to wait in the lobby for the room to be ready. While we were waiting, we picked up the pamphlet in the lobby. In the pamphlet, it states that all the rooms has 42" plasma TV. We were quite excited about that. When we got to our room, we didn't find the 42" plasma TV. When we called the operator, we were told that only the newly renovated rooms has the plasma TV.

The room was small but clean. It has a small fridge with a bottle water in it. It also has a small balcony. We sat there for a while, but was bothered by the street noises. The hotel provided soap, shampoo, conditioner and shower cap.

We reserved a room with ocean view. We were placed on the 21st floor. We were able to see the Waikiki beach from our room, although there is a tall building in front of the hotel, right in the middle of our view.

We didn't go to the pool in the hotel but we went to check it out. It has a small pool with a lot of pool chairs. The pool is located on the 10th floor, so it doesn't really have any view.

Overall, the hotel is good place to stay near Waikiki beach. But it should be even nicer after they are done with all the renovations.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ReviewDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,884
    1,662
    503
    144
    60
See reviews for
923
1,854
260
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (926)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2006

We are currently doing a 3 week tour of Hawaii, from the UK: first stop was this hotel for 3 nights. We had stayed there 2 years previously, and really liked it. We like the Kuhio Club level rooms, as they are at the top of the hotel, and the lounge with continental breakfast, and evening snacks is really nice.

We booked the room through expedia and got a good rate. We were aware through the hotel's website about the room rennovations, but did not know how they would affect us.

Here's what we made of the hotel:

1) Location - we like the location towards the diamond head end of waikiki (quieter) and its just one block away from the beach

2) Parking - they are still rennovating the entrance to the hotel (as they were 2 years ago!) so the entrance is to the side of the hotel and there is only valet parking ($12/night) - they are were quick at loading and unloading our luggage and car was brought quickly each day

3) Lobby - new lobby nice, more modern than previously, however air conditioning seemed to be not working so was a bit stuffy sonetimes!

4) Check-in- staff not overly friendly and we were not informed of the rennovations. Were checked into top floor 37. Was apparant that they are rennovating all floors from 36 down to 24 currently.

5) Room - bright, adequate, and clean, but def showing age. Small but functional bathrroom. Had nice view of ocean and diamond head from balcony.

6) Kuhio Lounge - no chages from 2 years ago. Relaxed, friendly service, good continental breakfast and evening hot and appetizers.

7) Elevators - new lifts now faster so no problems waiting as previously

8) Rennovations - the hotel is way behind schedule. They have blocked out floors 24 to 36 but when we were there they were working on floor 36 (just one below the top floor). On the Monday we were woken up by loud drilling and hammering in the room below. The workmen left the doors open so we could look over and see them working on the floor below. They are working from 9-4pm Mon - Fri. Despite apologies from the front desk we were told that no aleternative rooms were available. They really should close the Kuhio club floor temporarily and rennoavte that rather than leave it open. It seems that the hotel wants to get the extra bucks by keeping this floor open, but this is not acceptable while they are working on the floor below. The front desk should also have warned us that we could be disturbed by such loud noise.

The man in the club was not sure when the top floor would be done, and no-one was sure when the nerw rooms would be available. From the amount of noise and the display in the lobby it seems that the rooms are being completely gutted out and totally new baths with separte shower, bath, new beds and flat screen plasma tvs.

This hotel should be awesome when these rooms are available, but right now I would avoid it until these are available. If I was staying there soon (particulalry the Club level) I would contact the hotel to check on progress of rennovations, and ensure that I was not on floor 37.

Please see my review about the Grand Wailea Hotel, on Maui - our next stop!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank PsychDoc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2006

Arrived tired from a very busy first time trip to Los Angeles and Vegas, what a treat to be met by such friendly and helpful staff. The Hotel itself was beautiful, as were the rooms which could not be faulted. As we were with another couple the staff made sure we were next door to each other which always seemed a major problem where ever else we stayed. The lovely pool bar on the roof was so enjoyable, with varieties of happy hour drinks throughout the day, it also stayed open late which was a nice change from other hotels, again wonderful friendly happy staff. Our stay included breakfast, wow what a great way to start each day, forget lunch we were full until dinner, and the choice of food was many and varied. Helpful tour desk and free internet made our stay here even more enjoyable, we loved it!!!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank imfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2006

We arrived exhausted after a long flight and were greeted by the most friendly staff I have ever had the pleasure to meet.
Nothing was too much trouble, the hotel was great, the roof top pool deck and bar was a real treat again the staff were wonderful. The barman even went to the trouble of inventing a non alcoholic cocktail for me while the rest of my party enjoyed the jugs of mahtai on offer.
Our package included breakfast and wow what can I say, no need for lunch after that treat.
I can not praise this hotel enough, and not only that but free internet access for us non business customers without laptops (thank you)

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank auskez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 1, 2006

I thought the Radisson Prince Kuhio was a great place to stay. There was improvement going on but it did not bother us at all. The staff was great. They helped us with all of our tourism. Very helpful in every aspect. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Tx
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2006

The hotel enhanced our vacation as we celebrated our 4th anniversary. All the literature I read on the hotel stated it was being renovated. We stayed in a corner room on the 7th floor (the renovation is being done from the top down, so we saw no signs of or inconvenience with it.) The hotel employees were unusually friendly and courteous. The hotel is beautiful: an elegantly appealing lobby, alluring tropical garden, great dining in the Trellis Restaurant, and business center with 4 computers/printer/copy machine. Although not on the beach, it is only one long block from it and the walk is pleasant. An ABC Store (1 of about 40 in Waikiki) is located diagnally across from the hotel which made it convenient for soda, suntan lotion, gifts for back home, etc. The ONLY negatives we thought mentioning was that the pool is on the 10th floor and it was super windy that high up. Also (a minor item) the TV did not allow hooking up my camcorder to view the scenes I had taped during the day. Parking was $12 a day with ample parking spaces. We parked on the 7th floor parking, so we just walked into the hallway to our room. (The garage door-to-hallway was not locked during the day, but was secured around 7 pm.) We will not hesitate to stay here again on our next vacation to Hawaii.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank jerryfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange county, Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2006

We had no complaints at this hotel. WE had been forewarned about noise from the renovations, however we did not encounter ANY. We stayed on the 9th floor and had a mountain view. WE got our room for $80 a night thru Hotwire. We had no reason to rent a car as the bus service was about 50 yards away and the bus drivers were so helpful. Our room was very clean and housekeeping kept up with it on a daily basis. The jacuzzi was clean and appropriately tempetured. The staff at all of the desks were most polite and helpful. WE had no wait at check-in. As our son will be going to college there in the fall we definitely will be staying there alot so it was important we found an expensive nice hotel to go back to.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Property: Hilton Waikiki Beach
Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing