We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enhanced A Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Waikiki Beach
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2006

The hotel enhanced our vacation as we celebrated our 4th anniversary. All the literature I read on the hotel stated it was being renovated. We stayed in a corner room on the 7th floor (the renovation is being done from the top down, so we saw no signs of or inconvenience with it.) The hotel employees were unusually friendly and courteous. The hotel is beautiful: an elegantly appealing lobby, alluring tropical garden, great dining in the Trellis Restaurant, and business center with 4 computers/printer/copy machine. Although not on the beach, it is only one long block from it and the walk is pleasant. An ABC Store (1 of about 40 in Waikiki) is located diagnally across from the hotel which made it convenient for soda, suntan lotion, gifts for back home, etc. The ONLY negatives we thought mentioning was that the pool is on the 10th floor and it was super windy that high up. Also (a minor item) the TV did not allow hooking up my camcorder to view the scenes I had taped during the day. Parking was $12 a day with ample parking spaces. We parked on the 7th floor parking, so we just walked into the hallway to our room. (The garage door-to-hallway was not locked during the day, but was secured around 7 pm.) We will not hesitate to stay here again on our next vacation to Hawaii.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank jerryfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,453)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Waikiki Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,793 - 3,799 of 4,453 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2006

We had no complaints at this hotel. WE had been forewarned about noise from the renovations, however we did not encounter ANY. We stayed on the 9th floor and had a mountain view. WE got our room for $80 a night thru Hotwire. We had no reason to rent a car as the bus service was about 50 yards away and the bus drivers were so helpful. Our room was very clean and housekeeping kept up with it on a daily basis. The jacuzzi was clean and appropriately tempetured. The staff at all of the desks were most polite and helpful. WE had no wait at check-in. As our son will be going to college there in the fall we definitely will be staying there alot so it was important we found an expensive nice hotel to go back to.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Portland, Oregon
115
Reviewed April 20, 2006

We had a great 7 night stay! The hotel completely met our expectations. We carefully read reviews prior to booking and decided that it had the best reviews of hotels in its price range. We were getting married on Oahu with several friends and family, who all stayed at different hotels, so we were able to get a good comparison of other hotels. Everyone must understand that most hotels in Waikiki are older, rooms are not huge, elevators as slow (lots of buildings are 30+ stories high) and yes in tropical locations where its moist...your room might smell a little mildewy. We knew this ahead of time and brought a can $1 room deoderizer, and never had a problem. All that said, we had a great stay. The check in line was long, but in only took about 10 mins to get through. We booked a mountain view room, and were happily surprised when we found it was a corner unit with a lanai that partially wrapped (L-shape) directly in front was a great ocean view, with the mountains to the side.(not sure it it was because we were honeymooning or not) Even though our friends had paid more for "ocean view" rooms at a nearby hotel, we had the best view! Many hotels consider even a sliver of ocean and ocean view, so the added cost might not be worth especially at budget hotels. And your view will have high rises in it, there are very few spots with unubstructed views. The room was not fancy, it was a little small, but bright and clean. The ac worked good, we were pretty high...26thish floor, so street noise was not a problem. Even though they were working on 1 of the elevators during our stay our wait wasnt that bad...you're on vacation...why hurry through it? The restaraunt was good, but were usually picked fruit and sandwiches up at the ABC store on the way to the beach ( 5 min walk max) We really liked being on the more eastern side of waikiki, there were still hotels everywhere but it was a little quieter than the middle and the beaches near by were nice. We would stay here again and we would recomend it to friends!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2006

Had a room on the 31st floor that looked out on Waikiki Beach - awesome view..

The room was very clean and they even had turn down service in the evenings.

The location was great - close enough to walk to the busy areas yet the traffic was not crazy right outside our window.

The first day we got in around 5 and got to our hotel after 7. We walked only a block or two and had dinner at CHeeseburger in Pradise.. decent burger and the Kona Red Beer is awesome.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chillingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2006

We stayed in this hotel March 11th - 17th. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. Had some minor problems 1)one of the keys we received did not work and took awhile to get another one. 2)There was water on the carpet right outside of the bathroom and did not know where it was coming from. We were moved to a different room immediately. Other than these small issues I thought it was great. Location is wonderful. So close to everything, a pleasant short walk to the beach and it's surrounded by restaurants and shops. Felt very comfortable letting my teenage son go out on his own at night. Very nice area. Our room overlooked the garden and pond which was nice. The hotel is far enough from the busy traffic of Kalakaua Ave. that it was very quiet at night. Did not have the breakfast buffet but did have a very good breakfast our first morning there. Did not have a car and did not miss having one. All of our tours provided pickup at the hotel and I was glad to let someone who knew where they were going fight the traffic. Enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much and would go back.

Rain was somewhat of a problem but not enough to interfere with activities. Cool and breezy in evenings. Paradise Cove Lu'au was wonderful but wish I had taken a sweater. Fortunately for us, heavy rains and sewer overflows were the following week. Would hesitate however to visit Hawaii in March again. Would definately go at a time when the whales are there. Highly recommend "Dolphin Excursions". We took a boat out on 3/16 to the westside just below the north shore and ended up in the middle of a pod of humpbacks. We sighted at least 8 to 10 males chasing a female. The marine biologist was very informative and the boat ride was a blast. They stopped so we could snorkel on the way back and the water was crystal clear with tons of colorful fish. This was the highlight of the week. Also highly recommend Discover Hawaii Tours. The Circle Island tour was great. Tour guides were very friendly and informative. Stopped and allow plenty of time at each point of interest. Lunch at the Ko'Olau Golf Club was a treat. Food's so-so but scenery is incredible.

This Texan is in love with Hawaii!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank 123texastraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2006

I gave my husband a trip to Hawaii for Christmas. I booked everything on Expedia for a little under $2000. This included an ocean view room from Monday to Saturday, a rental car, and the airfare on Hawaiian Airlines. We got to the hotel before checkin time, but they were still able to give us our room. The staff at the front desk was so nice and the lobby is exactly as pictured from Expedia. The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk from the beach and there were a lot of little convenience stores around if you forget that little something. We got to our room and the ocean view is something that I think is a must when staying in Hawaii. It was a great view. There was one hotel blocking our view just a bit, but we could still see most of the ocean. Also, if we looked out to our left we could see Diamond Head which was a pleasant surprise. There was ample parking, but keep in mind that we had to pay $12 per day for parking. This is about average for the hotels around there. You could travel by bus or trolley, but there's nothing like the freedom of going where you want, when you want. The hotel also provided us with a free breakfast buffet every morning. This was not just any old continental buffet. They had eggs, bacon, french toast, bagels, and all sorts of fruit. The staff at the restaurant was also very friendly. Actually everyone in Hawaii was generally helpful and friendly to the tourists. I would speak more about all the activities to do around the area, but unfortunatly it rained about 95% of the time we were there. Not only that, but they happend to have the worst sewage spill on the day that we got there and they said you could go in the water at your own risk. Of course, I didn't even attempt to put on my bathing suit because it rained the entire time. We did look at the pool which seemed nice and would have probably been really nice to take a dip in, but then again there was the rain.

Basically I loved the location of the hotel, the staff was great and our room was great. There was a fridge in the room and a coffee maker. We had a little balcony which was great too look at. Since we experienced all the rain my husband and I decided that we had to come back again. Next time we had to make sure the weather would be nothing but sunny skies. The only reason I didn't give the hotel 5 stars was because the hotel is not exactly next to the beach and we had to pay for parking. Other than that the hotel was great. Keep in mind that if you do choose a hotel on the beach you are bound to pay much much more than we did. We decided that the ocean view and the 5 minute walk was worth saving some bucks.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank JamieF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2006

Stayed here for seven nights this month. Check in was quick -- everything about the reservation was accurate. Reception and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful. Was upgraded from a city-view room to an ocean view room because of my "gold" card. The room was very comfortable. The outdoor pool and hot tub on the 10th floor are wonderful -- great way to relax after a long day! The food in the bar and the restaurant are only so-so (tried each once), but the location is convenient to a good number of nearby choices. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Sron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,525 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $206 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing