We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Oahu!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Waikiki Beach
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2005

The only bad thing is that 3/5 elevators don't work due to renovation. However, the extra couple minutes waiting at the elevator are no big deal compared to the other perks. The hotel is one block back from the beach, so it's close enough to walk but not noisy like the beach front hotels. The breakfast buffet is great. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The room was clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,451)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Waikiki Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,839 - 3,845 of 4,451 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, Canada
111
Reviewed August 10, 2005

Stayed for two weeks. Reliable hotel - worth it if you get a good deal on the price. I usually prefer smaller hotels so will probably try the Ilima next time and make use of having a kitchen or perhaps if I have the bucks one of the Outriggers on the beach, but, as I was travelling with my teenage son and on a budget, this turned out to be a great choice with the all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet included in the price (which we never tired of), the pool area was a decent size - where families with young children also seemed well entertained, the mountainview from our room was lovely (hotel was too full to get an upgrade to ocean view) and the cleanliness of the entire hotel and friendliness of the staff made it very comfortable. The pool area had a good breeze which made suntanning very comfortable whereas the beach became too hot very quickly. The lobby was beautiful, rooms bright, tastefully decorated (okay, maybe the beige rooms were just a little bland) and nice marble bathrooms. Having read many reviews about the tiny bathrooms in other Waikiki hotels, I think these bathrooms were very nice in comparison. I also really liked the fact that at night this hotel's location felt very safe and quiet - being surrounded by other large hotels - Marriott, Pacific Beach and Banyan contributed to the calmer feel - travel a few blocks west on Kuhio (i.e. near Ohana East) and you'll run into much more noise and congestion (and a couple "ladies of the night"). The other plus at this hotel is the ample, easily accessible parking. Yes, they are rebuilding the elevators, leaving only three available, but I did not find the wait that big a deal or worth getting worked up about. This is not a luxury hotel but definately a big step up from budget and had everything we needed. Also found it worth having a rental car for 7 days and visited beautiful Kailua and Lanikai beaches on the windward side of the island and on the North Shore Turtle Beach and excellent snorkelling at Shark's Cove. "Oahu Revealed" is an excellent guide for these things.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2005

My friend and I stayed here for 4 days and the only complaint we have were the elevators. Only 2 of the 5 elevators were working so there was a substantial wait for the elevator, especially since there were 37 floors in the hotel. Other than that, the hotel was fine and had a really nice lobby and bar.

The rooms were medium sized, not too big, not too small. We had the mountain view room which had a beautiful view of a lush green mountain, palm trees and houses. The mountain view rooms also come with a breakfast buffet which is very worthwhile for an extra $8/day on Expedia. It is not a contintental breakfast -- it is a FULL breakfast with poi pancakes, fresh sliced fruit, bacon, eggs benedict, etc... The menu changed daily.

The hotel is only 1 block from the beach; a very easy walk. None of the hotels by the Radisson are on the beach (except the Hilton and Sheraton which are down the street), so if you book a room at another hotel thinking it's right on the beach, it's not. You still have to cross the street to get to the beach. Save the extra $50/night at these other hotels and walk a block to the beach.

Another good thing about this hotel is that they offer a hospitality room if you have a late flight. You get the room for 1 hour to freshen up before you leave. Nice ending to a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank manoloblahnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2005

I rate this hotel average. Below are some of the Good and Bad:
The Good: Location - Close to the bus line (across the street, if you're lucky you'll get Cousin Mark on bus 22!). Two blocks from the beach. Near many restaurants (walked down Kuhio to the right of the hotel or head towards the beach but cut through Koa and you'll see King's Village). There are 2 ABC stores across the street. It's near the Ali Wai canel for a nice morning walk. The Lobby is nice and so is the little garden with the Koi pond. We were on the 7th floor with a city view and also had a view of the Koi pond (view photos). Balcony was small but nice to sit out.

Bad: The room smelled musty (bring candles!) The bathroom was too small and a little outdated, we left the door open most of the time. The vent didn't work. The maid missed our room the first day. Three of the five main elevators were not working. The restaurant was okay for breakfast, didn't eat lunch nor dinner there.

Hints: If you're on floors 10 and below, use the Parking garage elevator, it's faster and less crowded. (the elevator is facing the conciege's desk), you'll walk right pass it if you head towards the main elevators. The doors into the room lock between a certain time, so remember to bring your room key. This is a great way to beat the crowd. We discovered this because we waited almost 15 minutes for an elevator during dinner time.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank glow4011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2005

Due to renovations 3 of the 5 elevators in this high rise hotel are out of service and have been since October, 2004. It is an average 10 minute wait to get an elevator. The rooms and bathrooms are small, worn and quite dirty, especially under the beds. The rooms are noisy from hall, adjoining room and street noise. The hotel fronts Kuhio which is heavily trafficked, noisy and hard to turn into.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank JJMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester, NH
538
Reviewed July 26, 2005

My wife and I spent 3 nights in July 2005 as part of our honeymoon. The best thing about it is the location. It's easy to drive to yet easily walkable to the beach, shopping, dining, etc. We didn't regret not staying at an oceanfront hotel at all.

The rooms are typcial Radisson; clean with the necessary amenities. Everything worked well. Our room smelled a bit musty when first entering. We could also hear the elevators, but we didn't notice it unless we listened for it.

The activities desk was a pleasure to visit. The older gentleman working there had lots of excellent tips for a few tours we did. The concierge was helpful as well.

Parking is convenient and easy to access, though it costs an extra $10 a day.

The pool area and poolside bar were well kept and nicely furnished, although the pool itself was quite small.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2005

We stayed at the Radisson Prince Kuhio for the first half of our honeymoon, June 27-July 2nd and enjoyed everything about it. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was a decent size and clean. We were on the 32nd floor and on the corner, so while our room was a Mountain View, our balcony wrapped around and we could see the ocean through the buildings (room 3219). Too bad we were too scared of the height to spend much time on there! The location was good, the breakfast buffet was very good, especially if it comes free with your room in a package. You can't really complain too much about free food, and there was a good variety. The restaurant otherwise was a bit dissapointing for the cost. Very slow service and just so-so food. The hotel is a quick walk to a nice part of Waikiki beach, and the location is quieter than some of the more central hotels. You can walk anywhere in Waikiki from the Radisson, so it is convenient and a bit nicer to be out of the throngs of people. The pool was really nice, and the loungers were very comfortable. The pitchers of Pina Colada's were some of the best we had. All in all this was a great hotel and we would definetely return!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank GeoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,524 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $206 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing