We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prince Kuhio is perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Waikiki Beach
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, NV
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Prince Kuhio is perfect”
Reviewed December 11, 2008

This was our second stay at the Prince Kuhio (first was in Nov '07) and we returned again for another wonderful Thanksgiving week. The stay was pretty much flawless. We stayed in an ocean view king on the 30th floor. We were fortunate enough to have a corner unit at the end of the tower which afforded a wrap-around balcony. The regular balconies are a bit small and with 2 chairs and a small table there's not much room, but the end units have additional space to spread out. Note the balconies are not very deep and they can get a little scary when a breeze comes through. While the hotel is not on the beach it really is only a couple blocks and takes maybe 5-10 minutes max to get there. Overall a very fun and relaxing time thanks to the Prince Kuhio!

  • Liked — Quiet Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cdglagola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,929
    1,707
    517
    152
    62
See reviews for
968
1,899
264
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (944)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bigred120281
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2008

I just returned from a fantastic trip to waikiki. We stayed at the Hilton Prince Kuhio, and loved it. All though the hotel is not on the beach, it is about two blocks a way not a bad walk at all.
The rooms are smaller, but they are all recently remodeled. The beds were very comfortable, and the room is very modern. The restaraunt in the hotel Mac 24\7 had very good food, but there are a number of other places to eat very close to the hotel. I would return to this hotel again.

  • Liked — Location, rooms
  • Disliked — the pool area
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigred120281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

The 35 floor Hilton Prince Kuhio is nestled among other highrises (as are most buildings in Waikiki) and is situated a one long Manhattan block off the beach. What separates this highrise hotel from others is its close proximity (to the beach) and an unobstructed and peaceful view of the mountains. Request mountain view rooms above the 25th floor for a spectacular view! Room 3101 is a personal favorite (and has a larger balcony). All rooms have a balcony (some larger than others) with two lounge chairs - perfect for outdoor relaxation. Room 3101 included a Mini Bar, Flat Screen TV, Insulated Windows, Large Bathroom with Shower (only), an in-room Safe and more.
A restaurant is located on the Lobby floor (Breakfast was tasty and food plentiful). The two story Lobby has beautiful floral appointments and a grand marble entrance. A sitting lounge is situated in the center of the Lobby.
A welcoming and pleasant aroma permeates the Lobby area. Valet parking costs a daily rate of $25 and I suggest calling ahead before retrieving your vehicle.
Caddy-cornered (from the hotel and across the street) is a corner store that sells items you have have left at home.

  • Liked — Quiet accommodations and serene Mountain views.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Smitty1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2008

The room was great, funky decor and great bathroom, its not on the beach but only about 10mins away. The business centre is good to access any emails, and the view from the room is amazing. I would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — loved it
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JasKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2008

We stayed at the Prince Kuhio for two nights upon arriving to Honolulu. The room was great - really well-done. I think that the Hilton did a number on this place with upgrades and it really paid off. Flat screen tvs, great bathrooms, nice lobby. Waikiki Beach is a couple of blocks away - not so bad. The pool and pool bar are okay - not a lot in the way of food - but the people there are wonderful. MAC 24/7 is great for people who just got to the island and are still not on island-time. Beware of the huge pancakes!

I would consider staying at the Prince Kuhio again if I made it back to Waikiki.

  • Liked — Great looking, clean hotel in the heart of Waikiki.
  • Disliked — Pool and pool bar offerings.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kafm2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2008

The Hotel lobby is quite nice, but the rooms are quite small. I originally was given a room that had an adjoining room door which was paper thin and you could hear the neighbours. I moved to a corner room that had no adjoining door which helped. I found the balconies lacked any privacy which made them less than enjoyable to sit out at. There is no bathtub in these rooms as well. I would say that if you were there on business and where not there to enjoy oahu then the hotel would work for you but I found the rooms to be disappointing.

  • Liked — good location,
  • Disliked — balconies lacked privacy
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sakology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in a "king bed deluxe oceanview" room and we liked it, the decor was very trendy, there were plenty of bath & hand towels, bathing products from Crabtree & Evelyn, a nice plush king bed, a reading couch, decent desk, electric radio alarm clock and a 42" plasma (or lcd) TV (with input connections for DVI,VGA, S-VIDEO).

The pool & jacuzzi is located on a big sundeck on the 10th floor, beach towels are provided here too and there's also a bar (with a TV).

The fitness room was surprisingly decent there's 2 cross trainers, 2 treadmills, 2 bikes, a free weights rack that goes up to about 30 kG, some exercise mats and of course a nice big fat plasma TV.

A couple caveats, yes parking is expensive at $25 a day (excluding gratuities), free wireless is only available in certain parts of the hotel (the pool deck and lobby from memory) otherwise you can pay for internet in your room via the LAN cable provided, MAC 247 have decent food though prices tend towards expensive, the hotel is sited further away from Waikiki so expect a short walk especially if you intend to head further down Kalakaua Ave, and despite its trendy interior the single bed room can become very cramped (try lugging out the ironing board when you have two large suitcases occupying floor space).

  • Liked — Decor, Big TV, Pool, 24 hour restaurant
  • Disliked — No free WIFI in rooms, small fridge, cramped room, expensive parking, a bit far from the beach
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelMa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
1,442 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Property: Hilton Waikiki Beach
Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing