We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation in Waikiki Beach and Honolulu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hilton Waikiki Beach
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vacation in Waikiki Beach and Honolulu”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A great room looking over the beach that was a block away. An ABC store was across the street. A $2.00!trolley ride can be taken in front of the building. Tour buses can be arranged at the concierge. Numerous events were within a quick cab ride. Great shopping to the largest mall is a 15 minute trolley ride and other smaller mall stops and upscale stores can be found on the way back. The trolley rides start at 9:30 and run until early evening. Sites in the area are Pearl Harbor, the Bishop and Military Museums. Celebrations are available every evening within a few miles and happenings are every night in the area.

Room Tip: Restaurant open 24/7helped when we initially had a time zone challenge.,the food was wonderful and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omsa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,950
    1,714
    520
    152
    62
See reviews for
982
1,908
265
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (948)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked this room based on the website and my room/view was exactly like the photos. I was in Room 3414 and had a great view of the ocean. The bathroom was large and beautiful. I like lots on counter space and this room probably had the most counter space of any room I have ever stayed in. I found the Hilton member lounge area very typical of any other lounge. Two hot items and fruit/veggies at night and 2-3 hot items in the am. You have 1 long block to the ocean but have good access to shops/restaurants. If you are there on Friday night, watch the fireworks that the Hilton Hawaiian Village puts on. They were at 7:45 pm in April. Only lasted about 10 minutes. You need to get a spot that allows you to see around the hotels along the beach.

After reading other reviews, I wish I had been given the option to use an empty room to clean up/change after checking out. I asked for a late checkout and was given a 1 pm checkout. Didn't allow me to do any water sports. As a Hilton Gold, I should have been given that option. Very disappointing and caused me to lower my ranking because it would have made my last 7 hours on the island much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ocean view - higher floor. Room 3414 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5MNgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and staying with us while in Honolulu. I am excited to hear that you really enjoyed the room, bathroom and the view! As a Hilton Gold member, you absolutely should have been given the option for a hospitality room, the only reason why you may not have been given that is because it may not have been available due to occupancy levels, but I do not want to make any assumptions and would like to apologize for the lack of option. We do hope to see you in the future. Aloha and Mahalo.

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

As Gold we were upgraded from a Deluxe Mountain View room to an Ocean View room on the 32nd floor. As a family of 4 we were worried about having double beds vs queen beds, but after a day full of activities everyone crashed into the comfortable beds and fell asleep quickly. Balcony was comfortable. One morning at 5:45 am the housekeeping crew banged on our door and woke everyone up! I was furious and called downstairs to complain. It turns out the when I added 2 nights to our stay they had to check us out and check us back in causing the snafu with housekeeping. Our restaurant bill was comped as a way of apology. We were happy with that and ended up staying up and using that morning to do the hike up Diamond Head.

Bathroom has large shower stall. The closet is also in the bathroom. As others has mentioned, if you use the bathroom in the middle of the night even with the blinds closed tight the room does light up.

Executive lounge was fair. Fresh fruit, was the best! Pancakes, eggs, bacon, toast, bagels were okay. Cold cereal selection was good. Not anything special but decent light breakfast. If you are thinking of upgrading to executive floor it probably isn't worth the extra $$. Denny's is down the street if you are a family trying to save some money or the breakfast at Mac 24/7 has good options. The Mac Attack is the best value in my opinion.

We would stay here again, but may also try another hotel just because there are so many other options out there.

Room Tip: 3212 has a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctbasketlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for the comments and review of your family vacation here in Waikiki. I would also like to thank you for being a loyal Hilton guest, we appreciate it very much. I am thrilled to hear that you were upgraded to an ocean view room and that you enjoyed every bit of it. I do apologize about the miscommunication with housekeeping, but I am glad that it was sorted out appropriately. We hope to see you again in the future. Aloha and Mahalo.

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

stayed at this property a couple of times..located a couple of blocks from the beach..good area..no complaints..rooms are clean and good size..gym is not very big but has all necessary equipment for a decent workout..lots of great places to eat around the hotel..will definitely stay again at this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel is very close to the beach. Great location just a block from Waikiki beach. Staff was so-so except for our bartender Britney! She was awesome. Great personality and a real asset to the property. Love ya Brit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfh3223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a fair six night stay at this property.
1 - The welcome was warm and competent and we were ushered to our room promptly. The elevators never disappointed. Very fast and hardly ever a significant wait.

2 - The room was, at first glance, decent enough. The warts came through as we spent time there. It was just adequate in size, not claustrophobic but not spacious either. The headboard was a flashy yellow vinyl and needs to be replaced. The vinyl is torn in spots and was probably really hideous even before old age crept in. The carpet was frayed where it met the tile floor in the entry from the bathroom. The wooden furniture showed bumps and bruises. The room looked like it hadn't been redecorated in several years which for a hotel as busy as this is centuries!

On the other hand, the linens were crisp and immaculate, changed daily, which is not very "green" and was not requested by us, but made the bed look very attractive...............when it eventually was made up! We had issues with getting the room cleaned. One day we returned at 1 and it wasn't done. The next day it was 3 and still not done. I made a bit of a fuss since we were on East Coast time and needed a siesta to get through the day. No siesta if the room is not done up and any minute the cleaning people will show up. Be warned: if you don't specify (which we eventually did) they may not clean your room until 5 p.m, which is exceptionally late in my opinion. We told them to do it at 9 and they apparently complied since it was clean when we arrived back each of our two remaining days.

The pillows were pure mush, supposedly down but much too soft to be comfortable. I finally asked and received a firm foam pillow and was more comfortable.

We were in room 1505 which faced the mountains and the view was lovely. Despite complaints I read on TA, there was no discernible noise at all.

3 - The bathroom was somewhat shabby. One of the towel racks was loose (probably from people climbing out of the tub and grabbing onto it). The bathing is shower over tub and the tub is a tad too deep. I got in and out with trepidation although there are bars in the tub area, once you're in! The wallpaper is starting to separate at the seams which is sloppy looking. And the general decor of the bathroom is at least a decade old. Amenities were adequate as were towels. Sorely missing was a vent fan. Everything gets steamed up (don't know why since the water is never as hot as I like it and certainly not powerful) and the mirrors are totally fogged up.

4 - Breakfast etc. As Hilton Gold we were entitled to visit the Executive Lounge for breakfast and "cocktail hour". Think your grandmother's finished basement! Very unattractive (although it was well windowed) and always crowded. The level of the food was comparable to Holiday Inn Express.....no better and probably worse. The hot items were usually not and pancakes, waffles, french toast (never all.....one each day) were always room temperature, formerly frozen and often hard as stone. Scrambled eggs also chilly. Cold cereal, oatmeal and toast all self serve and self clean up with numerous garbage cans around to remind you to toss your trash. No standards of dress at all. We saw shirtless, shoeless, cutoff tshirts. Lots of tattoos. Not a "classy" place at all. Evening 5 - 7 was cocktail hour with cocktails and beer for sale. Crudites were good. Everything else (again, one or sometimes two, should have been hot dishes, potato chips, packaged cookies) very mediocre. And crowded.

5 - The pool and beach. Pool water was immaculate and kept at a comfortable temperature. Problem with wind as others have reported. Really sometimes just impossible to sit there. Also no umbrellas. Hot hot sun and no umbrellas or shade? Strange. The beach (Waikiki) is one quite long block from the hotel. It's a public beach and there are no umbrellas or chairs unless you continue to walk quite a way down to a rental area. The hotel will give you a towel but sitting on a towel is not my idea of comfort. In essence this is not a beach hotel, despite its name.

6 - Valet parking was smooth and friendly but $25 plus tip per day is a lot! They will give you free bottled water and often delicious pineapple but it's still pricey.

Overall this is clearly not one of Hilton's premium properties. Sprucing up could do a lot but it will never be closer to the beach and the pool wind problem will never go away either. It was not terrible but it wasn't close to the best either.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rojersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had 2 rooms and were travelling with a 14 month old baby. On arrival, we were told that our rooms had been upgraded to ocean view, and a cot was provided without extra charge. The rooms were a good size and well presented. Staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The gym was reasonably well equipped and the small business centre, useful for having access to PC's, internet and a printer.

The hotel is reasonably well positioned, just a short walk to Waikiki beach, main shopping and restaurant area and Honolulu Zoo.

We were not able to obtain late checkout, but the hotel does provide one hour in an unoccupied hotel room, to shower and change for late onward flights such as we had. Having booked 2 rooms we used 2 hours, which was helpful with a baby.

The biggest criticism, is perhaps the pool area. On all hotel photos, the pool is shown to be quite large, through the use of clever photography. But the pool is quite small and the surrounding cement deck area large. The positioning of the pool deck on the side of the building, meant that it was always quite windy and not all that suitable for a toddler.

In spite of everything, there is something about this property, that you cant quite put your finger on, that doesn't rate it as great and the standard that I would expect from a Hilton property. It is one of the more expensive resorts, so I guess we were expecting something just a little more modern and with better and more facilities.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms puts you higher in the building, less noise and nice view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coltonvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review and comments. Although it seems that your overall stay was a positive experience, I would like to apologize that the pool area was not what you were expecting. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Waikiki Beach for your vacation accommodations. Aloha and Mahalo.

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,478 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Property: Hilton Waikiki Beach
Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing