We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,958)
Filter reviews
4,958 results
Traveler rating
2,240
1,894
577
167
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,240
1,894
577
167
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungemac restaurantthe prince kuhiohour restaurantocean viewwaikiki beachlobby barshort walk to the beachhigh floorvalet parkingsmall balconytwo blocksdiamond headpool area isthe main draghospitality rooman upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
3,171 - 3,176 of 4,958 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Although not on the beach, thus a less than "excellent" location rate, this hotel is located near the less crowded end of Waikiki with great Bus service, close to Kapiolani Park and shopping. Good ocean view from the south elevation or mountain view from the north. Restaurant is open 24 hours with great food, reasonably priced. Room was great with 42" flat screen TV. Hotel underwent $64 Million renovation a few years ago when Hilton took it over. Pool deck is large with salt water pool, whirlpool and Pool Bar. Staff is great and attended to our every need with Aloha. We have spent 2-3 weeks here every year for over 10 years and will continue to choose it whenever we travel to Honolulu.

Room Tip: South face has good ocean view 2 blocks away but above a busy street (Kuhio), however noise is not heard when balcony door is closed (we always take the South). North side is quiet with mountain view but has sun only in early morning. Higher floors offer the best views. Corner rooms have larger balconies.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel has all the right stuff. Near the beach but not on the main road so it was not noisy. The room was very nice, with a really top notch bathroom and shower set up. The decor was tasteful and modern. My room faced the mountain which was really nice. The lights at night were really pretty. The staff was very friendly and I have to give big shout out to Ryan at the valet/bell desk. That guy works so hard and is charming and helpful to boot. He helped me with cabs, directions, bus travel, luggage etc. The "Mac" restaurant has THE best pancake breakfast you will ever have. If you are going to Waikiki, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms are quieter and have lovely views of the mountain.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from spending the weekend at this property and loved it! We live on Oahu and decided to spend a couple nights in Waikiki while the kids were on Spring break. We usually try and stay at the bigger, Hilton Hawaiian Village Resort but their availability was very limited this weekend. They suggested their other two properties and we chose this one because of its location and price. We were not dissapointed! Room was clean with modern furniture and decor, the tub/shower was of good size, rooms were average size, enough for our family of four, we also requested a crib for our baby and was quickly accomodated. Linens, towels and bath ammenties were of great quality. Hotel is close to the Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium as well as Waikiki Beach which is a must do for our kids..although not directly on the main Kalakaua Ave., it is a quick 2 minute/1 block walk inland..no big deal..and no beachfront price tag either!! Just a few negatives..one being it is valet parking only with a $25/day valet fee..which was a little steep, but we've noticed that a lot of hotels these days are moving toward that direction of valet only..also, because it's on Kuhio Avenue, there is quite a bit of morning noise..garbage trucks, busses, etc..not the hotel's fault but if you're a light sleeper or like to sleep in it may be a minor setback. We originally booked for a city view, being that we wouldn't be in our room very much to enjoy any ocean view..but was pleasantly surprised when they upgraded us to a ocean view room..definately a plus and a nice touch! Service was friendly, housekeeping service was great..We ate both breakfasts at the MAC 24/7 restaurant downstairs and absolutely loved it!! Great ambiance and food..pretty steep prices for breakfast, but being in Waikiki, you're not going to find many deals anyway!! Overall..we loved our stay and would definately book a room here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We did like this hotel. It is clean and modern.It is great shape. Close but not on the beach we never found the short walk a problem. In fact, we liked being on the quiet end of the beach. The staff is excellent and very friendly. We had a small issue with the hot water when we first arrived and it was solved right away. We felt the staff was the very best part of the hotel. They seemed to be genuinely glad you were there. Our son made fast friends with the pool bartender who also had a son his age.He told him about a show at the convention center that helped make the trip really memoriable.
The rooms are nice but not large.The bathrooms are modern but the glas panels and glass door are kind of dumb. If you use the bathroom at night it is just like turning on the room light.Not a big issue but not sure who thought it was a good idea. The big problem is that the front of the hotel, the side with great ocean views is on a very busy Kuhio Ave. We were on the 21st of 37 floors. The noise through the patio doors was constant. Especially in the morning. Garbage trucks, buses and fire trucks were very loud. Don't expect to be able to sleep in once the traffic starts. To be fair it was quiet at night and I never had a hard time falling alseep due to any noise. Maybe it would be better higher up and very definetly better on the back side or mountain view side. We did hear the people above us at times which was disappointing. As well if people are talking on their balcony you can hear that just like they were inside your room.

We hated to say anything bad about the hotel because we loved the location, the staff, the restaurant is excellent, nice enough pool, it is easy to get around with all the buses stopping in front of the hotel.But the noise was an issue that seemed to get worse the longer we stayed. Don't expect a resort because this is a business hotel close to the beach. It is small enough that the staff recognized us at the bar and restaurant.And we liked that.

I don't think you can beat the value but if you like a quiet room you need to be very sure where you are in the hotel before you book.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the top or on the mountain view. The ocean view is excellent and help take away the business hotel feel. Lower Kuhio street view rooms would be a definite problem due to noise.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canuck642011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here one night while in transit. The hotel is lovely, and located just a few blocks from the beach. My room was a good size, comfortable, on a high floor, clean & modern. I could see the ocean. Ate dinner in the restaurant - had the night's special, some type of fish - and it was delicious. I found that some of the staff members at the front desk who assisted me at check-in and with questions were efficient, but not particularly friendly, enthusiastic, or happy-looking. For a Hilton hotel, I expected a little bit warmer welcome & customer service. (On the other hand, the waitress at the restaurant was excellent!) During the night - about 11:30 or 12:30, the hotel fire alarm went off. Not what you want to hear when you're sleeping... especially when you're high up. But I waited in my room - instructions came through the in-room speaker that they were checking things out. And then that it was a false alarm, all was OK. Overall, a very nice place - and with some happier faces, it could be excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WItravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews