We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Waikiki Beach
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here end of January. Hotel is nice, big lobby, great restaurant, Mac 24/7. Staff throughout hotel is very friendly. Rooms are normal size hotel rooms with a lanai/balcony. Bathrooms are great, recently remodeled, with huge shower. But... Part of wall to bedroom is glass, so light shines through. Annoying if somebody uses the bathroom in the middle of the night. Housekeeping was flawless, very friendly. Location is good, less than 5 minutes walking to beach, shopping, restaurants are also close by. Beware of walking Prince Kuhio Street at night though, lots of prostitutes a couple of blocks away. What stops me from going back is the street noise. Windows and sliding door are regular double pane windows and don't keep the street noise out. Prince Kuhio Street runs parallel to the beach, one block away, so there is lots of traffic until late into the night. Our room was on the 4th floor so maybe there's less noise in higher levels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eqofsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the amenities that we have to offer, especially our prime location. I would like to apologize however about the noisiness of the room. We are currently looking at ways to take care of that on the lower floors. Aloha and Mahalo.

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,857
    1,633
    492
    142
    59
See reviews for
909
1,807
260
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel from the 6 th of Feb till the 12th of Feb.When purchasing this online we chose a queen bed and when we arrived we where given a twin room I went down to speak to someone and I was told they didn't have a queen bed after exposing me and my husband where there for our honey moon a queen room suddenly became available !

Twice we ordered room service the first time I ordered the pork samdwitch with cheese and then was called back later with a phone call stating they no longer put cheese on the burger they just had not updated there menu.The second time we where given the wrong food !

We thought we would try our luck at the restaurant but didn't even make it though the doors as we waited for close to 10mins to be seated as staff looked at us but never acknowledged us so we just walked out !

Very disappointing stay I don't think the Hilton has level as service as Sydney .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Aloha and thank you very much for sharing your comments on the recent stay you had with us. I would like to also thank you for bringing these issues up, as we are always working on bettering ourselves for our current and future guests. I greatly apologize for the lack of service that you have received with our room service department as well as in the restaurant. I will be sure to mention these occurrences to the Director of Restaurants so that this doesn’t happen again. Mahalo.

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is farther from Waikiki Beach than the picture represents. The room was smaller than the rate paid seemed to represent. House keeping was very good. Friendly staff, but remember they work on Hawaii Time..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember04022015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review. I would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations this time around. Thank you very much for the positve words about the staff. Mahalo.

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights in total; spread over two weeks. We took the cruise in the middle of our stay. Our executive level rooms (Levels 35 & 36) we perfect on each occasion, but the executive lounge leaves a lot to be desired when it comes to food and beverage and the lounge did not provide access to beverages for the entire day. I think someone forgot that people actually pay extra for the executive lounge access and it would be good to have a little more for our money in that respect.

However, on the upside, this is a very comfortable and relaxed hotel and the staff go out of their way to be helpful without sacrificing their professionalism. The executive level rooms do provide a fantastic view of the beach or mountains; depending on your preference and rate. Another bonus is they have a 24/7 cafe and although choices may be limited (if you are into healthy eating) it is handy if you come back late from a tour or need to leave very early. An alternative to eating at the hotel is the ABC store on the adjacent corner which has snacks and alcohol; as well as all the touristy rubbish you can imagine.

Kit on Reception was particularly helpful and went out of her way to put us into a room early, after we returned from the cruise; we really did appreciate her efforts. I would stay there again but probably not pay for the executive level.

The name is confusing to some tour operators and taxi drivers, so be sure to emphasise that it is the Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel. Some operators still call it the King Kuhio/Hilton, don't panic; they haven't caught up with the current name. Just make sure they understand it is not the Hilton Village but the "other one".

Room Tip: If it is your first time in Honolulu, go for one of the higher level rooms with an ocean view. Unli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14BUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just a long block from the beach and all the shops. Pricey but was the only place we could get on short noice.
They have a restaurant which we ate at several times. But went across street for special dining.
Over all the rooms were nice and looked like updated. The staff were all helpful. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have better views. Lower ocean views get all night car noices. We had both ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAWAII
Level Contributor
141 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is NOT the Hilton Hawaiian Village which has its own private beach, this is the Hilton Waikiki Beach which is on Kuhio Street (dealers and prosties galore) and is six blocks from the ocean......check out the google map location. That being said, it's a nice, clean hotel with all the amenities. IT IS NOT A RESORT. It is just a hotel. You want quiet aloha atmosphere, stay at the Hawaiian Village. You want a nice hotel in the honky tonk area of Waikiki, stay at the Hilton Waikiki Beach. One thing that bugs me is their website saying they are a few steps from the ocean. That is a lie! Again look at the map.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank SURFER_DUDE44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at Hilton Waikiki Beach from 17 to 28 January 2013. We had two rooms. My husband and I had an ocean front room and our two daughters had a mountain view room. As requested, they were both on the same floor. In this case, we were on 24th floor. The lobby is very spacious so various groups are able to sit together( yet apart from others) quite easily. Our rooms were very nice and spotlessly clean. Plenty of towels of all sizes and high quality toiletries. From our balcony we had a lovely ocean view. Yes, there is one building between the hotel and the beach but it did not detract from the view. The balcony accommodated two chairs and a small table and whilst not enormous, was fine for a cup of coffee and a relax. Having multiple lifts minimised wait times to go up to or down from our rooms. There are trolley and bus stops right outside the hotel. A one block walk will take you to the waterfront strip and the hotel is situated towards one end of the strip. It is a longish walk to the other end, near the Hilton Hawaiian Village, but with plenty to see it does not seem arduous. It is a much shorter walk to the vicinity of the Outrigger and the International Market Place and lots of eating places. We would stay at the Hilton Waikiki Beach again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LavenderBlueAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Property: Hilton Waikiki Beach
Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing