We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Interesting Hotel with a Great View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waikiki Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Waikiki Beach
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Interesting Hotel with a Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is not on the main drag of Waikiki but just a short walk to the beach. We are HH members and there was a slight misunderstanding on check in but was quickly resloved. My only issue with this hotel is with the executive level perks. Light Breakfast and Afternoon Snacks are served on the lower level of the hotel. It is rather small and had little or no air conditioning with no view (City view, Ocean view would have been nice). It was tucked away almost in the basement. As a Hilton Gold member I would think this would be on an upper floor with seating and some sort of view. When we went down to the lounge there was no where to sit with our food and beverages and some were on the stairs or sitting on the ledge in the computer area. Not executive style to us so we left and ate elsewhere. The room was wonderful..clean confortable and well appointed. Yes we did have an ocean view and it was spectacular. We would stay again on our next visit to Hawaii and would hope the executive level lounge would be relocated out of the basement area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjrdnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,592
    1,437
    426
    126
    47
See reviews for
760
1,539
235
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (831)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Not very happy with this hotel. One of the "old school " Hiltons i call them. Poor design, Staff helpful, but the results arent very good because of (management ???) ie. Helpful waiter, but the restaurant food was extremely dissapointing. Had a couple meals there and not happy with anything. To summarize the food - someone thinks that making EVERYTHING "special" ; like smoked pepper bacon, with potatoes with some sort of red spice coating, with ...... you name it- will add up to a great breakfast. It doesn't.
The elevators and the restaurant entrance are in the same ten square feet despite a massive lobby. You end up fighting your way through a crowd of every other guest to get to one or the other. the room- not well laid out or restful, and the color scheme was a slap in the face. Bright yellow and red/purple walls and carpeting in the hall.
Room design average or worse- A fellow traveler almost walked into the glass window in the bathroom wall in the middle of the night. Shower water flow not even close to adequate.
Work out room is small. Pool is small. etc. I think it's basically an overflow hotel for business personnel from other sites.
As for location, it is on Waikiki- but a couple blocks from the beach and Kalakaua Ave. They claim one block, but it's a Loooonnnggg block If you want to be at a Hilton and near a beach, make sure you're at the Hawaiian Village.
Once you've stayed at the Hyatt or Marriott, or one of the hotels right on the beach, it's a pretty big let-down......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dairybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We regret we were not able to provide you with the dining experience you expected. We are constantly updating our menu offerings and your comments will help us improve in this area. We will also keep your comments in mind as we work to update and improve our property to provide the best guest experience possibly for all guests. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The first 2 days of our trip were at the Hilton Waikiki. It's a great location to walk anywhere in Waikiki. Our first morning,we walked Waikiki Beach. Then we walked to Honolulu Coffee for a wake up. The balcony overlooking the beach was great and the side view of Diamond Head was great at sunrise.
The cafe in the hotel is open 24 hours. Try the Pho style soup. Room service to get the day started is great. Don't forget the coffee maker in the cabinet, as we did for the 2 day stay. Kona coffee awaits.
2 blocks away is the Honolulu Zoo,it's a great place to go.

Room Tip: Don't get the "city view". Go for the "mountain view" or "ocean view&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayoplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel was very nice and the location is only one block away from the beach. The staff were also very friendly

One thing that annoyed me was that you had to pay for wifi unless you went to the foyer. I think that wifi should be free to all guests as it should no longer be considered a luxury. I have stayed in hotels that charge 1/3rd of what the Hilton charge and the provide free wifi, so it seems like a bit of a revenue earner to milk some further cash from patrons.

Also it is possible to have the shower screen glass perfectly clean without soap build up. Maybe the cleaning products need to be adjusted.

However having said that it is still a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Very nice hotel. Great location. At about 1 block away from Waikiki beach you get the closeness of everything without all the noise of being right on the beach. Beautiful room with a small deck, comfortable bed, nice tv and really nice shower. Only negative was the showerhead. For a nice glass and tile shower, I would expect a nicer showerhead.

Really nice pool located on the roof, it was big with a hot tub and bar and lots of chairs available. The restaurant was great. The restaurant has a pancake challenge that was features on Man vs. Food. While it’s way more pancake than is needed, they are absolutely delicious. The staff were very friendly and helpful when asked about questions things to do, bus routes and restaurants.

Only other negative comment is that they charge for internet access. It’s free in the restaurant and the lobby, but it’s not available for free in your room.

Would definitely recommend the Hilton Waikiki beach to my friends.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have less noise than lower rooms, we had a mountain view room, which was very nice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fife_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

the "professional" photos depicting this property are manipulated and "streched" making the hotel shots seem wider and bigger than they really are. This is not the famous Hilton Hawai'ian Village but a recent precurment by Hilton that is not as fancy but just feet from the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IkePono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Moved here from the Sherton PK and it's newer but curiously sole less. There trying hard to be Hawain but struggle to pull it off. More corporate than I hoped. But don't let me discourage you. If your looking for this sort of thing it's fine

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santafesoaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,663 reviews
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Park Shore Waikiki
#15 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Property: Hilton Waikiki Beach
Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing