We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice rooms, but not on the beach.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Waikiki Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Waikiki Beach
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
svenfly2
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, but not on the beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is very nice and the rooms are great. Big walk in shower, bathroom overall is great. The beds are comfortable, comfy comforter. The location is ok, but not great. It's a 5 minute walk to get to the beach. The hotel is located right behind the Marriott, but again it's close enough to all the restaurants and Waikiki Beach. The pool is nothing special, rather small actually, but then again the ocean is 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svenfly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,729
    1,537
    460
    133
    51
See reviews for
824
1,683
250
450
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
427 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hilton Waikiki is a lovely hotel, but there are better options on Waikiki and much better options on Oahu. The resturants are good and the beach is lovely, but the hotels at the other end of the Waikiki offer better views and more entertainment options nearby. We've never been disappointed when we've stayed at this Hilton and the value is very good for a beach front property on Waikiki.

Room Tip: The view is worth the extra money. Look for upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

we stayed here last minute due to better price than our other booking. the only let down was the very tiny balconies with no privacy. we got free breakfast which was great and was a 24hour restaurant as one morning we needed to leave at 5.30am so it was very convinient. even after we checked out they gave us a room for an hour to freshen up before our flights. it is a block away from the beach,but we were busy doing activities that it didnt really matter. nice favilities and good price for waikiki.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed at this Hilton-Prince Kuhio for a family trip (all adults). Our higher floor had great views of the beach from our balcony, and mountains/city/beach from our floor's lobby. The concierge there is awesome for planning excursions and the food at their 24-hr restaurant was affordable and yummy. There were free apples and water in lobby, outdoor pool and a gift shop. The room was okay and included a little fridge. They let us check out late at 1pm and even offer an hour in a room after 3pm your day of check out...we went to beach then came back to shower before heading to airport. Most importantly, the hotel is only a couple blocks (3min walk) from beach and main strip.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeRock04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Overall the Customer Service at this hotel was the highlight of our stay! Upon initial check-in, we were advised that they were unaware we were even staying and they had no booking for us as our holiday company hadn't booked, and passed on our details to them. The agent then asked if I had our booking confirmation, and as I only had it via email she even escorted me to the back office so I could use their computers to print it out for them. Once they had this it was all smooth sailing! She promptly made a booking for us in the hotels own system and arranged for the hotel to bill my holiday company and then proceeded to check us in at 8am, which was 7hrs before normal check-in time!
After check-in we proceeded to our room and were a little surprised! As our booking hadn't been properly arranged the hotel didn't have any Executive king rooms available so we had to be given a Double room instead. We had been advised of this at check-in, however as there were two beds in the room it was extremely cramped and looked overly small. Later that afternoon we asked reception if they had any king rooms available now after people had checked out, explained what had happened without booking, and the front desk duty managed upgraded us to an Executive King Suite on the top floor of the hotel!
If I was rating this hotel based on a standard executive room, I’d have to say I wouldn’t bother staying here. The rooms are small, cramped, and are pretty much standard rooms that other chains offer for cheaper! On another down side the executive lounge is beyond bad! The breakfast on offer each morning in the lounge was dismal to say the least, the seating was nowhere near adequate for the number of people staying, and as it’s located below ground level the views are non-existent! However basing our stay on the Suite room, the hotel is amazing! The suite was extremely spacious, well set out and very clean. If you are planning on booking a suite I would give the Hilton a try, however if you are just after a standard room I’d look elsewhere!

Room Tip: Go for a high level room wit ocean views. Stay away from mountain views as these are on the opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hotel is well-situated at the south end of Waikiki beach. Pool on the 10th floor gets chilly in the afternoon. 2-block walk to the beach is short and easy. Beds are on the soft side, linens are very nice. Renting a car at this location is a good idea as it is not close to central Waikiki. However, beware of horrendous valet only parking rates ($25/day). Weekly parking is available next door at the Banyan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller5463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is overpriced just like any other hotel on Waikiki. The hotel was neat and clean but that's about it.

The balconies are simply tiny, arguably the tiniest on Waikiki.
The room coffee is terrible probably to make the guests purchase it at the Mac24/7 cafe in the lobby. Tried the restaurant dinner once and never returned because of poor quality of the food and the funny smell of the place.
The pool and the pool area are simply too small for a such a big hotel. Also, you constantly need to move around because of the moving shadow from the building.
The hotel charges almost $20 to view some movies and $10/day to use WiFi in the room. So many guests are using the free WiFi in the lobby.
The hotel also charged us an extra $40 and never bothered to explain this fee.

Highly unlikely we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaa977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Park Shore Waikiki
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Property: Hilton Waikiki Beach
Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing