We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel No Complaints!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Waikiki Beach
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights my partner & myself and my 21 yr old son & girlfriend. Had two ocean view rooms on the 20th floor.. Could not fault them.. Most comfy bed, beautiful view, the hotel is spotlessly clean in a central accommodation close to beach & shops walk to everything without being in the middle of the noisy area. Best of all the hotel had no noisy kids running around, the pool area was great to have a quiet drink or two in the afternoon. We found the hotel accommodation & facilities leaned towards business or an adults getaway. There are plenty of other family orientated hotels in the area & we found this to be an adults haven. Happy hour in the main bar was well utilized by many guests great spot to sit & listen to the free live music & utilize the free wifi.. If i had to find any negatives we had a couple of minor glitches with administration side of things but were rectified immediately. We holiday in Hawaii every couple of years and feel we have now found our regular accommodation from here on.. Would definitely recommend for couples, friends or solo..

Room Tip: ocean view is well worth the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debi_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Mahaaaaalo! Thank you for the 5 stars and no complaints review. Nothing is more delighting than great words about the property and a lovely summary about your stay. I am thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time and enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come back to Hawaii. Aloha and Mahalo once again!

Thomas Foti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,128 - 3,134 of 4,576 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

Ah, Hilton Waikiki. Thank you for having government rates and allowing my husband's job to block off rooms here!

This is not THE Hilton in Honolulu - as in, the sprawling, more luxurious Hilton Hawaiian Village (which was all booked up when we tried to get a room there; my husband loves that place). But the Hilton Waikiki, a short walk of 1.5 blocks or so from Kuhio Beach (one of the best parts of Waikiki, in my opinion) is a great stay.

The rooms are FANTASTIC. The bed - oh the bed! - sooo comfortable. The pillows (I requested extra, I loved them so much) are divinely squishy. We had a view of Diamond Head (sadly, not the ocean, but I shouldn't complain) that was magnificent from our 21st floor balcony. Some people have complained about the window walls separating the bathroom - it is not a big deal. If you want privacy, close the blinds and you're a-ok.

The pool, located on the roof of the 10th floor, is quite nice. I really liked the lounge BEDS they have out there (about 4) scattered around the perimeter. There is also a pool bar to serve all your midday thirst needs. And lest I forget, there is also a 24/7 restaurant (Mac 24/7, aptly named) that serves pretty great food - albeit, not cheaply - but room service is PROMPT.

Our experience with customer service was a bit shoddy. We had tacked on an extra day with our Hilton Honors points, and when we confirmed this at the front desk, the gentleman said there was "no record" of this reservation. He fiddled around with the keyboard for quite a while and just concluded that we had absolutely no reservation for the extra day. I called Hilton Honors, quite worried, and they confirmed that we were - and had been - most definitely booked. I went to a different front desk associate who was able to confirm this within seconds. Maybe the first guy was in training or something, who knows, but that was a bit much to not be able to locate our reservation.

Downside: wi-fi is only available in the lobby or the pool area. That really, really surprised me that a nice place couldn't make internet accessible to all of the guest rooms. Not a huge complaint but it made for some inconvenience when I had to go all the way down to the pool or lobby just to look up an address. Also, parking is an astronomical $25/night. You can go across the street to the Waikiki Banyan and park for $12 a day instead.

Overall, a good place to stay. Would rather opt for a more beachfront place next time, but definitely would have no problem staying here again!

Room Tip: Government rates apply!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Ah, thank you for the very well thought out and articulate review, and for choosing our property for your recent stay in Waikiki. I am thrilled we were able to accommodate you and your husband while he was on business. Thank you for all the great comments about the rooms, the bed, the pool and the restaurant. I apologize about the misstep at the front desk, we do have a number of agents in training, and this review will help us on what needs to be brushed up. Now for the great news, drum roll please… the hotel went completely wireless just a few days ago, so walking down to the lobby or pool is not necessary anymore! Aloha and Mahalo!

Thomas Foti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Had a great view from our balcony. Room service was delicious. Bed was super comfy. Valet was easy in, easy out. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go with ocean view. You can see the beach, diamond head, and the lights of the city at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you for the 5 stars! I am ecstatic to hear nothing but great things about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Aloha and Mahalo!

Thomas Foti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

After spending a week at Hilton Waikiki Beach (known to locals as Prince Kuhio), I have to say I agree with most people having written reviews about this place.
Check in experience was excellent, hardly any lines and very efficient personell.
Rooms are smaller than most hotels and as other reviewers mention the glass between the bed area and the bathrooms are not practical, however they are pretty clean. The shower curtains smell moldy a bit.
We paid for an Ocean view and though blocked by another building the view from the 24th floor was pretty decent.
Elevators are fast and plenty.
mac 24 the restaurant is a bit overpriced but its got good pancakes, the best deal being the $16 MacAttack that a normal person would never be able to finish.
The pool area was way too windy on the 10th floor. We were never able to lay out and relax, however the bartender Myles, was amazing and very friendly.
The concierge desk wasnt very informative, seemed like they had ties to certain vendors only and tried to push them on you. We ended up with an expensive Dolphin snorkel tour that was not worth it.
Overall the staff at this hotel including housekeeping were very nice and efficient but the quality of the place fell short of a Hilton name. We'll try the Hyatt down the street next time.

Room Tip: Ocean view Side as High as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninereo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Waikiki, and thank you for choosing the Hilton Waikiki Beach for your accommodations. We appreciate all the kind words about your check in experience, the rooms, and Myles, I will be sure to let him know about your praise. I would like to apologize that we didn’t meet your expectations overall, and just came up average. We will be sure to use this in our next training module to brush up on a few things. We hope you try us out again on a return visit. Aloha.

Thomas Foti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Booked the Hilton Waikiki beach for three nights in May 2012. Rooms are clean, modern and well presented. The location probably explains why it's a bit cheaper than other hotels in the area, as it's one block back from the beach. We had a mountain view room, but didn't care as we spent all day out of the room anyway. ABC store right next door to hotel has sandwiches and snacks, very handy if you don't want room service order.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geo_jase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you for the review, I am excited to hear that your stay was enjoyable. I hope your trip back home was a safe one, please visit us again. Mahalo!

Thomas Foti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Definitely would stay here again. Awesome view on the 31st floor of Waikiki beach. One of the most comfortable beds ever, and I'm very picky. We liked the bathroom with the windows, there are blinds. Pool area is excellent and the free wifi was handy. A microwave would have been nice. Otherwise, can't complain.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank EMandDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thank you very much for all your awesome words. I am super thrilled that you had a blast while staying with us. Please come back and visit us again in the near future. Mahalo!

Thomas Foti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just had a 10 night stay here. Room ok....not sure about the glass wall separating the bathroom from the bedroom. Not practical if someone has to get up in the middle of the night. Air con was awful.....either too hot or too cold. Spoke to other friends of our also staying here and they had the same prob with the air con....so it wasn't just our room. The pool area was great... Thanks Myles ! A bit windy but that was a bonus as you never felt really burnt and the bed lounges by the pool were sooooooo comfy !! 24 hour restaurant Mac 's very convenient and good food at a fair price..But if your planning to stay here remember to reconfirm the $20 per room each day credit that this hotel offers.This can be used apparently, anywhere around the hotel food and drinks. When we checked in we were never advised of this offer and it was only bought up on check out which as you can imagine really really annoyed us, to the point that we are considering never to return to this hotel again. $220.00 wasted. We are back in September and considering staying elsewhere.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank rickyau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

I would like to say Mahalo for your review, and for staying with us on your recent visit to Waikiki. We use all of our valuable guest feedback to train our associates in order to create outstanding future experiences. My sincere apologies that you did not enjoy the configuration of our rooms, and that the air conditioning in your room was not working appropriately. We do staff a full engineering team that is able to take care of those situations as they arise. Lastly, you have my apologies with reference to any confusion surrounding a $20 per day credit. This credit is not included in all of our rate programs. That said, you very well should have been notified about this upon check-in. I sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again, when you return in September. We will create a far more extraordinary experience for you.

Thomas Foti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,182 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
1,656 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $203 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unobstructed Ocean views, just 1 block from Waikiki beach, with 24-hour dining at World Famous M.A.C. 24/7. We're the only Waikiki Hilton with an Executive Lounge. NO resort fees! Located in the heart of Waikiki, this property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing