We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Waikiki Beach
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
London, England.
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Like others before us it seems, we reserved this hotel thinking we had booked the Hilton Hawaiian Village where we stayed previously. The Hilton Waikiki Beach of course is a downtown Waikiki property without the private beach and other amenities its sister property enjoys. That said, this was a pleasant enough stay. We were allocated an ocean view room on the 33rd floor with great views. Although quite small, the room was nicely furnished and in good condition. The hallways and some of the public areas looked like they too had recently been refurbished.

The hotel is one block from busy Waikiki Beach but we enjoyed a morning swimming in the sea there and walking on the (very crowded) sand. On the next day we sat by the hotel pool in the morning which was quite restful - there is a bar space there but it wasn't in use - just a small pool and some sunbeds. By the afternoon this area had become crowded and we chose to move on at that point.

With Hilton Hhonors gold we got complimentary access to the Executive Lounge. This is an uninviting space located in the hotel basement. There's no window outlook or natural light and we found it sterile and soulless. There are canapes form 5-7pm each evening which were ok and a small buffet breakfast. Soft drinks are self serve from a dispensing machine into plastic cups - not very impressive.

The hotel staff we met were all fine - no one went out of their way with welcomes or help but there were no service disasters either.

All in all this was an ok stay and the property would be fine if you want to be close to the busy restaurants, shops and bars of Waikiki Beach. That aside, I'd say the Hilton Hawaiian Village would be a better all round bet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tint7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,950
    1,714
    520
    152
    62
See reviews for
982
1,908
265
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (948)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

On our arrival we had booked through another site and ended up with a double bed. The beds were small. Tried to get a king and supposedly there were none available. They did get us a king the following two nights. The jacuzi is small and low jets the pool is average. Overall not that impressed with the Hilton line anymore. Much better value and more personality out there these days.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mraschio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

You will feel like your staying first class! My husband and I were on the 24th floor and faced the ocean. Just beautiful. The bathroom was gorgeous! and extremely clean. The room was immaculate! Bed was so comfortable, and after a 12 hour flight from Boston it was like heaven!
The restaurant off of the lobby was great for breakfast and late night snacks! Their room service was wonderful. Just being in Waikiki was great and walking around and seeing the sights were great! You must climb Diamond Head.

From there we went to Maui, the road to Hana was fantastic. Don't miss it.
Take the tour, don't drive it yourself, you won't get to enjoy it as much. Too much to say about it, just experience it.

Hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: It's all in what you want. The view from other sides have their charm also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda14Riverside4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickCasabar, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Brenda14Riverside, So glad to hear that you enjoyed our Hotel and highlighting our beautifully appointed rooms and restaurant. I am very pleased that your stay felt First Class. I see that you also enjoyed Maui, its been awhile since I've visited but from what I remember you are correct its fantastic.
Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Until then....take care!
Warm Regards, Nick Casabar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The friendliness, the service, the room, the food the view from the balcony
it was incredible and hard to forget. We will go back soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaSuDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Of all the available hotels in the Waikiki Beach area this would be my last choice to stay at again. Even thou I’m a Hilton Honors Diamond member I would never recommend you stay here. The hotel is old and it shows yet they charge more then hotels closer to the beach. The rooms are mediocre at best with a 60’s style. Mold in the bathroom and dirty carpets. There are very limited amenities in the hotel and the staff was less then pleasant. There is one restaurant that is more of a dinner then a restaurant and the prices are that of a five star restaurant. I was traveling with a co-work that stayed across the street at the Marriot and he paid half what I did and the hotel was far better with many amenities. It’s too bad since the Hilton has always had a great reputation. I guess you can’t just live on reputation for ever.

Room Tip: As a Diamond member of Hilton Honors I was in one of the best rooms(so they said)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wmlipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilonia, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

It was a very nice hotel. Had a nice lobby. It was close to the beach (approx 2 blocks away). Within easy walking distance to beach, shops and food places. I wish it had had a microwave in the room. I also wish that there was a laundry on the premises. I had to go to a public laundry mat that was down the street. Otherwise, It was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medic16566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

As others have mentioned, the hotel is not directly on the beach but a couple of blocks away on Kuhio avenue which is a bit less congested than Kalakaua where the major beachfront properties are.

I arrived by noon and being a Silver Hhonors member, I checked in at the line designated for Hhonors members. The agent who waited on me was efficient but rather robotic. I was advised that my reservation has been upgraded and that a room was already available. I appreciated the earlier availability which made things much more convenient. Perhaps my expectations were a bit high having read some previous reviews praising the stellar customer service but I did not get the sense of being overly welcomed as a valued guest. To the property's credit, I was very thankful to be upgraded from a KING BED CITY VIEW to a 2 DBL BEDS EXEC OCEANVIEW the day before my arrival when I checked my reservation online. When I read the description of my new room on the hotel's site, it stated that executive level rooms have access to the private Concierge lounge. Upon asking about this feature at the front desk, the agent reiterated again that I was already given a complimentary upgrade and access to the lounge was not included. Her answer felt like a rebuttal for an entitlement which was never the case. Fair enough since I already got a better room with two beds with a view, so I thanked her and proceeded to take the elevator to my room.

Upon exiting the elevator in the hallway, I came across two housekeepers who said "good morning" upon seeing me. Once inside the room my impression was very positive. The room was tastefully decorated in warm tones with elegant simplicity. The beds were some of the most comfortable that I have ever slept on and the view from the 34th floor was breathtaking. The bathroom sink was spacious and nicely stocked with brand name amenities. There was a closet inside and I thought that the two panels that let natural light inside the bathroom from the room were a nice designing touch. Blinders were installed should one opt for more privacy.

Kudos need to be given to the housekeeping staff for their efficiency and friendliness. Upon returning by 11A one morning, the room was already cleaned up and restocked. Overall I enjoyed my stay at this property and I am very thankful to the management for the generous upgrade that I received.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,478 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Property: Hilton Waikiki Beach
Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing