We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel
australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Look when you go on holiday I know the idea is to just find a cheap place to sleep and immerse yourself in the local culture. This is the sort of hotel that not only wil ruin your holiday due to staff incompetence and general dirtiness of the hotel but will make you feel unsafe.
I booked to stay here and after arriving slightly early waited for a while in the lobby and saw homeless people walking in the lobby and yelling and staff members being incredibly unprofessional and incompetent.
There are plenty of nicer places on Waikiki and not even that much more expensive.
Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else because you flew all the way to Hawaii to have FUN and relax.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank towner29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    83
    51
    33
    60
See reviews for
40
125
45
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Hotel was dirty, the surrounding area was dirty, the service was horrible. Would not recommend to any one. The hotel is very noisy. The working staff are lazy. The accommodation's and the photo's they advertise are very, very deceiving.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was a great hotel for the money right next to the beach, centrally located. I would stay here when I go to honalulu. the rooms were clean, they have washer and dryers. they will give clean beach towels when you go to the beach

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank smilenbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Nothing about it was good. Under reconstruction was the least of their problems. POOR front desk staff that made many mistakes with reservations two months in a row. I should have known better. You get what you pay for. Cold water and noisy air conditioner. Towels were like sandpaper

Room Tip: Clse proximity to Hulu's was not worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obihiro, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed only 2 nights before heading to another island. The hotel is located across the Honolulu Zoo and only few minutes walk to the beach. The room is equipped with kitchen and Free Wi-fi in the room was helpful, too. I especially liked the excellent view of Diamond Head and the ocean. Only negative point is there is no housekeeping service during the stay. Otherwise it's good for budget travellers and I'd like to come back for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomoyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is located half a block off the beach and across the street from the zoo. Many restaurants are close by. There is a pretty fun gay bar, Hula's, located on the 2nd floor, and a good hamburger joint is accessible from the lobby. Staff were pleasant, but seemed a bit confused with allocating parking. Be warned - their website indicates on-site parking is available, however, it is limited, and they do sometimes run out of parking spots. In room WiFi was free and worked very well. The property is extremely run down. The room was dingy and dank. The carpet, curtains, and bed linens were old and stained. Bath linens were old and in poor condition. Bath toiletries were good. I would not stay there again unless I was convinced the property had been completely renovated. Note that maid service reportedly only happens every 3 days. We stayed for 3 days, and received no housekeeping services at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAhlo, General Manager at Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Aloha
Thank you very much for your comments. Our housekeeping services are scheduled for every fourth day and as a result of your three day stay did not receive any cleaning services during your vacation. I apologize if that was not mentioned to you upon check in. We the management company are disucssing needed upgrades with each owner and some may be willing to improve on needed areas in their unit and other at this time are not looking to invest monies needed for improvement. Overtime that will cause us to not participate with those units and look to represent the better units at the Waikiki Grand. I thank you for your understanding on your recent vacation here in Hawaii. Should you decide to return I ask that you give me a call to potentially insure a quality stay. We strive to offer quality services with our trained personel with service with ALOHA and some elbow grease when it comes to cleaning.
Again Mahalo Nui Loa. (Thank You Very Much).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Ann
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I arrived at the hotel 9/13/13 around 4:00 p.m. with a reservation for me and my spouse. My two sons and daughter in-law helped us bring the luggage to the front desk. I gave the clerk my name and he said the reservation was for only two people as if we were trying to sneak three more people into the room. I told the clerk that one son was in the Navy there and my other son and his wife was staying in another hotel. I told him the name of the hotel and he said why didn't we book a room there because it was better than this one. After we checked in he gave us a room on the 4th floor which was very tiny and the windows had duck tape on them and the window air conditioner didn't work. On one of the plexi glass windows the duck tape had come off and it was a big gap between the plexi glass and window frame. I immediately went to the front desk and told the clerk about it and he moved us to a room on the 5th floor. The room was very small and the window air conditioner was noisy. I put up with noisy window air conditioner for two days and on third day I discovered that the microwave oven didn't work. I went to the front desk, luckily there was a different clerk on duty, and he gave us a room on the 10th floor. The room was very large with a kitchen. A day later we discovered it was roach invested.

Room Tip: I stayed in three rooms when I was there and all three had issues. I have photos of room two and thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel

Property: Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel
Address: 134 Kapahulu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waikiki Grand is located one block from the sands of Waikiki Beach, across from the Honolulu Zoo and near the Waikiki Aquarium. Beach activities, art shows, cultural festivals, and music concerts in Queen Kapiolani Park are just steps away. Enjoy a meal at Teddy's Bigger Burgers or have a cocktail at Hula's Bar & Lei Stand. The hotel offers a selection of moderately-priced, non-smoking hotel rooms with ocean, Diamond Head, or Kapiolani Park views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing