We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Staff and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding Staff and Great Location”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

From check-in to checkout, the staff was outstanding. The television remote control was missing from my room when I checked in, and all of the staff members went out of their way to locate a suitable remote control for a flat panel television that seemed to be missing its brand name and model. One of the staff made a special trip to Wal-Mart to purchase a remote, and then took the time to program it to work with the television. The location is outstanding: just a couple hundred feet from the Waikiki Beach. The housekeeper kept the room clean and well stocked with towels and other amenities. This was the third time that I have stayed at the Waikiki Grand, and my experience there seems to improve with each stay. I hope to return later in the year!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are advertised as "city view", and some are advertised as "beach vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    84
    52
    33
    62
See reviews for
42
125
46
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Check out their website www.myhawaiibeachfront.com click on Oahu, this suite is Waikiki Le Ale A. As the website indicates, the views from the outside deck are spectacular. The suite is small, but perfect for a couple - you can squeeze in a small child, but no more.
The kitchen was recently renovated and the large lunch counter was great. 2 small fridges, a toaster, small stove and microwave were included.
Not a luxurious building, but the price was right and you have everything you need. 2 elevators, laundry facility in basement and parking is reasonable. The staff were helpful and the neighbors were friendly.
The tiny pool is between the hamburger restaurant below & another building - practically never used.
The beach close-by is ideal with good shade and a lifeguard on duty.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay and we got to tour the whole island, which is what we set out to do.
I would say for a week it was worth it, but do not expect anything high-end!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vikimor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Waikiki Grand is excellent when it comes to location and affordability! I was pleased with the views and location. The hotel itself has private owners per unit. Our unit was cozy and charming with it's decor and trim including the crown molding and fixtures. The owner did a great job providing us with everything from towels to cooler and boogie boards. There was a very entertaining night club at the hotel (for very open minded people such as myself) which plays excellent club music has some fantastic bartenders and served me the best mojito martini money can buy!!! The laundry room is in the basement and is clean and affordable- overall good clean friendly place located in south Waikiki that I felt safe and comfortable in!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lasvegaskarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have stayed at the Waikiki Grand before but this time I found the place lacking in ways where it simply shouldn't be. This is a hotel on the more budget end of the scale so I don't expect the standards of a hotel like the Moana Surfrider. However, I found the staff here surly, unaccommodating and lazy. Both the main desk guy and the young woman spend their time sitting, glued to a computer and only bother to look up when you ask them a direct question. So much for the Aloha hospitality! The room, while obviously renovated was disappointing - no balcony with windows that didn't open. They were so filthy you could barely make out Diamond Head or the beach views. The air-conditioning was noisy and too powerful for the size of the room. The remote to the TV didn't work.

I have stayed in Hawaii many times and really think it is worth spending a bit more and staying at a hotel other than the "Grand". As each room is individually owned you can never be sure of the facilities. The room is only serviced every 3-4 days and they don't even renew the soap or shampoo even though I was there for a week. The most disappointing part of the experience is the uninspiring staff who fail to understand that their job security is dependent on tourism not just the residents who live there permanently. You can do better for your staff in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Insist on a balcony if selecting an "Ocean View" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikiki-Grand-Hotel, Manager at Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Waikiki Grand Hotel and for providing an opportunity to address your concerns. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences experienced.

Aloha & Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Victoria, B.C.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I cannot understand some of the negative comments. This was my fifth trip to Honolulu, & the first time I have stayed at the Waikiki Grand Hotel, & I will definitely stay here again. I spent 13 nights in Room 516, which was booked through the hotel pool. This is a condo hotel, & some rooms are booked through individual owners, so the quality & condition can vary greatly. My room was serviced every 3rd day. There were a few problems with the room I had, nothing earth shattering but I let the front desk know when I checked out, so that they could address it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guysteve98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed at Caste Waikiki Grand in October 2011 and want to thank all of those dubious reviews. It was a fabulous hidden treasure among affordable hotels and if it wasn't for the cowards writing nasty things on this site i may not have got the room i did on level 9. Anyway this was my first trip to Hawaii, travelling alone and i booked the hotel for its location which is second to none and affordability at $79pn AU. What a surprise to find a safe, friendly hotel with a glam entrance foyer. Built in 1963, the architectural features of the bathroom reflected this era however everything was in excellent order. As a straight person i felt welcome at the hotel's gay bar and treasure the breathtaking photos taken from the 10th floor sundeck. Thank you Castle Waikiki Grand for a great holiday!

Room Tip: Book your return ticket on the airport shuttle bus on arrival, tip the the elderly violinist playing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazznhanoi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Getting to the room as soon as I opened the door it smelled like smoke and a homeless person. Not trying to be mean, but that is what best describes the smell. There were six blinds missing from the window mind you this place has been booked since late Feb. early March, and it wasn't until late Oct. until I arrived. The A/C was loud and did not work that well. The power went out twice. Room service came twice in the course of two weeks, and at check in I was told that they would be there four times. Ran out of T.P and had to go to the lobby and get it myself, as well as throw out my own trash. There was a point in the trip that the front desk had been called to ask about the room service and I was told they had already come, but the trash was still full the bed was fixed how I left it, and there was no new towels or T.P restocked. mins. later a room service attendant was sent up to do it. The pool was also dirty and didn't look to be used during the whole duration of this trip, it also smelled like an uncleaned bathroom in the pool area. The upside about this place is the location, but that is really about it, the staff were ok but I would not stay here again unless everywhere else is booked up.

Room Tip: Ask to see other unused rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank none ya b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Hanzawa, Manager at Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry your perceptions of our property is not in your favor. Being eco friendly, housekeeping service is every third or fourth day dependent on the length of stay. Unfortunately, we have no control of the common areas on the property as this is a condominium/hotel. We hope you are able to visit our beautiful islands again.
Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Park Shore Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
1,400 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
3,307 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,262 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel

Property: Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel
Address: 134 Kapahulu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waikiki Grand is located one block from the sands of Waikiki Beach, across from the Honolulu Zoo and near the Waikiki Aquarium. Beach activities, art shows, cultural festivals, and music concerts in Queen Kapiolani Park are just steps away. Enjoy a meal at Teddy's Bigger Burgers or have a cocktail at Hula's Bar & Lei Stand. The hotel offers a selection of moderately-priced, non-smoking hotel rooms with ocean, Diamond Head, or Kapiolani Park views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing