We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite Sushi place in Hawaii”
Review of Hawaiiana Cafe

Hawaiiana Cafe
Ranked #437 of 2,357 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a new restaurant in the Waikiki area--evidently only about 4 months old. It is next to the Hard Rock Cafe. The phone number is 808-772-8879.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our favourite Sushi place in Hawaii”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were really lucky to come across this place; very fresh, great-tasting Sushi with friendly service from the wise-cracking owner Cliff. Can thoroughly recommend the Spicy Ahi Maki & if you're not up for seafood, the Chicken Teriyaki Donburi is really good.

It's BYO, so bring a bottle of wine to dinner (we just grabbed some very reasonably priced Australian Shiraz from ABC store across the street) & feast it up and I'd be surprised if it costs you much more than $50 for a couple.

We'll be back again, for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrandmasterH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    40
    19
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good sushi place”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Went to eat there twice during our stay.Good sushi, friendly owner, small restaurant near the hotels.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mirmi2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Garden/homey type cafe”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stumbled upon this little treasure and were greeted by Cliff the owner, very friendly and helpful.
Only a small place but well worth the visit We dined on delicious Garlic prawns . Hopped across the road first to get some wine/beer at the ABC store.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi and cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Friendly owner greeted us at the entrance when we were browsing their menu. Tried their dynamite roll as recommended. Glad we did! Super delicious!! Must try!
Reasonable price, friendly service, excellent food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kamanchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Hard to Find But Worth It”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We heard great things about this Cafe and walked in circles using our phone's GPS trying to find it. Once we spotted the sign, the owner quickly walked out to greet us and invited us to sit at the one and only outdoor table. He actually even sat with us for a few minutes and was so sweet and welcoming.

What a great experience! We had the poke salad and tempura shrimp. Outstanding!! It was so good, we returned 2 days later. The owner gave us a very large bottle of sesame dressing for the poke salad that was the best. Went to our local Japanese market to locate but still couldn't find it. Maybe the owner will sell us a bottle when we return next year.

The true spirit of aloha resides here at the Hawaiiana Cafe. If you love great sushi, sashimi, poke, etc., make sure you visit this great, little gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loimln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaiiana Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hawaiiana Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing