We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Proof that shaved ice isn't just shaved ice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shimazu Store

Shimazu Store
Ranked #23 of 85 Dessert in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Description: Great shave ice in Honolulu. See http://www.yelp.com/biz/shimazu-store-honolulu for their reviews. Deserves to be on TripAdvisor!
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Proof that shaved ice isn't just shaved ice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The rating speaks for itself. Don't forget to bring a quarter. The parking meters on the street will give you 20 minutes for a quarter. Also, don't forget to bring CASH. Credit cards are not accepted. If there's a line, you'll be standing in the sun. Consider bringing an umbrella. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Irvine_TSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    12
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best shaved ice ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our family stopped at this tiny place after seeing on the Food Network. Like no other shaved ice...it's like pure snow. I had a small ($3.50) with melon, mojito, and mango...amazing and really big portion. Don't be put off by the line as it moves quickly. (We parked at the Foodland at the corner and walked.). Be sure to know what flavor you want before it is your turn. It's easy to get to...right off H-1. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel8500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Soooo Gooood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have never had shaved ice before, so I have nothing to compare it to, all I know is, it was sooooooo goooood! with so many flavors to try, we went back 3 times in 3 days before our cruise set sail, sure wish we could get this stuff in Chicago!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome shave ice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

There are many reviews out there, so no need to repeat...
Tips: 1) Figure out your flavors before you get to the counter
2) If you want ice cream in your shave ice (recommened!) tell them first
3) Kids size is GENEROUS and includes plastic flower cup
4) Otherwise, pay the $.50 and buy the plastic flower cup (you'll need it!)
4) Also add condensed milk! YUM!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank el2chuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waianae, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Forget going to the North Shore for shave ice, you can get AMAZING shave ice right in Honolulu! Shimazu's syrups are all homemade and absolutely fantastic. My favorite is Red Velvet (regular, not the creme) and I'm not even a fan of red velvet cake. But red velvet shave ice? Yes, please! Mojito is a nice, light flavor and they have several different coffee flavors. Of course, they have a huge selection of fruit flavors, as well. I'm personally not a fan of the cremes but everything else I've tried is simply wonderful You can't go wrong at Shimazu's. And fyi, the "small" is pretty darn big! There is no seating inside and just one bench outside but it really isn't a big deal at all. You don't exactly need to sit down to enjoy shave ice :D

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rissa808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shimazu Store also viewed

 

Been to Shimazu Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing