We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome shave ice!”
Review of Shimazu Store

Shimazu Store
Ranked #27 of 103 Dessert in Honolulu
Description: Great shave ice in Honolulu. See http://www.yelp.com/biz/shimazu-store-honolulu for their reviews. Deserves to be on TripAdvisor!
Restaurant details
Description: Great shave ice in Honolulu. See http://www.yelp.com/biz/shimazu-store-honolulu for their reviews. Deserves to be on TripAdvisor!
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome shave ice!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

There are many reviews out there, so no need to repeat...
Tips: 1) Figure out your flavors before you get to the counter
2) If you want ice cream in your shave ice (recommened!) tell them first
3) Kids size is GENEROUS and includes plastic flower cup
4) Otherwise, pay the $.50 and buy the plastic flower cup (you'll need it!)
4) Also add condensed milk! YUM!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank el2chuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    13
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waianae, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“awesome!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Forget going to the North Shore for shave ice, you can get AMAZING shave ice right in Honolulu! Shimazu's syrups are all homemade and absolutely fantastic. My favorite is Red Velvet (regular, not the creme) and I'm not even a fan of red velvet cake. But red velvet shave ice? Yes, please! Mojito is a nice, light flavor and they have several different coffee flavors. Of course, they have a huge selection of fruit flavors, as well. I'm personally not a fan of the cremes but everything else I've tried is simply wonderful You can't go wrong at Shimazu's. And fyi, the "small" is pretty darn big! There is no seating inside and just one bench outside but it really isn't a big deal at all. You don't exactly need to sit down to enjoy shave ice :D

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rissa808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Shaved Ice”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We heard so much about shave ice, that we decided to do a taste test. For 3 days we tried 3 different shave ice places that people told us were "the best". We went to the North Shore and tried Matsumoto's. Tried Waiola where our hotel sent us, then tried Shimazu. There really was no comparison!! Shimazu had the best flavors and the line wasn't ridiculous. As an added bonus, their small was bigger than the other guys large. Our hotel had never even heard of it, but we fixed that!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Awesome Taste Treat!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Today my friends took me to this little hole-in-the-wall shave ice shop. Having just had Ululani's shave ice in Lahaina (utterly delicious!), my expectations were low. What a surprise~this was a heavenly(!) shave ice with azuki beans and red velvet, coconut, and pina colada flavors! Next time I'll try the coconut and condensed milk, like I had at Ululani's. Today was a totally super experience! Can't wait to go back. And there was a crowd of customers waiting for it to open today, a Sunday... What a well kept secret here in Honolulu...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avidsnorkeler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent shave ice”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We came after hours, but they were nice enough to give us a huge helping of rainbow shave ice with beans....soooo good. Well worth going, even if there is no parking. Good stuff!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LBudder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shimazu Store also viewed

 

Been to Shimazu Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing