We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Shave Ice in Hawaii!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waiola Shave Ice

Waiola Shave Ice
Ranked #12 of 98 Dessert in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Greater Cincinnati
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Shave Ice in Hawaii!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

While in Hawaii this past August my husband and I tried many different shave ice places, this was by far the best. The ice is shaved so fine. We opted for the ice cream in the bottom which made it even better. They have a great selection of flavors.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ahoymatie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    25
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You have to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We tried shaved ice from 4-5 difference place when we were there for the spring break. This place is hands-down the BEST. It tastes so fine like snow. My whole family loves this place! There are a few location of this store, but I think they should be all good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Thinking about this place makes me crave a shaved ice. They have loads of flavors and toppings (get ice cream at the bottom!) Also, a really cute candy shop inside with dried fruits and island treats!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leopjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wiola Shaved Ice - A must visit every day you are in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My family loved Wiola Shaved Ice! We went to this location every single day during our week long stay over the Christmas Holidays (2012). It was never too crowded and the snow-like quality of the ice was amazing and a lot better than some other shaved ice places that had been mentioned in travel guides. We loved the passion fruit, melon, & watermelon combo the best!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank foodieFosterCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth the walk on a dusty road”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This place has shaved ice with a little fluffier texture. I also liked that the ice was served in a cup, which made it more portable. We learned a new word, 'lilikoi" which was very important, as this is passion fruit flavor and really really good!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank surreygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waiola Shave Ice also viewed

 
Honolulu, Oahu
 

Been to Waiola Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing